We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peacefully Located”
Review of Les Douvres Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Douvres Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Kingswinford,England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Peacefully Located”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

A beautifully cared for hotel located in quiet spot on a leafy lane in lovely St. Martins. Room overlooking the pool had an attractive balconette and was spotlessly cleaned and refreshed each day by friendly staff. Breakfast freshly prepared and tasty. We didn't take evening meal but people were recommending this highly. All the food in Guernsey was delicious and portions very large!! A must are the coastal walks. Fabulous views with cafe's en route,( and toilets). Bus service very efficient and we used this all over the island. However, they do not run late. We had to take taxi home from St. Peter's Port. (Easily obtained). We did need a torch as the street lighting is often non existent. Have many happy childhood memories of Guernsey and once again it did not disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LsaKingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    63
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
28
77
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We thoroughly recommend Les Douvres Hotel,It is on the pretty side of the island,which is very peaceful too.We arrived Sunday 25th July 2010,we were greeted by Rui and Angelina who run the hotel and have done for 6 years. Rooms were very clean,they could do with a little makeover but nevertheless nice and comfy,clean crisp linen and towels.Restaurant and bar had character.Good choice at breakfast.Food in restaurant was fantastic.Angelina arranged to get a birthday cake for my husbandf to surprise him at dinner,nothing was too much to ask.The cliff walks are fantastic. you need good walking shoes,but what a wonderful way to see the island with breathtaking views..Herm is well worth a visit with beautiful scenery too.If youre brave take a dip in the sea on Shell beach.Cathy and John.(London).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agnesboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Everything about this hotel lead to a wonderful week in Guernsey.Although this hotel is classed as a 3 star,the quality of food is definately 5 star.Angelina & Rui were so friendly, you would have thought they had known us for years.We would definately return in the future.
Ian & Angela Jowett

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOWETT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Rui, Angelina and their staff made us feel very welcome, always very helpful. We had two weeks of rest and relaxation. Left our car at Hotel and travelled the Island by bus, which was cheap and stress-free. Every meal was well presented and extremely yummy!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in Europe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

PROS:
- great service, everyone we dealt with was incredibly nice and helpful
- food was great - English breakfast is cooked to order (no baked beans though...which is a great travesty according to my other half!), good dinner menu and everything we tried tasted great and was good value (dessert was especially yummy!)
- there is a bus stop on the corner - 60p to St Peters Port (if you don't want to battle the narrow roads!)
- really nice atmosphere, leafy surrounds, the pool looked great...though it was a bit chilly for us to try it out!
CONS:
- the temperature in the shower was somewhat temperamental...much easier just to have a bath than battle trying to get the temperature right!
- bed was a bit squeaky
- décor a little dated, but in perfectly acceptable condition
Overall a great hotel with a friendly atmosphere - well worth a visit!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevellingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Before you accept the room on check-in ask to see it first. Ours was in the main buidling and was furnished in the 70's. It was clean and had clearly been redecorated a few years ago BUT - small (always suspect when the room has a sliding door to the en-suite), none of the furniture matched, glass top of bedside table chipped/cracked and dangerous. Headboard old, cloth covered, so showing the dark grease/dirt staining from years of heads and hair. Bathroom suite consisted of avocado green bath and basin (cracked) but quite new white WC. Shower head broke the first day. Mirror above basin in danger of falling off wall. Several tiles cracked and grout fallen out between a number of tiles. Mould above mirror light. When the shower was fixed using it resulted in white sealant leaking out from under the rubber strip sealing the tiles to bath.
If it wasn't for the excellent staff friendly, helpful etc. it would have been a disaster.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hils_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We received excellent service from the hotel staff during our stay at Les Douvres. Our room was very spacious, clean and well appointed. It provided a peaceful and relaxed place to rest up after our beautiful cliff walks. The location was ideal for exploring the south coast and for St Peter Port. I was most impressed by the cuisine and the service. Rui and Angelina, who run the hotel, make their guests feel instantly relaxed and welcome.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florence00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
4.0 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Douvres Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Douvres Hotel

Property: Les Douvres Hotel
Address: La Motte Road, La Fosse, St Martins GY4 6ER
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Douvres Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Douvres Hotel, Guernsey is a former 18th century Manor House ideally situated in the quiet St Martins Parish, in the South East corner of the island, and referred to by many visitors as the most beautiful part of Guernsey. Les Douvres Hotel is set in its own Private Grounds and is an ideal position for exploring the magnificent Guernsey South Coast Bays and cliffs walks, with views extending as far as the nearby French Coast, with the Channel Islands of Herm, Jethou and Sark in the foreground.Saints Bay, with its tiny Fishing Harbour is close by and the main town and capital of St. Peter Port, Guernsey is within ten minutes drive by car (approximately 2.5. miles). An excellent bus service passes the Hotel at regular intervals. Children are most welcome and family rooms are available. Despite extensive building works and refurbishments the Hotel's"Olde Worlde" character has been carefully retained. We are now the first Hotel or Business in Guernsey to provide an electric charging port for cars. This facility is free for all hotel guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Les Douvres Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Douvres St Martins
Les Douvres Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing