We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for purpose.”
Review of Les Douvres Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Douvres Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Southend on Sea
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fit for purpose.”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Hotel setting is outstanding, Very clean, Staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant and bar food is very good.. So much so that locals frequent this hotel daily. Wonderful hosts and great value for money. Can't wait to return..... and I will!
Thank you Ru and Angelina

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    65
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
29
80
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

When we arrived at the hotel we were warmly greeted showen to our room which was clean and welcoming.
The staff were helpful booking taxis, hire car and providing information of boat trips and bus timetables anything we asked there was an answer and nothing seemed to much trouble for them.
There is a bus stop just outside the hotel taking you into town, from there the island is your oyster!!
Food was fabulous both at breakfast and in the restaurant in the evenings
This is a lovely family run hotel a great base for exploring a beautiful island

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mummaB0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We live nearby and visit regularly for a drink and/or food. Great hosts and good beer. The food was previously average but is now good (although a little expensive). The real ales are well looked after and the bar generally has a proper "pub" feel for relaxed eating and chats with friends. Under the present owners Les Douvres has definitely moved up a notch or two (or even three!) over the last year or so and certainly is giving the Captains and other St Martin establishments a run for their money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigMac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We should have known as we checked in, from the parrot perched on his cage near the front desk, that Long John Silver might have stayed here and that nothing had changed since. The room was very small and musty. We opened the window for a good while resulting in a cold musty room. No amount of fresh air would freshen that room. There was no mattress, only fresh sheets on a box spring. We couldn’t sleep it was so uncomfortable. Rolling over in bed was like getting exfoliated (perhaps keelhauled), and staying in one position lead to bruises and tension. The toilet didn’t flush. One flick of the lever resulted in a trickle of water, two flicks, two trickles, and so on. Was the toilet on water rations? We found that by vigorously flicking the lever at a certain tempo would result eventually in a flush. It was rather like getting water from the old pump at the farm. I decided not to take the chance and used the public toilet downstairs by the dining area that worked first time, every time. The olive green bathroom fixtures and red velvet coverings in the public waiting room speaks for the state of redecoration. The breakfast - Guernsey butter was offered and the eggs were poached nicely. The toast came lukewarm and was as dry as hardtack. Neither the butter nor the runny egg yolk would absorb into the toast. One brand of jam had little flavour but the other did. Not that it mattered. Biting into the toast, the only sensation was a loud crunch. Cold cereal was offered, but to put on it was low fat milk from the communal table - no flavour, low fat milk for your tea - no flavour, or low fat yoghurt, you guessed it, no flavour. Les Douvres is nicely situated for taking walks along the cliffs, the staff were friendly, and the bar had character, dating from 1732. But Hey! - this is a bed and breakfast, and there were simply no saving graces for the failure to provide either. If we had to have stayed another night, we might have preferred to walk the plank. On checkout, a notice on the counter encouraged guests to make comments at Trip Advisor. We said goodby to the parrot. Was he indeed Captain Flint?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigail19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Rui and Angelina who manage the hotel are a very friendly couple and really went out of their way to make sure we all had a super holiday.
We were a large group of 35 so catering could have been difficult but we found the food excellent and the service delivered with a smile was very good.
The hotel stands in its own private grounds with a very nice frontage where we had lunch on the lawn.

The bedrooms could do with an upgrade but on the whole it was a super holiday and thanks very much to Rui, Angelina and all the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 & 10 have a swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walking195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We arrived quite late one evening to the hotel as our ferry crossing had been delayed. We received a friendly welcome, which was indicative of the rest of our stay.

The room was reasonably sized. A few of the fittings were a little dated, but everything was clean and maintained well during our stay. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel during our stay but the breakfasts offered a good range of choices of cold items and cooked to order hot items.

There was an overall eagerness to assist from the staff and we'd have no hesitation in recommending it or staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yak5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Value for money was good at this hotel. Room's somewhat dated. Not so as to be a problem... I actually stayed twice in 2010 and will stay again this year. Lovely hosts. It's a friendly homely kind of hotel. Yep, says it all in that I'm going back really.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryamies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
557 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
840 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Friquet Country Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Douvres Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Douvres Hotel

Property: Les Douvres Hotel
Address: La Motte Road, La Fosse, St Martins GY4 6ER
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Douvres Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Douvres Hotel, Guernsey is a former 18th century Manor House ideally situated in the quiet St Martins Parish, in the South East corner of the island, and referred to by many visitors as the most beautiful part of Guernsey. Les Douvres Hotel is set in its own Private Grounds and is an ideal position for exploring the magnificent Guernsey South Coast Bays and cliffs walks, with views extending as far as the nearby French Coast, with the Channel Islands of Herm, Jethou and Sark in the foreground.Saints Bay, with its tiny Fishing Harbour is close by and the main town and capital of St. Peter Port, Guernsey is within ten minutes drive by car (approximately 2.5. miles). An excellent bus service passes the Hotel at regular intervals. Children are most welcome and family rooms are available. Despite extensive building works and refurbishments the Hotel's"Olde Worlde" character has been carefully retained. We are now the first Hotel or Business in Guernsey to provide an electric charging port for cars. This facility is free for all hotel guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Les Douvres Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Douvres St Martins
Les Douvres Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing