We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent yet again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier 17

Pier 17
Ranked #6 of 123 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guernsey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Excellent yet again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Booked well in advance for a table with a view in the conservatory.

My wife had her usual of crab cakes followed by the chicken. Both excellent and consistent in quality on numerous visits.

I chose two courses off the specials for the day. Smoked trout to start which was delicious. Main was sea bass with lobster which was a strange combination but excellent.

Service was of a very high standard despite being extremely busy. Ambience was great with a great buzz about the place with everyone enjoying their food.

We have decided to try and go at least once a month.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    135
    42
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Guernsey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Absolutely fantastic atmosphere and food. Staff attentive. Portions and quality of the dishes was lovely.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
261 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Restaurant on the Pier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Have eaten here a couple of times now and the service has been excellent on every occasion. They have a good wine list, and serve excellent food from their "specials" to a selection of fish, meat or vegetarian and their beef is tender and tasty. They also offer an choice of delicious deserts. While this was a family occasion (pre-wedding dinner) there were no children present.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eangelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Went for a work party and the quality of the food was superb, service was excellent. The restaurant has a lovely view of the castle, a very good place for a romantic meal I would think.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank clairelybelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Bit of Fish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and I dined here during a family holiday in August 2001, having been recommended by just about every local person that we spoke to.

The service was attentive, enthusiastic but unpolished. Usually after the order is taken the table is relaid with the appropriate cutlery, glasses etc. This required several visits before the waiter got it right. A minor point I know, it did not detract from our enjoyment at all.

Now the important part - the food

For starters my wife ordered Squid and Scallops. It is easy to overcook both of these main ingredients but these were perfect I ordered the Local Crab & Scallop Thermidor which my wife thought too rich for her taste, to me it was wonderful, well balanced, the crab and Scallops not drowned out by the cheese.

For mains we both ordered the halibut from the specials - A truly lovely piece of fish, simply cooked to perfection - 10 out of 10

I'm not a dessert person and opted for cheese while my wife had a sticky toffee pudding which satisfied her sweet tooth.

All in all a most enjoyable visit, not cheap but I've paid a lot more for a lot worse in London - I would recommend and re-visit

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier 17 also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Pier 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing