We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Michael R” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Government House Brasserie

Old Government House Brasserie
Ranked #18 of 123 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$37
Cuisines: European, British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Michael R”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Food and service were excellent, Could not be faulted

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    33
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place to be - shame about the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have had Sunday lunch here a few times. The setting is very nice and the service is good but the food lets the hotel down in the brasserie. They do a wonderful afternoon tea though!

Helpful?
Thank Sweeties59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Good food with wide wine selections. One of the best place to eat on the island

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lzhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Charity Meal For Born Free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

With over 140 people we had a very nice three course dinner. The starter soup was extremely nice, main was a beef dish and a lovely dessert. It is well laid out and the wine selection was lovely.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sjb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
381 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Best ever Club Sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Went for a quick lunch with my wife last Monday.

We had never eatenat the OGH Brasserie before so decided to try it.

Very pleasant ambiance, prompt and polite service and elegant table setting.

We both ordered the Club Sandwich which were the best we have ever had. Totally fresh ingredients. The chicken was not sliced, processed rubbish from a suprmarket but freshly roasted chicken cut into generous portions.

Altogether a very memorable experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Government House Brasserie also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Old Government House Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing