We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place! Exceptional !”
Review of Les Douvres Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Douvres Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place! Exceptional !”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at Les Douvres for a short break while visiting friends in Guernsey. We were greeted at reception by a very pleasant young man, who explained to us everything about the hotel in around 3 minutes! He then showed us to our room, carring both our heavy bags as we were contiuing or travels aft Guernsey to france. The room was spacious with a nice view of the swimming pool area. We were then advised by the young man (that turned out to the Manager Phill) that if we would like to dine within the hotel that night we should book a table as they get very busy at the weekend. We decided to take him up on his offer and was not dissapointed!
We booked a table in the bar which was very busy with a great atmosphere, was shown to our table by Phill and ordered our drinks, i am a real ale drinker and asked him what was the offering? He told me that he has Doombar (nice ale, but can get it everywhere) or a locally brewed ale called "Wonkey Donkey" was told the story about the name and that when he first got it in he tried it and that after 5 pints that i know what he meant!!!
Had a really nice meal, my wife had the Scallops special which she said was amazing! I had my usual Steak! Was also very good! (Maybe lose the wooden boards as can be messy with sauce)
Next morning after my 5 pints of "Wonkey Donkey" ( and a few whiskies!) went down for Breakfast. Again greeted by Phill with a "Good Morning! Did you sleep well? Hows the head"
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and cooked well.
That night we dined out with our friends and didn't get back to the hotel until around midnight. We was wondering if it was possible to get a night cap so went sheepishly to the bar to ask? Again The Manager was behind the bar and said "no problem" !
While having our night cap i said to my wife " i wonder if this man gets any sleep? He is always here"
Overall a great stay and would defiantley return! A lovely hotel!

Room Tip: room 9 Lovely great view of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    62
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
28
77
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed a long weekend in the Les Douvres Hotel. First we found that under the washbasin was a pile of hair left on the floor. Reported the matter to the reception desk. No action was taken. My wife cleaned up the unhygienic mess herself.On Saturday night there was a party held at the hotel. We don't go to bed early and don't mind people having a good time, but the celebration turned out to be very noisy and taken place right below our hotel window. 2.30 am tried to phone reception. no answer. I finally went to the bar and ask the manager if they could keep the noise down as we had no sleep by then.Going back to the room hoping that some action would be taken.The party stopped 5 am. I was prepared to check out in the morning and move to a different hotel. Reception staff was very understanding and helpful. The manager could not to be contacted.( making up for lost sleep) I was given one night refund on my bill and moved to a better room. But my Sunday was lost because of lack of sleep.Quality of the breakfast was not very good. 2 attempts to get a boiled egg right. No way 3 star standard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19epicurean, Owner at Les Douvres Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Commiserate, investigate and propitiate!
Our manager made every effort to placate you after experiencing some rather lively guests, we try to guide our more adventurous guests toward a more compliant and considerate attitude! but we are not always successful. Your experience highlights just such a case, but our manager spent most of the night trying to calm these over exuberant guests.
I believe you were upgraded ,free of charge, to a superior room and after talking with you and your wife, felt that he had satisfied your demands and made your holiday a little more enjoyable. Our manager was shocked at your response and is beside himself with, what he feels, is his failure to make your stay enjoyable. He only wishes you had not given him the impression that all was well on the day, only to receive the response posted.
Next time you come, we will ensure that you are not subject to our other guests enjoying themselves. Glad you enjoyed the food offering and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is my third visit to this beautiful old hotel and no less disappointed than when I first crossed their threshold almost a year ago. Excellent staff, great food, fabulous bedrooms, very well equipped with all the required facilities. Tea and coffee tray, plenty of room to work for the business person but most of all peace and quite. This is the hotel for the business person with realistic prices, first class food, friendly staff throughout, I've already booked my next trip for the Autumn and as it is the best kept secret in Guernsey, I am keeping it to myself!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMCAgencies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned home from a delightful Easter break at Les Douvres. We had emaile dthe hotel and asked for one of the refurbished rooms and were given room 1 on the ground floor - beautifully appointed with a large comfortable bed and modern fittings, flat screen TV, Tea & coffee making facilities. The bathroom was very clean and light with a large walk-in shower (no bath).
All of the staff we came in to contact with were cheery and welcoming - we ate in the Hotel on our first night and, if we had not prebooked elsewhere for the other two nights we would have had no hesitation eating there again - the food was excellent in both quality and value.
The ales in the bar are well kept and changed regularly and feature local breweries (such as the excellent White Rock Brewery's "Lost Tourist" - most apt given my wife's navigational skills negotiating Guernsey's intricate road network!). On Friday evenings there is live music of the acoustic variety in the bar and the young lad who played on Good Friday was rather good and well received by diners and drinkers alike.
All-in-all, a very enjoyable stay made great by the staff, the room and the food.

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms we had (No. 1) on the ground floor was lovely - looking out over the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetnoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We didnt stay there, but we had an excellent Sunday Lunch there.
They had 2 good local real ales and a good wine list. The Sunday lunch from 1-3 courses was excellent quality & good value. The service was superb with typical Guernsey bon homie & friendliness.The local buses aren't freqeunt, but if you are good with timetables, one stops outside. It is in a quiet pleasant peaceful location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnClementHarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My second visit to this beautifully renovated old establishment and was greeted by Sandra (Manageress) with a warm welcoming smile. The room provided this time was No 2 on the ground floor with the most wonderfully soft bed, a superb bathroom, flat screen TV, tea & coffee facilities and most of all peace and quite. The Tennerfest menus festival was in operation on my visit and for £10 I was treated to a gastronomic experience of French onion soup with crusty bread and shavings of mozzarella cheese followed by roast belly of pork with seasonal vegetables well prepared and lovely and hot. Breakfast is part self service and part waitress plenty of choice and ample portions. For the business traveller this hotel is not to far out of St. Peter Port and at the same time a nice distance of the main road ensuring quite relaxing evenings away from the hustle of a busy day. The hotel can even arrange car hire if required. My next business trip is already booked and I will be staying at "Les Douvres". Top Marks again book it and try it you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try for one of the new re-furbished bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMCAgencies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Wonderful meal in the fabulously decorated restaurant with a live musician preforming softy in the background. The room was pleasant, newly decorated in a neutral style with a few interesting pieces such as the retro lamps.
The public areas, which are a tremendous mix of original features and shabby chic made for a lovely setting in which to relax. Busy bar with a great county pub feel.
Breakfast buffet was varied with the option of a hearty full English, the staff were supper friendly and attentive. Excellent value for a three course evening meal bed and breakfast.
Highly recommend for a stylish yet relaxed retreat.

Room Tip: Room 10 has a small balcony, huge bed and ample room for travel cot, not so good if you want to watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
4.0 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Douvres Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Douvres Hotel

Property: Les Douvres Hotel
Address: La Motte Road, La Fosse, St Martins GY4 6ER
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Douvres Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Douvres Hotel, Guernsey is a former 18th century Manor House ideally situated in the quiet St Martins Parish, in the South East corner of the island, and referred to by many visitors as the most beautiful part of Guernsey. Les Douvres Hotel is set in its own Private Grounds and is an ideal position for exploring the magnificent Guernsey South Coast Bays and cliffs walks, with views extending as far as the nearby French Coast, with the Channel Islands of Herm, Jethou and Sark in the foreground.Saints Bay, with its tiny Fishing Harbour is close by and the main town and capital of St. Peter Port, Guernsey is within ten minutes drive by car (approximately 2.5. miles). An excellent bus service passes the Hotel at regular intervals. Children are most welcome and family rooms are available. Despite extensive building works and refurbishments the Hotel's"Olde Worlde" character has been carefully retained. We are now the first Hotel or Business in Guernsey to provide an electric charging port for cars. This facility is free for all hotel guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Les Douvres Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Douvres St Martins
Les Douvres Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing