We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a bar not a restaurant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Onion

Red Onion
Ranked #66 of 123 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Price range: US$0 - US$28
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“It's a bar not a restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

A group of us called in here for some food prior to going to see a band . The menu selection was good but the food that came was poor , the fish had bones in it , the thai fish cakes were cold . In fact all six meals were poor and food was left by all of us . The burgers that were delivered to a nearby table did look nice though . Defiantly a place to watch sport , have a drink and may be a burger only. The service was not great either when we asked our waitress if we could also have a glass of water she pointed us to the bar and stated that we had to go to the bar for any drinks as she only dealt with food !! would it have been so difficult to bring a glass of water ? Anyway we ate quickly (some of the food any way ) and left . They defiantly lost at least two more rounds of drinks we had else where , before going to our final destination

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carman531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    11
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Though the staff can be a little cold and sometimes unresponsive, the atmosphere a little dank and dark, the food is of a good quality and more than edible and at night there is a great lively atmosphere

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guernsey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Football Crazy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

There were 30 of us the night before a football match against Guernsey FC. The staff coped extremely well and did a fantastic job serving up the lads. Well done girls.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nestled in the cobbled streets of St Peter Port”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

this pub is a great find nestled in the heart of the old town and serves great beers, wine and food. Great after work and fab for meeting friends later in the evening when it becomes more of a nightclub atmosphere. Friendly staff and great for young and old alike.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Another place that we've visited when in Guernsey, but the food was very disappointing and had to wait a long time for it.
The barmaid was very pleasant but the manager, very rude, and he was talking to us, like he knew us from primary school...
but great to watch a game of football

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerseybean2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Onion also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Red Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing