We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great food”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Stayed four nights on half board basis in a standard room. Location is good, down narrow country lanes (as is much of Guernsey) and quiet. For those with a car, there is plenty of parking, for those without, the number 6 bus into St Peter Port stops just outside the door.

The hotel itself is nice but not stunning, reasonably pretty small garden but with a hotch potch of building additions over the years - not hugely attracive. Our room was on the small side with no views but was clean and comfortable with a good modern bathroom. Superior rooms may be worth paying extra for if space is important to you.

What really sets this hotel apart is the quality of the service and the restaurant. There are always enough staff around to deal with any queries and all our requests were met efficiently and in a timely and friendly way.

And so to the restaurant. Run super-efficiently by Ivo and his friendly staff - I have eaten in many restaurants but this one comes clear tops for service. And the food is excellent. The menu changes every day with good choices for each course (always two meat, one fish and one veggie for mains). If you're staying at the hotel best to book half board as the evening menu works out even better value. Choice of wines is limited but the house wines are decent quality and reasonably priced.

All in all: decent hotel, good location, great service, and great food.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxforduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2010

We have just returned from a week's stay at La Barbarie which we booked because of it's trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a superior room which was huge, with a massive bed, 2 comfy chairs & a table, ample storage & a separate dressing area & balcony.It was spotless & beautifully fitted out as was the bathroom.
The food was excellent both at breakfast & dinner with a wide choice & the restaurant, which was open to non-residents, was patronised by a lot of local people which is a well deserved indicator of it's quality.
The friendliness & caring attitude of the staff as well as their dedication & efficiency played a big part in the enjoyment of our stay.
it was our first visit to the beautiful island of Guernsey & if we are fortunate enough to be able to return we will definitely be staying at La Barbarie.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthamptonLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Try all the foods excellant in all aspects. the steaks just melt. The pastry chef must sleep with pride each day, he loves his proffesion. All the staff are the best. Nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loggerPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Once again this year an amazingly peaceful holiday on a wonderful island. All this made even more special by the staff , great cuisine and comfort of La Barbarie Hotel again. We are already booked for another break next year at La Barbarie. Can't wait!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CousinJacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

The jewel in La Barbarie is its restaurant. Every meal that we ate was outstanding. Staff are attentive and a delight. Our room was spotlessly clean and well equipped. The only demerit was the small bath. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aitku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

17Years 7 stays and it just gets better. Great Great food, New menu every night. If you enjoy fish this is the Plaice ,Sorry. They have Smiling friendly staff never a problem ,only a challenge.
We shall be back again. always leave relaxed.Looking forward to the next time.
Rooms clean and fresh. Very Good value.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DerekandMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

My husband and I have just returned from ten days in Guernsey and we stayed at the most friendly hotel we have ever experienced. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the service was first rate. The food was especially delicious, with an excellent choice and at reasonable prices.
The room was clean and promptly serviced every day but it was a bit noisy, being over the dining area.
The position, near Saints' Bay, meant we could walk along the cliff path or use the car or the excellent local bus service to get anywhere we wanted on the island.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Guernsey.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KCwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
571 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
2.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £99 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing