We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal but not off the tennerfest menu.”
Review of Da Nello

Da Nello
Ranked #7 of 126 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$123
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guernsey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
“Great meal but not off the tennerfest menu.”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Went with my wife and stepson to Da Nellos as part of our decision to have a Tennerfest meal out once a week during the Tennerfest festival.

Having viewed the Da Nello tennerfest menu we were disappointed and decided, instead, to choose from the A La Carte menu.

We all had fantastic meals in a great atmosphere but the food is very expensive especially compared to other restaurants close by.

Still one of my favourite restaurants and we will return but not so often at the prices they charge.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    171
    63
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I visited for lunch with four colleagues. The food was outstanding. Sea fresh fish cooked to perfection, excellent service and great atmosphere. One of the best fish restaurants I have ever visited.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve3236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a lunch and an evening meal here while on a visit to Guernsey. The food was beautifully cooked and presented and the staff were available but not intrusive, perfect really. I ate a Minestrone soup packed with flavour and vegetables and a Dover sole that was just so good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daviejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service - A Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Italian cuisine is renowned throughout the world and Da Nello's is a splendid example of why many Italian restaurants enjoy such a fine reputation.

The food is fabulous with an extensive menu from which to choose, the service is exactly what one might expect from a fine Italian restaurant and the ambience of the place is lively and welcoming.

I have eaten at a number of restaurants in Guernsey, but this is my favourite, and having eaten there on several occasions, I can also state that it is consistently good, since I have never experienced a bad meal there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JM1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cannot fault it.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Da Nello's was a place I discovered whilst reviewing tripadvisor reviews & it truly lived up to its great reputation as one of the best in Guernsey. Being a non-local I was able to convince a few locals to try here rather than their usual haunts. Everyone loved it so much the response was 'why haven't we been here much before'. It was faultless. Family run which is a joy in today's chain restaurant environment. We were greeted by the lovely Fernando who we all would simply return to enjoy his enthusiasm and passion behind the truly traditional dishes. Everything was fresh & the hardest decision was what to chose. We opted for cancre crab, lobster linguine, parma ham & salmon starters. All simple clean and overall fresh dishes chef truly capable and proud to let the ingredients speak volumes without overdressing dishes. Mains we plumped for dover sole which was served table side to add to the event, fresh oyster for great price, sea bass and awesome side dishes that I simply couldn't stop myself trying to eat everyone else's plus my own. For sure I would make Da Nello's my regular place to visit when on the island and hope it continues for many years to come. Service was equally a joy we were there far longer than we intended which is a great sign of place where one has fun & loses time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodiemonkeyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Nello also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Da Nello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing