We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit hit and miss for our group visit”
Review of Mora

Mora
Ranked #14 of 126 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$76
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Spooner St
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A bit hit and miss for our group visit”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Sadly, our sizeable group was treated like many in Guernsey - ram them in. When paying reasonable money for an evening out, I expect to the same kind of space afforded to couples or small groups, but this concept is seemingly lost on many restaurants here. I think the word is GREED.

Anyway, that aside, our food as a group was a bit up and down. The main complaint being that the salt shaker had been aggressively used in the kitchen. At a personal level, I had a fish-based evening and both dishes were very good with good portion sizes. The main was a tad salty though.

The service was good. Despite it being busy, everyone was kept well watered during and between courses.

It wouldn't take much to level-up to 'very good'.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TAMember06062012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    154
    46
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bad Crossing, Bad Weather, Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Visited Guernsey last Sunday on a day trip, had a bad crossing (as most of the other passengers did) and the weather was not great but.......we found Mora's.
From the moment we entered we felt welcome and the courteous staff found us a table, furnished us with a by now well earned drink and showed us to the table.
Very pleasant surroundings and ambience, excellent service and some of the best food we have had in a long time!
Shared platters to start followed by a mixture of main courses (mainly seafood) and just enough room to share a couple of puddings!
My compliments to the chef and front of house for a very enjoyable lazy afternoon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous place for food.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

A very special birthday & my lively family took me to this superb restaurant. Food out of this world, windows seat looking over the harbour, biter they cake complete with candles, duck breast & pear starter, surf & turf main, beautiful desserts and fantastic house wine plus a great bottle if fizz to toast the occasion. Thank you for the great service, food and ambience. Live trio downstairs playing great music - what more can I say, but thank you for making this lady very very happy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab food and service”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The food and service were just wonderful. We hadn't booked and arrived before the dinner service began as we had been sight seeing. We were offered Palma Ham and olives etc.....Just what we needed. When the evening service started we asked if we could sit at a table in the window upstairs, which overlooked the harbour. Sure enough, a table was found for us. Lovely fish and excellent service. We recommended it to friends who were going to Guernsey the following week

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LAH919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fantastic meal”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

An excellent meal with very attentive service, Great atmosphere - good value for money - will be returning for a promised carbonara. x

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mora also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Mora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing