We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Barbarie can always be relied upon.”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have now stayed at La Barbarie several times, and the standards are always reliable. The cleanliness of the rooms is excellent, the staff are always friendly, and the restaurant provides great food. The location is convenient for walking along the coastal path, where the views are beautiful. This year our stay was in July, whereas previously we have visited in April and May. We had fantastic weather, but it was inevitably busier with a few children around. The children's party round the pool on Saturday was a bit noisy, but you can't have everything! Generally it is a peaceful haven.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies overlooking the pool are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karate_shiatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Karate_shiatsu
Thank you for another lovely review; it was a pleasure to welcome you to La Barbarie once more.
Consistency is very important to us and I am delighted that you can felt that you could rely on us to offer you the standards expected. The weather has been great this summer and so the pool has seen more usage but please be assured that non-resident guests are asked to vacate the pool area by 3pm as indicated on our pool side sign.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed 7 nights this time (4 on our first visit). I think it will be 14 next time! We felt totally relaxed the minute we arrived. The only moments of stress are trying to decide what to have from the menu, because it's all excellent. The restaurant team and all the staff make you feel most welcome and are truly professional - with a smile!
Our upstairs room (no. 36) with veranda was very spacious and a lovely bathroom (with bath and separate shower). All kept very clean.

We have been coming to Guernsey for many years primarily to enjoy the cliff walks (and the seafood!) but only recently tried this Hotel - better late than never! The hotel is in a perfect position for walking the cliffs. Our favourite walks for lunch are to Le Gouffre (excellent food and lovely location) - about 2 - 2.5 hours with a nice beach cafe to stop for a drink on the way. If you eat/drink too much to walk back, its a quick taxi ride. Go down toward the bay and turn left, its about 1.5 - 2.5 hours (depending on whether you walk around Jerbourg point) to the Auberge - our other favourite restaurant. Carry on a bit further and the beach cafe at Fermaine Bay does lovely food and a lovely spot to look out to sea. Carry on another hour and you're in St Peter Port (definately taxi back!).
If you like a swim in the sea, the bay is just 5 mins down the hill from the Hotel (a few more coming back up!) and is lovely. Like most of the bays - better when the tide is out as more sand is exposed. We had the whole bay to ourselves one morning. The next was rather crowded - six people and a dog!

The entire experience was wonderful, and still not forgotten even though we've been back at work a couple of weeks. Can't wait to go back.

Oh! Nearly forgot. I'f you've had a long walk and feel like something to pick you up before dinner, try one of Richard's margarita's. That'll hit the spot!

The Sparky's

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSparkys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear TheSparkys
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our wonderful location near the cliff paths. I look forward to welcoming you back to La Barbarie Hotel on the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I found La Barbarie from the web under 'walking breaks in Guernsey'. The location, 10mins from the airport and 30mins by bus from the centre of St Peter Port, was away from the town hustle and close to the beautiful south coast. The hotel facilities were excellent and the restaurant food was exceptional. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The outdoor space and pool were quiet and relaxing. As the bus stopped outside the hotel there was no need to hire a car and we could reach all the island for £1 per person per journey. The hotel walking deal also included maps and a free trip to the nieghbouring island of Herm.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms a little noisy due to the gravel drive and early visits from services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phill_Linlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Phil.Linlithgo

Thanks for your great review following your walking break with us.
With our superb location so close to the wonderful south coast cliff paths, walking breaks are a great way to explore the island.
I am delighted that you found the Hotel facilities and restaurant to be excellent and that the team here helped to ensure you had a great experience here in Guernsey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

All the reviews and comments we had read before arriving proved to be true!
Professionalism combined with courteous friendliness. Immaculate cleanliness- including the swimming pool. We had a first floor superior room, with a superb bathroom.
Excellent breakfast and imaginative menus for dinner- bravo chef! We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear HeatherM
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor
I am delighted you found that previous great comments on this site to be accurate.
With cleanliness and food being so very important to guests it is wonderful that you mention both in such glowing terms
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed for 7 nights recently at La Barbarie. We have been coming here for many years but it still draws us back. The rooms are well thought out, spacious and spotlessly clean. The meals in the restaurant are to die for, still the same great chef. The staff are terrific, never intrusive but always friendly. There is no other hotel we would stay in Guernsey. Andy, Ivo, Raivis and all the restaurant staff, Sally and the reception team and the rest of the staff make it a really lovely place to stay. Thanks to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable. We will be back!! It is such a lovely time of the year to see all the beautiful floral displays, starting with the ones at the hotel. We managed to visit all 5 Channel Islands in the week we were there. A little tip is that Sark Shipping run a cruise round the south coast and around Herm and Jethou on a Sunday afternoon from 1 until 3.30pm. There are RSPB staff on board who bring along binoculars and point out all the birds and wildlife around the island. It really is worthwhile doing. We had never done it before but it was worthwhile and we even saw puffins (got the pictures to prove it), something we had always wanted to see.

Room Tip: We stay in the superior rooms overlooking the pool. Room 35 or 36
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KayandJay_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear KayandJay_9
Thanks so much for another great review
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to your home from home. With so many regular guests it is important to keep our standards consistently high and your comments following another visit show that the team here work hard to do so. We all look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

What a gem. Old fashioned customer service values brought right up to date. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome and were personally shown to our room. The hotel is lovely with flowers everywhere and we even had some in our room. The staff were so professional, and made sure we were always acknowledged when we entered the bar or restaurant. The service was exceptional, and it was evident that they all worked together as a team. Any hotel can have nice decor and facilities but it is the sole of it that matters and really feel that La Barbarie deserves 5* or more.

Room Tip: Check accessibility, our room was up some steps and entry into dining room and bar had steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Margaret P
Thank you for your kind review.
It is very important to us to receive feedback and your comments on the professionalism of
our staff is a such a compliment to their hard work. “Old fashioned customer service values brought right up to date” is a wonderful quote and really is the “Barbarie way” Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to La Barbarie in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was yet another visit to La Barbarie Hotel in Guernsey. We have now been to the hotel on multiple occasions and always found the hotel to be excellent. This visit was in the middle of June , an excellent time to visit to take advantage of the light nights to walk off a bit of the superb dinner enjoyed in the charming restaurant. Comprehensive menu and choice of wines.
We keep going back because the staff are excellent and are always very helpful and polite , nothing is too much trouble to help the guests, particularly the long serving members.
Location is very good in a quiet part of St Martin and very handy if you like to walk the coastal paths.
The whole operation is a credit to Andrew and his very hard working staff.
We will be back again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyYarnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AFBC, General Manager at La Barbarie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear TonyYarnfield
Thank you for taking the time to post another wonderful review.
Welcoming back “Old Barbarians” is so rewarding for all the team here and we are thrilled that you mention the consistency that we strive to achieve. Our long serving members of staff like Ivo, Raivis and Head Chef Colin ensure that our standards don’t drop and your recognition of their hard work is thoroughly deserved
Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you to La Barbarie in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £100 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing