We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Touch of Paris in Guernsey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victor Hugo Restaurant

Victor Hugo Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 123 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Touch of Paris in Guernsey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Excellent in warm weather, bread excellent and all cooked items excellent. Coffee very good. Service good. Parking can be difficult.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good cod!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Food was excellent, but we did have to wait a while. I had the cod with mash and chips on the side. Fish was excellent.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
280 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lunch okay, great place for coffee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I have been to Victor Hugo before and usually had coffee and great patisserie treats. I went for lunch in April and there was a wide selection of pannini's, lunch options and I enjoyed it. Went back in August for business and noticed the shop layout had changed. We went for lunch and I was disappointed. The menu looked greatly reduced, less choice of sandwiches and I had a home made pasty, my colleague had quiche. My pasty was okay, it looked a little sad on the plate with some limp lettuce to accompany it. It was hot, even though I had not asked for it to be heated and the filling was a little lacking in taste. I was disappointed. I felt they had messed with a winning formula.

If I go back again I will give it a try for lunch but this might be a coffee and patisserie stop only. Such a shame as the one on the coast road has a captive audience of possible people for lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“French experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Having been to France, this was great - a little bit of genuine French food. Excellent homemade soup and bread... and a French lady in charge.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank RobandHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Typical French coffee, pastries and food cannot fault it.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Carlo198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victor Hugo Restaurant also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Victor Hugo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing