We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional!”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“exceptional!”
Reviewed 24 August 2009

spent long weekend at the barbarie for sisters 50th birthday! accomodation comfortable, spotless and quiet! breakfast ,,,,,,, way too much to eat but so tasty and evening menu left us spoilt for choice, staff extrememely welcoming. the downside??? wish we could have stayed longer, would recommend la barbarie time and time again !

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffsontour2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    96
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
72
350
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Yet another great weeks holiday at what must be one of Guernsey's best hotels. All the staff were fantastic, the rooms were kept spotless and the food, not one dissapointing meal. Excellent value - see you next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungBarbarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2009

we stayed in the appartments which were lovley very spacious we ate in the restaurant which has a deservedly good reputation the staff are wonderful friendly and helpful the pool was very good and well maintained if you like walking, the cliffs near by are the place for you

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

my wife and I went for 10 days B&B, but having sampled half board on the first two nights changed our minds and stayed half board all the time.

the staff were friendly and attentive, from room maids to waiters, bar staff to maitre d'hotel. The table de host menus were varied each night and good value for money, we never strayed onto the a la carte, there was no need to

the pool was warm, especially compared to the sea!!

the room was comfortable, no shortage of clean towels and linen, no shortage of water for shower and bath.

we hired a car to travel the island, but the bus stop was outside the hotel and other guests had no trouble using public transport to get around. we also walked the cliffs direct from the hotel, bathed at Petit Bot and L'Ancresse, got a sun tan and barely unfurled the umbrella.

All in all a very enjoyable experience to be repeated hopefully more quickly than this 12 year return to the island.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_TravellerWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granny in Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I didn't know what to expect from the Island. Having spoken to several friends about it and had their comments , all favourable, we were looking forward to finding out for ourselves. It turned out to be a better and more interesting place, with plenty to see and do. Our hotel was in a super position, a short bus ride to St Peters Port and 10mins down to St Martins Bay.
The hotel is one of the best eating places on Guernsey, with delightful staff that are always ready to accommodate ones needs. We were half board which we found excellent and didn't have to worry about meals lunchtime as we were always satisfied from breakfast. We felt that the meals could be rated 4 star they were so good.
Always clean everywhere and they seem to clean the rooms when we were at breakfast, we never had to wait for the maid to finish.
The local buses are brilliant, on time and very clean. You can travel just about anywhere on them, no need really for a hire car. Though we did have one.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We could not have been in a better place to enjoy and celebrate 40 years of marriage. An hotel full of character in a lovely quiet spot on an island that allowed us to do cliffwalks every day, starting from the hotel after an excellent breakfast. Having slept in a clean and comfotable room, with a service like you can only find in the upper class hotels, en a "cuisine" that could compete with the better French kitchen. Being Femish people, we know how to compare things we have experienced allover Europe, and La Barbarie is Top class for a competitive price.
We look back to a very pleasant stay, and hope to come back there.
Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliffwalker59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

From arrival to departure, all the staff were welcoming, and efficient. The international crew all did a wonderful job in making our stay a real pleasure. The excellence of the food must surely warrant a Michelin star in the neat future. Our group of four tried to think of a constructive criticism, but failes!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
760 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
3.6 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing