We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We have just come back from 6 days at La Barbarie - our first visit to Guernsey.

I can only agree with the extremely positive comments of other guests. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, the rooms clean and well cared for, the situation was lovely, and the food - well, it would be hard to beat it.

We had a double room and paid extra for an additional adjoining room which provided us with a small sitting room and balcony overlooking the swimming pool - room 15. This extra room was extremely useful in view of the wet weather we had at the end of the week. We also had a hire car provided which was waiting for us at the airport. We did not book half board but once there, and having tasted the food, we booked dinner every night as we felt it could not have been bettered anywhere on the island. I particularly recommend any of the fish. The whole trip was extremely good value for money.

I think this area is the best part of the island - minutes from the airport, close to St Peter Port and right near the beautiful coastal paths. The country lanes are narrow and signposts are minimal so you really do need to be able to read a map to find your way around, but the hedgerows are full of wild flowers and the houses built of local stone are very pretty, so there is plenty to look at on the way.

If you are thinking of going to Guernsey, this is the place to stay.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HGEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    95
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
70
339
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
south wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We chose La Barbarie after reading the positive reviews and it really lived up to our expectations. We were there to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and a complimentary bottle of bubbly was there to great us. The staff were extremely welcoming and the waiter in the restaurant extremly helpful in helping me select my vegan meals which were excellent. We highly recommend this small, extremely well run hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hOlidaytrip61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noakbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We found the hotel very comfortable with a good bar and an excellent restaurant. The food in the restaurant really was a delight especially the fish and my compliments to the chef. All in all the hotel was a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunderlandandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Stayed at the Barbarie for Mother's Day weekend with my sister and mum. The hotel was friendly, rooms comfortable and well equipped with an ample car park and lovely garden to sit in and drink coffee. But what made this a hotel I'd return to is the friendly and helpful staff. Add to this the excellent restaurant, again with friendly staff [and great food] and great March rates, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Guernsey.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SopsChannelIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights half board. Our room was a reasonable size, clean, well equipped and with a balcony overlooking the pool. The food every evening was very good and the table d'hote menu had plenty of choice at a reasonable price (just over £20 for 4 courses plus coffee), The cooked breakfast varied in quality between good and just OK but the cold buffet was good. The staff throughout the hotel are very professional and very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The hotel is in a secluded location but is easy to reach by car. Guernsey is a very welcoming and relaxing island and this hotel made our visit even more welcoming and relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lord_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a short stay here (five nights). Despite indifferent weather, we thoroughly ourselves.
Guernsey is a lovely place to visit and is full of good eating and drinking places (especially Fermain Bay's Beach Café - a derogatory definition) so be prepared to return home a few pounds heavier! The bus service is excellent, so we did not bother to hire a car. But, due to the limited coastal areas where you can walk (which is our main enjoyment) perhaps five days was too much?
From the moment we arrived at La Barbarie, until our departure, every member of staff was extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. They exuded a team spirit that is unusually high. As confirmed by the steady flow of local residents that eat there, the restaurant is superb and we stayed in every evening!
If we had any criticism at all, it would be that the room we had was a little tired and could do with some reinvestment.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

We have been visiting La Barbarie for 17 years now. The hotel is always clean and tidy, and all of the staff are very friendly and welcoming.

The accommodation is of a good standard in both the hotel and the apartments.

The food is always excellent, with the Table d'Hote menu offering new options every evening, at a very reasonable price.

After our many years of staying at La Barbarie, I can confidently says that the family atmosphere, excellent cuisine and attention to the small details ensures a great stay every time.

Also, as an added bonus, the Manager is 'well hot' ..... "cut me a piece of that!!" (CEM, Berkshire)

  • Liked — The space
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CEM_Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.2 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing