We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly rated by islanders so had to try this restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pier 17

Pier 17
Ranked #5 of 125 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
oxford
Level Contributor
155 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Highly rated by islanders so had to try this restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We loved its location - as the address says it is on a pier and we love all views over yachts! The service was good and the food did not disappoint. The seating was comfortable, the noise level good and we were not squashed on top of others. We felt the prices were very reasonable for such a good meal - House sauvignon blanc was under £15 - the starters - seafood chowder was to die for - absolutely the best I have ever had. We went for the marvellous main course combination of fillet mignon and half a lobster - such a winning combination. Lobster was always on my must have on this visit to Guernsey. Our total bill for four was £135 although we did not get as far as a pudding .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    137
    42
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievably great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I found Pier17 by accident on a one day trip. The food was quite amazing. I had the steak and lobster. I am still dreaming about it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AV8OR172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in a harbour side setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had a fantastic meal here with friends. It doesn't look much from the outside but the atmosphere and food were really good. Scallops followed by turbot, beautiful. Others in my group had sea bass, chicken, seafood salad - all were very good

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

food was lovely shame i wasnt feeling to great when we went so food was a little harder to taste but great evening none the less.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank watercat1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I was disappointed with Pier 17. It had been recommended by several people and on booking the staff were exceptionally helpful so I thought we were in for a treat. It's in a great location with the busy harbour right outside the windows. It started well. The bread was particularly good.
The starter of asparagus with poached eggs and hollandaise was delicious but the main course of vegetarian stir fry was ordinary and the raspberry pudding not good. The wine was mediocre but not a mediocre price. The portion sizes were generous and the staff were pleasant. However, all in all, it didn't excite. With a little more passion (and the removal of an old chip paper from directly outside the window) it could be a great restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glebebears81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier 17 also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Pier 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing