We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable with excellent breakfast”
Review of St Georges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Georges
Reviewed 30 July 2014

St Georges is a large B&B in an excellent position on the waterfront a short distance (5-10 minutes walk) from the centre of town. There are bus stops just outside the front door so it is very easy to get to the airport by bus (only 1 pound). Our room was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. There is a computer for guests to use free of charge and there is free Wi-Fi. There are a couple of pubs within 100 metres for a drink and a meal. Overall a comfortable stay in an excellent position on a nice island.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank albanytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Owner at St Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review, we were all very pleased

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in July 2014. It's clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfasts are very nice. It's also well located, not far from the port, the bus station and China Red (amazing Chinese restaurant). Wi-fi worked well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yourtwocents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Owner at St Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

thank you for your comments there were much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have just returned from 6 nights at St George's. We thought this was a great B&B for the price. Clean rooms with plenty of toiletries in the bathroom (no little sachets here but big bottles of shower gel, shampoo) and excellent freshly cooked breakfasts. We chose it because of its location. It is within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in St Peter Port - so many restaurants and cafés to chose from and in our experience, all very good especially if you like fish and seafood. There is a bus stop outside with buses going to a variety of destinations or just go into town and change, so you don't need to hire a car. From the airport you can catch the 11 or 91/92 and you get off right outside this B&B. It is within walking distance of the ferry terminals to Herm and Sark. We found the staff here to be friendly and efficient. There is some road noise to put up with. We used this B&B as a base in Guernsey so we were out and about after breakfast until 5 or 6 pm and then out again for the evening. If you like to spend time where you are staying to relax, this might not be the place for you. However, it suited our needs very well.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a sea view room which was slightly bigger and on the top floor (so further from tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellimay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Owner at St Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Many thanks for your frank and honest review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from 2 nights at St Georges. It is a lovely bed and breakfast, very clean and fab breakfast.The owner could not be more helpful and we even checked into our room at 10am as the room was ready. There is a little street noise in the morning but worth it for excellent location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank EconomicsTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Manager at St Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Thank you very much for staying and the review given

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Have returned from st George's b&b just last Friday after staying their for 2 nights and 3 days had a fab time the b&b b we can not fault great breakfast and the staff you could not fault they were really help full and we do hope to return again thanks you dee and all you staff for giving us such a great time

Room Tip: Any room will be fine as you over look the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WokinghamSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked this B and B as it was based in St Peter Port and is well positioned on the edge of town with views directly over to Herm and Sark. It is clean, beds comfortable and the breakfast buffet was good, plentiful and freshly cooked although we would have liked some fresh fruit! However had I not had earplugs we wouldn't have slept a wink. Our room was at the front right next to the front door. We were surrounded by noise from the very busy main road, people stood outside our bedroom window talking while smoking, people coming in and out of the front door and the room above. The bathroom had a constant smell of drains due in some part I think to the Saniflo pump but maybe due to the lack of ventilation however the smell when showering was very unpleasant. There was a bus stop literally outside the B and B which made Island access very easy. The best part of staying here however was having 2 of St Peter Port's best restaurants (Absolute End and Red China) just a few steps away. If you do stay here make sure you visit these two eateries and don't forget to ask for a bedroom at the back if you want to sleep!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank JaniePet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Lady at reception not exactly over welcoming. She did offer to help with the luggage though. The room very small, with lots of shabby details like the facings of the bathroom door full of filler not sanded or painted. The room door that was meant to be a fire door did not close properly making it unsafe. They would never get away with it in Scotland. But the worst bit was the bathroom, so tiny that you practically had your face in the basin whilst using the toilet, if you were skinny enough to get to the toilet that is. The brochure in the room described it a"tranquil place" with "views on the bay" Well we hardly slept because of the traffic noise and the fact that our room looked over a sort of workshop where a lot of very noisy activity was going on. A far cry from a view over the bay.
When we went down for breakfast the next morning the staff did not exactly turn around to greet us. So the general friendliness of the place could do with a lot of improvement. On the plus side, the breakfast was very good and the buffet spread excellent. But that wasn't enough to justify the £84 pounds we paid (found far superior and bigger rooms and warmer welcome for a lot cheaper in other places)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank enricakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allez2, Owner at St Georges, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hello
Please tell me where in St Peter Port you are going to find a double room with a good breakfast for less than £84.00 for two people sharing? I only know of one and it only has two rooms. With the building rent alone being £8,000 a month and the electric coming from France, the tariff is set at a budget price. You cannot equate values on different countries, it is very expensive to live in Guernsey.

I am not altogether please with the building work going on in the wine shop a couple of doors away but they have to put the roof on in the summer. Its nearly finished now.

we don't have brochures, so I don't know what you are eluding too we only have internet bookings and it does not say anything like a tranquil bay, it states beautiful views over Herm and Sark. And the information book in the rooms says the same no more no less.

You booked a standard double room, had you booked a sea-view room you would have had views over the bay. And a bigger bathroom.

St Peter Port is as the word states a Port, its busy, bustling full of restaurants, shops and ferries, you possibly need to research your booking more, I would recommend people coming here if they are Island hopping or on a budget, but if you want countryside then you need to head out to St Martins or St Andrews.

We had 40 guests in when you where here, I am sure I checked you in and took you and your luggage up to the room and chatted to you, because I always do.
we were not unfriendly just very busy and fully booked... very big difference.
Our occupancy for June was 97% I had the figures from Visit Guernsey this week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
880 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#15 of 19 in St Peter Port
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
2.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Georges

Address: 21 St. Georges Esplanade, St Peter Port GY1 2BG
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St Peter Port
Price Range: £54 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. Boasting an enviable location by the sea and 2 minutes’ drive from Saint Julian’s Pier, locally known as North Beach, St Georges is a family-run guest house with free Wi-Fi and Free public parking is also available nearby. Each room at St Georges features an en suite bathroom with tea/coffee making facilities, and a flat-screen TV. Some rooms also boast picturesque views of Belle Greve Bay and the picturesque islands of Sark, Herm, and Jethou. A complimentary breakfast is served daily. The busy Saint Peter Port Harbour with ferries to Jersey, Southampton, Poole, is only 1 km away and Guernsey Airport is 12 minutes’ drive from the guest house. Owner Davina Sweet and her friendly team work hard to ensure a perfect stay, so why not give them a call today and take the first steps to exploring this magical isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges Hotel St Peter Port
St Georges Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing