We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need on holiday and more besides.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Douvres Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Douvres Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
1 review
“Everything you need on holiday and more besides.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

From the time we rose and had breakfast through to the time we had our evening meal and went to bed, we were treated as if we were the only guests.

The cleanliness, friendliness and the peacefulness was just what we needed.

The location was ideal whether we used our car or caught the bus. Over all we had a perfect week's holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buteusbuteus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiMoreira, Owner at Les Douvres Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Thank you very much for taking time to write such a nice review about our hotel. Looking forward to see you soon again.Rui and Angelina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    59
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
26
73
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

Our holiday at Le Douvre Guernsey was very comfortable and relaxing .Rui and Angelina and their staff treat guests as family. Their knowledge about island activities was very useful and the position of the hotel near a bus stop is convenient. The three meals we had in the restaurant were excellent and well priced. It is obvious that the chef loves his work! A couple of days into our stay we were faced with travel delays caused by a volcanic eruption in Iceland. The staff looked after us well as we waited anxiously to get transport off the island, holding rooms for us and allowing us to leave luggage in reception whilst waiting for the 1am taxi to the ferry. The bar is welcoming and has a good vibe every evening as locals choose to come and socialise there. I think that speaks a lot for the hotel ambience. I am looking forward to returning with the rest of my family for another holiday at Les Douvres in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaAllum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiMoreira, owner at Les Douvres Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2010
Dear Mrs Allum. Thank you so much for your nice review. We are happy that you spent such great holidays with us. Hope to see you soon again.Rui and Angelina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. The full breakfasts were excellent as were the two different dinners that we had. The hotel is 300 years old, but very charming. The location is good, especially if you like to hike the cliffs along the south coast. All in all, our stay there was wonderful. We had no complaints, and we thought it was excellent value. We were particularly pleased with the attention given to us by the young couple who run the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiMoreira, Owner at Les Douvres Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Hello, thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel. We are happy that you spent such a great time with us. We hope that you will come back soon. Rui and Angelina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

New owners Rui and Angelina could not have been more accommodating when we arrived for our short visit. Clean, warm rooms; fresh linen and towels every day; friendly old-fashioned service by real people who care about what they do; great food in the bar or restaurant (local residents visit on an evening - always a good sign); plus excellent access to coastal walks and bus-routes. Fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanGSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuiMoreira, OWNER at Les Douvres Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2010
Hello, thank you so much for your nice review. We are happy that you spent such great holidays with us. Hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

We booked a long weekend at Les Douvres and will definitely be returning soon. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were all most helpful and friendly, and the food was absolutely superb. Full marks.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

We arrived at the hotel early morning and were met by friendly and accomodating staff who went out of their way and provided breakfast for us. Through our 5 night stay staff amd management were attentive, helpfull and nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was clean, tidy, comfortable and quiet. The bar had plenty of local customers, the real ale was good and prices were fair. The restaurant was excellent and good value for money: food was of the highest standard due to the superb chef. Hotel was set in it's own well presented grounds, very close to local bus stops and a short walk to Saints Bay. We would recommend the hotel and certainly use it again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlon666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton ,England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one week and couldn't have been more pleased. Despite the hotel not expecting us until 2 days later ( their fault not ours) they very quickly sorted out the problem and we were give a lovely large room ( No.34) that overlooked the small pool.
The hotel was spotless, towels changed daily and pool towels were available from reception. The pool is a small heated kidney shaped pool (see photo) that was lovely to get back to after the delights of a day round the island. It was our 6th visit to Guernsey ,in 33 years, and was the best place that we have stayed at on the island. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. We ate in on 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the breakfasts were excellent.
Any visit to Guernsey is a delight, staying here just added to the pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riviman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
2.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
4.0 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Douvres Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Douvres Hotel

Property: Les Douvres Hotel
Address: La Motte Road, La Fosse, St Martins GY4 6ER
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Douvres Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Douvres Hotel, Guernsey is a former 18th century Manor House ideally situated in the quiet St Martins Parish, in the South East corner of the island, and referred to by many visitors as the most beautiful part of Guernsey. Les Douvres Hotel is set in its own Private Grounds and is an ideal position for exploring the magnificent Guernsey South Coast Bays and cliffs walks, with views extending as far as the nearby French Coast, with the Channel Islands of Herm, Jethou and Sark in the foreground.Saints Bay, with its tiny Fishing Harbour is close by and the main town and capital of St. Peter Port, Guernsey is within ten minutes drive by car (approximately 2.5. miles). An excellent bus service passes the Hotel at regular intervals. Children are most welcome and family rooms are available. Despite extensive building works and refurbishments the Hotel's"Olde Worlde" character has been carefully retained. We are now the first Hotel or Business in Guernsey to provide an electric charging port for cars. This facility is free for all hotel guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Les Douvres Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Douvres St Martins
Les Douvres Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing