We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so disappointed to hear of management change”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Douvres Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Douvres Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“so disappointed to hear of management change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

i last stayed in les douvres in august 2010 but have stayed there sporadically since 1990. i found it very good during my last visit and went onto tripadvisor today to check if it still as good prior to making abooking for next summer. i was so sorry to hear of another managemrnt change. rui and angeline were the best since peter and jill in the 90s. have tried other hotels on the island but really wanted to return to the douvres. odd choice by owners.back to the drawing board.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking pool modernized and good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseblago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIW, General Manager at Les Douvres Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Bar the management we have all the same staff with the addition of the lovely Sandra Le Scanff, here is what she's been up to ...........

Les Douvres Restaurant Saga
Chapter 1
We have been closed since the end of December to carry out some kitchen renovations, which Jamie, the head chef, has insisted upon. The fundamental upgrades, he tells us, will improve on his already excellent offering.

He also seems to think there is a demand for a traditional Italian Pizza and Pasta offering in St Martins…..and who are we to argue!! Therefore we have bought him a very expensive Pizza oven, a pasta boiler and a plethora of italiano stuff to keep him happy, you know how touchy chefs can be! These Italiano additions will be accommodated in the larger restaurant at the rear by the pool and will not interfere with our normal menu in the traditional bar area.

We personally thought his Pizza bases would benefit from a little more seasoning but after the sixth tasting, kind of agreed he’d got it right!

Sandra Le Scanff (late of the Grange Lodge) will have to suffer the vagaries of our talented chef but tells us she is looking forward an eventful and rewarding season… Watch this space for the next episode of what’s happening at LES DOUVRES…………..
Rooms are also recieving a makeover, at last !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    61
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
27
75
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

By coming out of season in December for personal reasons, we almost had the hotel to ourselves. The proprietors, Rui and Angelina, could not have been more helpful and friendly, and made us completely at home.... so much so, that we booked to marry on the Island, and returned to the same lovely hotel a couple of months later for that purpose. We felt that they were our friends, and we were treated like royalty. No trouble was too great.
This attractive, older hotel is well-equipped, clean, well priced, and the restaurant and bar provide excellent food with friendly service and company. It is well-supported by local people and has a lovely atmosphere. We cannot fault it in any way and definitely would stay there in preference to any other location. We will be back, and hope that they will still be there to welcome us...

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a lovely view of the well-kept front drive and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobandHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

This is a fabulous traditional hotel/bar/restaurant, much loved by locals and holiday-makers alike, largely due to the fantastic hosts, Rui and Angelina. Everyone is assured of a warm welcome in the bar and the food served there never disappoints. It's been an absolute delight to see how the hard work of Rui and Angelina has transformed the atmosphere of the hotel/bar and we recommend it to all visiting family and friends because we know they'll be sure of the warmest reception and the best service they could hope for. What a hard act to follow! Along with many others, we are so disappointed to hear Les Douvres will be under new management in the not-too-distant future and sincerely wish Rui and Angelina the very best of luck for the future - they certainly deserve it!

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Islander1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IIW, Owner at Les Douvres Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Please be assured that other than some up grading of the rooms and tweaking of the large dining room, nothing will change. Andre (Rui's brother) will still be there, same chef and in general same staff, with thje addition of Sandra Le Scanff a delightful and frirndly French lady who has long been associated with the industry and is much loved by all her existing clients at the Grange Lodge. We are all really excited about the future and continue to be involved with Rui and Angelina. We love them too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Martin's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I live nearby and the present management and staff have worked tirelessly to make this a truly welcoming hotel/restaurant/bar. They have garnered much support and I dare say the owner of the property is well aware of the situation. Alas, and I know none of the detail, Rui and Angelina are to relinquish the lease at the end of the year. This is devastating for them and immensely saddening for many guests who have voted in these columns and for locals alike who have enjoyed a truly warm welcome and excellent food and hospitality. We do not know what will lie ahead but one has to wonder why such efforts to build a god business are rewarded In a rather curious manner.

New management may bring good things but what a shame that the existing management could not have been afforded better long term support.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Beds4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

A gem of a hotel. Staff were superb and their friendliness and desire to help made our stay. Food was inventive and very well cooked. Bedroom and other facilities were basic but clean and sufficient. Bathrooms old. Bus stop outside. Overall great value for money in a good location to explore Guernsey. But beware most of the key staff are to leave in the next few months and the challenge will be to find replacements of a similar quality.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We had a four night stay here. The location, in the beautiful La Fosse area of St. Martin's, is quiet and great for cycling to tiny coves and places of interest. The unheated pool was clean and in a sheltered, sunny position, and we made the most of it late afternoons. The rooms could do with modernising but the bed linen is lovely and the towels fluffy! :-) The Portugese family and their staff are providing an excellent service to their clientele. They are charming and very helpful. The restaurant produced some wonderful meals and we ate there often. They were more than kind in allowing us to use our room all day when the recent storm struck on our departure day and the ferry crossings were severely disrupted. They deserve to succeed. We'll miss the parrot and her songs!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor, pool-side, are light and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tcsunbounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We were after a quiet break in Guernsey over the Royal Wedding period and Le Douvres was great. Location very close to coastal paths for walks and the bus service around the island. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was great (good vegetarian menu choices). Swimming pool was out of service when we visited. Would recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexcaerphily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
4.0 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Douvres Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Douvres Hotel

Property: Les Douvres Hotel
Address: La Motte Road, La Fosse, St Martins GY4 6ER
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Douvres Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Douvres Hotel, Guernsey is a former 18th century Manor House ideally situated in the quiet St Martins Parish, in the South East corner of the island, and referred to by many visitors as the most beautiful part of Guernsey. Les Douvres Hotel is set in its own Private Grounds and is an ideal position for exploring the magnificent Guernsey South Coast Bays and cliffs walks, with views extending as far as the nearby French Coast, with the Channel Islands of Herm, Jethou and Sark in the foreground.Saints Bay, with its tiny Fishing Harbour is close by and the main town and capital of St. Peter Port, Guernsey is within ten minutes drive by car (approximately 2.5. miles). An excellent bus service passes the Hotel at regular intervals. Children are most welcome and family rooms are available. Despite extensive building works and refurbishments the Hotel's"Olde Worlde" character has been carefully retained. We are now the first Hotel or Business in Guernsey to provide an electric charging port for cars. This facility is free for all hotel guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Douvres Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Douvres St Martins
Les Douvres Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing