We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does a job”
Review of Les Douvres Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Douvres Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Does a job”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

A nice 1 night stay but wouldn't want to particularly stay for a holiday. Nice public areas but the rooms were outdated (which we knew about and was mentioned on here enough. Good to see they are being renovated, good luck with that). Good location and a short walk to the beach/sea, although the uphill walk back might not suit everyone. Value for money seems about right.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    62
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
28
77
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Angmering, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

After reading a couple of not so good Comments on this hotel I was a little concerned that I was not going to get the holiday that we had planned in Guernsey.
We found that the room that had been reserved for us was perfect, a very light & spacious room on the ground floor, with an ensuit in a reasonable condition ( a bit dated but clean!)
Everyday the room was kept clean to a very high standard with clean towels replaced everyday. The beds were remade to perfection every day.
The waiting staff in the hotel were very polite & friendly & helpful.
The breakfast menu was an excellent selection plenty of things to temp you with plenty of tea & coffee on tap.
There is a good selection of evening meals in the restaurant if you would like to eat in the restaurant we would strongly recommend you book your table in the morning that's because it seems very popular with locals.
There is free Wifi access in the lounge area but not in the the bed rooms maybe sometime in the future this could be addressed?

Room Tip: Ring or email before you go to make sure that your room has been refurnished the hotel are gradually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

Great location and lovely setting. The pool looked good, but too cold to use. Reception unstaffed on arrival, although we were early and they allowed us to check in early. Room disappointing with a strange fusty smell. Bathroom could be better as there were several damp patches and no where to hang all the towels. Needs sprucing up as the furniture very old fashioned and evidence of damage could be resolved quite quickly. Bar and restaurant areas looked lovely, although a lot of flies in the. Restaurant at breakfasts. Also slightly alarmed to see the pizza toppings still on display one morning near to the breakfast buffet (had the salami been left out all night?). Staff were a bit hit and miss, as was the food. Surprisingly in the room it told us we could order a cream tea, but when enquiring at the bar was informed they did not offer this? Sausages at breakfast were under cooked. Arriving back after a night out asked for a drink, and although the bar was occupied by staff and locals, was refused - felt very much the 'outsider'. This place has great potential, but needs to do better.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank stewart2726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

" Arrived on a busy Friday night and it was obvious the restaurant was busy
with an acoustic musical set and a large number of diners. However were
greeted by a delightful French lady, who we later found out was called
Sandra Le Scanff, who showed us to our room.
Not the most up to date of accommodation, but very clean. Sandra told us
they were undergoing a lot of renovation in the rooms, so will wait and see.
The food and ambience more than made up for the slightly dated rooms and the
staff generally were very friendly, Sandra gave us a lot of local
information and recommendations and was at pains to let us know that Jenson
Buttons manager lived next door, not knowing who Jenson Button was, I was
somewhat non plussed. I later found out that he drives cars very quickly.
Les Douvres is in St Martins, which has some of the most fantastic cliff
walks, very tiring but well worth experiencing. After a long days hike it
was good to return to a cold beer, hot shower and a leisurely meal of local
scallops and rib eye steak. They have an Italian chef, who will cook you a
delicious pasta to delight but only if you can stand his descriptive of said
dish!!Seriously a delightful overall experience, highly recommended.

The Martins

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19epicurean, Owner at Les Douvres Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are getting there with the rooms but it is a long drawn out process to achieve what we want. This September sees us in Paris buying the decor items which we hope will prove to give the rooms the "wow" factor. Glad you enjoyed your stay, the staff all remember your friendly association.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The hotel is situated in a quiet street and is very conveniently located for cliff path walks on the south coast. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel. The bus runs twice every hour on weekdays and Saturday, and once every hour on Sundays (in summer); it will take you to St Peter Port in 25 minutes. The hotel is an old building (18th century), which has a certain charme but don't expect a boutique hotel. The room was a reasonable size, and housekeeping was excellent. Reception and restaurant staff are friendly enough, but very inexperienced. I made a complaint about something in the room which was fixed after 2 days, but I was never asked if the problem had been dealt with satisfactorily. Food was disappointing. For a 3 star hotel I would have expected fresh fruit in the morning and some more variation in cereals, yoghurts and continental-type breakfast (cheese, ham, etc). There were large pots of jams/preserves on the buffet table that didn't look very appetizing. Sticky jam in large containers really doesn't suit itself for shared use... The dinner menu is varied but uninspired. Meals were reasonably tasty, but always swimming in butter or oil.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A-Place
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The building is generally cold, draughty with ill fitting windows which either rattle or don't close at all, this fact was pointed out by at least two other elderly guests, both of whom appeared not to be sorry to be leaving. Considering it has a Three Star rating, one would have expected more attentive service. On the first morning at breakfast, I noted and reported food debris under at least three tables. The waitresses seem quite happy to run a cloth round each table, then push the crumbs etc, on to the floor. The joints in the tables are filled with bread/toast crumbs which remained there throughout my stay. This could be dealt with by provision of a table cloth, or is that too much to ask these days. In the bathroom, the bath was surrounded with a huge strip of unsightly white mastic, this continued around the ill fitting bath panel and down all four corners of the tiling.The handbasin had been incorrectly fitted, sloping forward, which meant the soap dish constantly slipped into the water. As a final coup-de-grace, the toilet required fixing as it rocked every time it was sat on....The only saving grace was the excellent work of our chambermaid, her work was wonderful considering the difficult working conditions..All in all one to be avoided at all costs. It would have been nice to have the pool heated, it was freezing... What is the Guernsey Tourist Board going to do to rectify this very poor effort....

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.. La Trelade looks good, if the dining room is any guide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Les Douvres Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Quite right, we have renovated all public areas, and a few of the rooms (one of which you were not in) We have a massive room renovation programme over the next 9 months, but it will be completed 2 or 3 rooms at a time. All very expensive but we are moving forward...Hopefully there will be a queue at the door next year. All our previous and loyal understanding customers will be receiving a very favourable package to experience the new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Took my parents here for Father's Day and really wished I hadn't. Walked in and got ignored by 3 staff who all looked at us and walked past. Got shown to a table by a very timid waitress and sat for 20 minutes before anyone came to take our drinks order or give us a menu. I had to go to the bar myself to get someone to come and take our order. We then sat another 20 minute waiting to order and to get our dirnks. By this time we were actually on the telephone calling other restaurants close by to see if they had any tables as we were going to leave. The menu is terrible. It is meant to be a country pub in a quaint part of the island and it offers shockingly poor Italian food. Pasta is not fresh, my 10 year old step son can make better garlic bread in half the time (from scratch) and the menu is boring, 20 years out of date, uninspiring and overpriced. A table of 10 near us who were already seated when we arrived got their food an hour after they ordered and it was cold. Our food arrived and it was very poor quality and sub standard. My fish had clearly been frozen as it had that opaque glaze frozen fish has. This was topped by shockingly poor service, bad quality and slap dash attention to detail. Waitress cleared a table of plates and napkins and never returned to wipe it. It remained in a poor state for all the time we were there. The staff were not friendly, clearly had no idea what they were doing, there seemed to be no-one in charge and no-one responsible for this sorry state of affairs. I asked at the bar if the kitchen was running late and what was the turnaround time for food and was told they were trying to get through some tables currently and around 20 minutes. Waiting time is over an hour and this is in a restaurant that perhaps only caters for 40-50 covers. It was only when we left the waitress apologised for the wait. She was 2 hours too late. I have nothing positive to say. This is a bad restaurant, with bad staff, with bad food and clearly no organisation or leadership. I would avoid this place at all costs and eat somewhere else in St Martins.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsLillieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Les Douvres Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Many exchanges have been made with this customer, not sure we have resolved the situation other than to say we were particularly rammed on fathers day and sadly the odd situation will present itself from time to time, and as we are sure you will recognise, it only takes one bad item on the night, to compound and enhance any minor complaints that occur. Our only concern was the criticism regarding the fish, which we always buy fresh and not frozen.... Other than that we take on board comments and will always strive to do better and certainly maintain the high standards we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
4.0 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Douvres Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Douvres Hotel

Property: Les Douvres Hotel
Address: La Motte Road, La Fosse, St Martins GY4 6ER
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Douvres Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Douvres Hotel, Guernsey is a former 18th century Manor House ideally situated in the quiet St Martins Parish, in the South East corner of the island, and referred to by many visitors as the most beautiful part of Guernsey. Les Douvres Hotel is set in its own Private Grounds and is an ideal position for exploring the magnificent Guernsey South Coast Bays and cliffs walks, with views extending as far as the nearby French Coast, with the Channel Islands of Herm, Jethou and Sark in the foreground.Saints Bay, with its tiny Fishing Harbour is close by and the main town and capital of St. Peter Port, Guernsey is within ten minutes drive by car (approximately 2.5. miles). An excellent bus service passes the Hotel at regular intervals. Children are most welcome and family rooms are available. Despite extensive building works and refurbishments the Hotel's"Olde Worlde" character has been carefully retained. We are now the first Hotel or Business in Guernsey to provide an electric charging port for cars. This facility is free for all hotel guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Les Douvres Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Douvres St Martins
Les Douvres Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing