We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and great value!”
Review of La Piazza

La Piazza
Ranked #20 of 126 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great value!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We received a warm welcome from the proprietor Tony on arriving at La Piazza. It is a cozy restaurant and the staff are eager to please and make sure that you are happy.

The food was absolutely superb. The Dover Sole is perfectly grilled and served with vegetables, most of which are home grown on the island. The steak was sublime and cooked to perfection.

The wine list is generous, but the Argentinean Malbec they stock is heavenly. Sadly I forget the name.

If you are in St Peter Port I can heartily recommend this restaurant.

Be advised, they are very popular so booking is advised.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SiegiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    47
    15
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch at a bargain price”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have been here a couple of times and we took advantage of a Quidsin deal today - a 3-course meal for 2 people with coffee and chocolates for a mere £14.95, so less than £7.50 a head. The decor of La Piazza is dated and they are rather fond of doileys, but that aside they do budget Italian cuisine well. The food is simple, rustic in presentation but always hot, always tasty and always served quickly. The staff are friendly and accommodating. There was a lot to choose from on the Quidsid menu, but there were no descriptions of the dishes, so we had to use a combination of the main menu and our voucher to translate it. It was quite a nice spring afternoon so we sat outside in the courtyard, which was really pleasant (although we did get a seagull make an unwelcome deposit on our table). Sitting in the sun with a tasty meal and a glass of Prosecco can't be bad really, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scoobydoobysoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good quality and value”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Whenever we feel like a good quality meal in a very friendly, relaxed restaurant we always go to La Piazza. The welcome we receive is charming with excellent service, very good sized tasty portions. We eat out regularly and have been to excellent top class restaurants all over the world but when we are back home we probably eat at La Piazza more than any other restaurant in Guernsey. It's always a reliable choice with a busy buzzy atmosphere. In the summer months we enjoy eating outside in the small courtyard.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 214SusieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We have had the pleasure of dining here many times, more recently using vouchers purchased from Quidsin for their Social Menu which is excellent value. Whether two of you are dining or a large party, the service is warm, very friendly and efficient. The Social Menu has a large selection of Italian food and it is possible to have something different each time and it be of a high standard. The owner, restaurant manager and waiting staff are very sociable and you can always be sure of a good welcome with thanks and best wishes to return soon. They clearly love their profession.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CiaoBella2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A full restaurant speaks for itself”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Guernsey's Tennerfest continues to tempt people out for dinner and La Piazza offers an extensive and varied menu that will not disappoint. With a side choice there is something for everyone, including retro favourites like Steak Diane. (A little too much sauce for my taste but nice all the same). With reasonably priced wines and friendly staff, this restaurant continues to attract diners at any time of the year.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1957Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Piazza also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to La Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing