We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really excellent hotel with first class restaurant”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel and will return for a longer stay as soon as possible. From the very friendly welcome to our last breakfast I cannot fault this hotel. The bedroom, with extremely comfortable mattresses, was very well fitted with masses of storage space and good ensuite facilities, the dining room had beautiful sea views and the quality and presentation of the food served by friendly staff was worthy of a 4* rating. Admittedly our menu choice for dinner that night had to be made at breakfast but in no way was this a problem. A lovely heated outdoor pool with towels provided was also available and we fully intend to make use of this on our next visit. Beautiful cliff walks are only minutes away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute after leaving one we had previously booked for 3 nights in St Peter Port ,we stayed only one night and checked out . We rang the Blue Horizon and the staff were helpful and having spoken with Julie who was very busy with the hotel, we decided to stay in her "emergency" room. What a good decision that was, we had a lovely 2 night stay ,great breakfast ,good location, I can recommend this friendly, clean and tidy hotel ,it is good value for money and was 10 times better than the hotel we had booked in St Peter Port!!
Julie works hard to ensure all her guests are Happy, we certainly were.

Room Tip: Talk with staff before booking
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank leavinghome2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I have just returned from a week's holiday at the Blue Horizon Hotel, with my husband and another couple. It is hard to put into words what a friendly and welcoming hotel this is, the reason being the constant knowledgeable presence of Julie and Ray, the proprietors, who are always on hand to help with everything. The hotel was hard to find when we first got off the ferry, but is not far from St Martins and situated close to the cliff path.There is a superb swimming pool, carefully maintained by Ray. The meals are also superb - wonderful breakfasts and an amazing choice for dinner, which is ordered in the morning so as to be freshly prepared, without waste. The garden is also a delight, as is the sociable bar, and we all quickly felt at home. I cannot speak highly enough of the service provided and the general air of leisure. Most of the guests seemed to return again and again. I recommend it for anyone who needs a restful and refreshing break, and I would love to go back again one day too.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor with patio doors opening onto the pool side. Ideal for swimmers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Had a fantastic week at the Blue Horizon, but by far the most outstanding feature was the heated salt water outdoor swimming pool, which we enjoyed several times during our stay and is kept immaculately clean by our host Ray. The hotel is ideally situated close to the cliff path overlooking Moulin Huet Bay. The breakfasts were to die for and on the whole the staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have just returned from our holiday at Blue Horizon,and what a wonderful time we had.Julie and her brilliant staff could not have been more helpful.Steve the chef provided us with super breakfasts and mouth watering 3 course evening meals,also as my wife is gluten free he was most helpful giving her options to the menu. We shall return,fantastic value for money.

Stayed: June 2013
2  Thank Terry Chapman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This family run hotel was recommended by friends. We have just returned and found the food, the staff, the hotel and the views so lovely. The lounge and bar were buzzing with happy conversation every evening.I'm trying to think of anything negative to say but am struggling ! You have to give your dinner choices after breakfast but this avoids waste The 3 course dinners are varied and delicious and cater for all special diets.No children under ten are accommodated here.You have to be fairly mobile to access the cliff walks to the beach but the walk is so worth it.We used local buses with a travel card provided by the hotel to get around as the roads are so narrow that you have to pass other vehicles by means of people's driveways!! There is so much to see on the island and the locals are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but rooms 1 and 2 overlook the sea.Thereis no lift so ask for a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geordies94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

first class service staff very friendly, quality of gluten free menu excellent (well done steve) highly recommended well done Julie &staff run a very friendly hotel calling it 2 star does not give credit where credit is due

Room Tip: if you need a room on ground floor ask when booking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Martins
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#4 of 9 in St Martins
337 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Trelade Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Address: Le Mont Durand, St Martins GY4 6DJ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Martins
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in St Martins
Price Range: £68 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Guernsey/St Martins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing