We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!”
Review of St Georges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Georges
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have just left St George's after spending 6 nights in St Peter Port with my Mum.
I was celebrating my 40th Birthday and really hoped this would be a special time. It was!! We loved our room, the breakfast were great and the sea view was a bonus.
What really stood out for us however is just how hard the small staff team worked. The owners are very hands on and clearly have an excellent rapport with their staff, something which is reflected in the positive atmosphere which is very apparent throughout.
I had a fantastic 40th Birthday, without spending a fortune and St George's surpassed any expectations I previously had.
Mum and I had a downstairs room next to the front door and found this very convenient.
I would like to thank all the staff at St George's for helping to make my special Birthday a wonderful experience-all due to their hard work and commitment to the job.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snoopyloopy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Owner at St Georges, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your review so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Davina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    73
    35
    20
    13
See reviews for
29
94
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Good location, nice and clean, good base to explore guernsey. A little noisy in the mornings with the clanging of the kitchen starting at 6am but worth it as the breakfast was delicious. Friendly staff and very reasonable rates. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flat8davidfilem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Owner at St Georges, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hi
Thank you for your review, sorry we disturbed you in the morning, we do try to be quiet in the kitchen but it gets a little manic at peak times of the year.
Glad you enjoyed your stay overall.
Many thanks
Davina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in St. George's on a number of occasions. There are many attractive features to this popular Guest House. The free wifi, the books to read and the outstanding breakfasts . The one problem is the owner's guest relations. This is a new venture for her having previously been the manager. There is clearly a programme of improvements as evidenced by the upgraded dining room and new beds in some of the rooms. However, to be told that one is in the worst room and the second worst room in the B&B is not a good customer relations ploy. Whilst acknowledging that this place is good value for money, to be reminded that people living on Guernsey put up with worse is again foolish from a customer's point of view. A bit more tongue biting on behalf of management could move this B&B from good to excellent . Avoid room 18

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wellie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Owner at St Georges, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
ok
I disagree with what you put on trip advisor site, I did not say your guest had the worse room. At the time we were talking about the renovations I had been doing and what I actually said was when the hotel inspector came I showed her the worse rooms to get her advice, (as they are very knowledgeable) Your guest then jumped on that remark and said her bathroom was very small.
To which I said I had taken the hotel inspector into that room and asked her about the bath room and she said that it was a standard double room, and I was selling it at a standard double price, the bathroom measurements were over the size of the minimum and that she had seen much worse bathrooms than ours, bathrooms made out waldrobes etc.

What I actually think is the problem is cultural, in Guernsey we are a small Island we have small rooms and small homes. Where as if you live abroad such as Australia and N.Zealnad in a place where you can afford vast amount of space then your expectations are higher.

And I am sorry if that offended you as you have been good guests and friendly over the years,
But you know we are just doing our best and when your guest complains about her room size and the neighbouring room, when no-one else is complaining, in a fully booked guest house well, there is a limit to what I can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed for 9 days owners vey helpful.....even though we arrived a day early they sorted it out.nice clean rooms good size.breakfast excellent choice and quality.....freshly cooked and available from early each day.great position for town just a short walk in.beautiful views over the sea.
Could not fault our stay at all....really good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stejancox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Owner at St Georges, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
thank you for your lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We had an upstairs room with a view over the sea. Could not have been more picturesque. The whole place was very, very clean and fresh. There were plenty of tourism brochures and the staff were helpful in planning our sightseeing. It is easily within walking distance of the town. We really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wildfrog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Owner at St Georges, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
We at St Georges really appreciate your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I stayed here with my husband and parents, so got to see two versions of the rooms. Our's was upstairs, and a bit smaller, but was clean and the bathroom was renovated. It even had a heated towel rack which was a nice plus. My parents had a room next to the front door, which had a lovely bay window and bathroom with extra finishes and decorations. The breakfast was huge, with additional choice of meats, cheeses, and cereals if the full English breakfast wasn't enough for you (which it was!). It's in a good central location and the center of town is a short walk away. Wifi was only available in the main lobby. I would recommend trying to not have a ground floor room facing the main street. My parent found that other guests would congregate right outside the front door for a cigarette, and there is nothing to keep them from standing right outside the bay window of their room on the ground floor. It's a small annoyance though as everything else was great.

Room Tip: Try not to get the ground floor room facing the street as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nimen_hao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Owner at St Georges, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for your review, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed at St George's for two nights, and had a very comfortable stay. The staff were friendly, the room was good and the breakfast was delicious! It's a short walk from the town centre and good value for money. There are also useful services such as handy top-ups of bathroom products and tea/coffee located in the corridors, and a left luggage service after you check out. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinkkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Owner at St Georges, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
854 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
796 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.9 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#15 of 19 in St Peter Port
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges

Property: St Georges
Address: 21 St. Georges Esplanade, St Peter Port GY1 2BG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. Boasting an enviable location by the sea and 2 minutes’ drive from Saint Julian’s Pier, locally known as North Beach, St Georges is a family-run guest house with free Wi-Fi and Free public parking is also available nearby. Each room at St Georges features an en suite bathroom with tea/coffee making facilities, and a flat-screen TV. Some rooms also boast picturesque views of Belle Greve Bay and the picturesque islands of Sark, Herm, and Jethou. A complimentary breakfast is served daily. The busy Saint Peter Port Harbour with ferries to Jersey, Southampton, Poole, is only 1 km away and Guernsey Airport is 12 minutes’ drive from the guest house. Owner Davina Sweet and her friendly team work hard to ensure a perfect stay, so why not give them a call today and take the first steps to exploring this magical isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Hotel St Peter Port
St Georges Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing