We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it !”
Review of La Barbarie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Barbarie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it !”
Reviewed 16 October 2010

My friend and I wanted a few days in Guernsey to do a little walking during the day whilst enjoying some good food in the evenings and found La Barbarie the perfect place to stay. Staying regularly in hotels in England I usually find the breakfasts to be disappointing but breakfast at La Barbarie was a real treat with an impressive choice of high quality items on the buffet and an excellent choice for the cooked to order hot breakfast. For dinner there was a choice of the menu for the day, a la carte or a special Tennerfest menu, all offering a superb choice at very good prices. The food itself was wonderful - beautifully cooked and delivered to the table fresh and hot. Our superior room was also all we could have wished for with comfortable beds, chairs, a sofa, foot stool, large wardrobe, desk and dressing table, not to mention a huge modern bathroom with both bath and shower. Finally, special mention must be made of the staff who were all unfailingly polite, friendly and helpful and made us feel really welcome.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkinthedark221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    104
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
81
378
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Having read all the delighted reviews, we booked at La Barbarie.
In a narrow environment, a tiny reception, tiny stairs and halls, our room (standard) was quite small with a nice bathroom and a good Wifi. What was disapointing was that our window was looking at the back yard, there was a ventilation noise (we where told it was the restaurant fan), the TV was very basic with very few chanels, all this was realy lacking charm and we felt a bit claustrophobic. The bed was very good and large so we slept well (I had ear plugs because of the fan) but we were happy it was only one night.
Being half-board, we tried the restaurant which was satisfactory except the desert, a very strange crumble.
The staff was quite allright and efficient.
Overall, I felt a bit disapointed when I compare my experience with the happy reviews of other customers.
If you want to stay there, be carefull when you book your room to get a superior room with a decent view. Also, may be you won't choose the half board option to be more free with the menu.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eclectictic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2010

If what you want is to feel like you are hidden from the bustle of the world, be close to a perfect bay, be near delightful coastal walks, have a wonderful and welcoming restaurant on your doorstep and be just 5 minutes from town by car, this is your place!!
Delightful staff whose answer is always 'yes, that's no problem at all' and a wonderfully accomodating and friendly MD in Andy.
If you are with kids then the early bird meal is superb in quisine and value and gets the kids fed and in bed at a reasonable time. We self catered but mixed and matched in the restaurant which is a super idea. There was always no problem in finding us an early sitting at short notice too, which, as pretty much every night the restaurant was full, was no mean feat in itself. Big thanks for that. (im determined to try the lobster next year!)
The hotel can book a car at a discounted rate too, we had a fiesta which fitted 2 adults and 2 kids just fine even with two suitcases trust me you dont want to drive down the roads in anything bigger!
So thanks for another wonderful stay, everything was perfect and see you for two weeks next year!
On a more personal note I am now concerned that writing a 'perfect' review (for that sums up our stay) will mean more people will find this delightful and unspoilt hotel, but that I guess is the point!So go there and discover our little secret.
But lets all try to keep it to ourselves...........
See you there
Rich Jane Freya and Felix

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyludford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Whilst not the most well appointed place that you will stay in, La Barbarie is the nicest place that we have stayed in Guernsey and at a very fair price. The hotel was very clean and the staff, especially in the restaurant, made us feel at home and really looked after us. Nothing was too much trouble. The room that we had (a superior suite) was very well appointed, had a huge comfortable bed and a very adequate shower and bath. The pool and surrounding patio are very adequate although not very large and there is a small lounge that you can hide yourself away in and have a quite read.

Somehow or other although the hotel was full it never seemed to be crowded. The hotel is tucked away in the lanes and next to a bus stopping point and within easy walking distance of the coast - we hired a car but hardly used it.

If one had to find fault (and it was difficult to do so) it would be the faint sound of the refuse collection vehicle that ccollect the refuse during the night but with such a comfortable bed you normally sleep through it anyway.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickrashtead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed in one of La Barbarie's self catering flats and one of the bedrooms was quite damp and one was very damp. When I complained they admitted that they did know about it and were going to put it right soon. (Major building works, apparently). The rest of the apartment was fine, very good seating and a very well equiped kitchen. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and there is a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The food was very good and the service was excellent.
I was a bit disappointed with the damp and I wouldn't have made the booking had they told me when I phoned but I did negotiate a discount.
We have been to Guernsey 6 times now and this is the best accommodation so far, just make sure you don't book the damp flat.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saldanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

I would recommend staying in Room 33 (superior room) as it is very large and private. It is very modern and has a separate dressing room and a very high quality bathroom. It has a very nice balcony overlooking the pool area. The room was spotlessly clean.

My husband and I stayed for a week on half board. This included the four course table d'hote menu. Excellent value and high quality food and portions - lots of fish and the menu was changed daily.

You can also try dishes from the a la carte menu for a supplement. My husband had scallops for a starter and was charged only an additional £2.00 ,again excellent value.

Staff are really friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble.

The hotel is very well located to do the most amazing cliff top walks and the scenery is breath-taking. It is also about 10 minutes drive from St Peter Port and around 20 minutes by bus.

We did not use our car once and I would recommend purchasing the bus pass which you can use all around the island. This costs £15 for 20 unlimited journeys. The bus stop is just outside the hotel.

My husband and I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annevelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

The Barbarie on Guernsey is located near a lovely bay to the south of the island. We had quiet, well appointed rooms and the half board was excellent value given the high quality of the food - almost too much for us oldies after a few days - and the service, while excellent, was sometimes almost too efficient, although we could keep the table all evening if we wished. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and repairs were carried out immediately. The pool didn't seem to be heated, but I braved the chilly conditions and enjoyed it. The hire car which was part of our hotel package was abandoned when we went to St Peter Port, as driving on the island can be hair-raising and there was a local bus which stopped outside the hotel. However, for some exploring it was necessary. A pity the narrow lanes outside the hotel meant we couldn't walk off our evening meal, but for anyone wanting to celebrate a special occasion, this is an ideal place and the food (including excellent breakfasts with lots of fresh fruit) really was very good.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
1.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
797 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
856 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barbarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barbarie Hotel

Property: La Barbarie Hotel
Address: Saints Bay Road, St Martins GY4 6ES
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Barbarie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Barbarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Barbarie St Martins
Hotel La Barbarie
La Barbarie Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing