We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In decline?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mora

Mora
Ranked #13 of 126 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$77
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, View
Dining options: After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Geneva
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“In decline?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Having enjoyed many previous meals at Mora, we were left disappointed on our recent visit. We we're part of a fairly large party celebrating 2 birthdays and having to go through the normal nonsense in Guernsey of having to pre-order. The expectation of pre-ordering is that the food would be served at the same time to a reasonable standard. Sadly this wasn't the case on this occasion. Three of the party had risottos that were so salted they were inedible. It was not one of Mora's finest nights!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    150
    43
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

On a recent business trip to Guernsey I found myself dining with colleagues in the excellent Mora.

The restaurant is located in central St Peter Port and has exquisite views of the coast (sit upstairs beside the window, if possible).

Main beers on tap are Peroni and Guinness, along with lots of cocktail options.

My meal consisted of a starter of smoked salmon, prawns and crab, which was top notch. Following that was a very tasty medium-rare sirloin steak with fries, before concluding with the vanilla cheesecake, which wasn't bad but not spectacular.

This restaurant is very well located and offers good value. The starter and main were very impressive.

Helpful?
Thank BG1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

A chance encounter with the restaurant as we passed by earlier in the day proved to be probably the best meal of our visit to Guernsey. We ate upstairs, overlooking the harbour and although busy, the service was excellent, as was each of our dishes. The scallops particularly had lots of flavour. This was a great find!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkshead
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great menu full of freshly prepared local produce, particularly fish and seafood. The surf & turf special with lobster was delicious and the service excellent

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Belinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Leaving meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Visited in November, cant fault it! Went to Mora for a birthday meal.. Was not impressed tried again for a leaving meal and yet again was unimpressed. The manager on shift was excellent and some one the staff. How ever i will not be returning for a member of waiting on staff to tell me i had to wait to order a drink at the table because not everyone has arrived at the table. Food was ok had better here!

Helpful?
2 Thank emily s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mora also viewed

 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Mora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing