We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Main Course Average, Dessert Unedible”

Victor Hugo Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 126 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Main Course Average, Dessert Unedible”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Myself and my partner booked into the restaurant as a last minute treat.

Upon arrival, although the restaurant did not have a dresscode, we were made to feel uncomfortable about dining in our evening outfits (these were a dress and smart jeans and top).

When we turned up for our designated booking, we were informed that they were not expecting any more diners, although we had booked through the Reception of the hotel 2 hours prior to dining.

After being reluctantly seated, we ordered our meals and starters which were nice - I had the goats cheese.

For mains, my partner chose the lamb dish and asked for it to be cooked rare; it came out over done therefore he did not enjoy it as much as he could have. I chose the mussels, which I must say, were the highlight of my evening as they were exquisite!

Unfortunately, to say the least, our desserts came out unedible with the Peanut Butter Parfait being unprepared as it was frozen solid to the point where we could not cut into it with the cutlery provided and the chocolate fondant was presented overcooked and burnt; both desserts had to be left barely touched.

Throughout our meal we had to listen to an awful choice of music, something with a bit more class would have gone down better!

We were sadly dissapointed with our visit which has put us off wanting to visit again even though there have been several people who have said they enjoyed their experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magwah88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Pastries”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Enjoyed a delicious pastry and lovely coffee in this great little french themed cafe. Only thing that lets it down is the lack of fresh air. It was quite stuffy and far too warm.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheArchers15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Superb pastries and hot drinks”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Popped in for a hot drink and was delighted to see the range of pastries available. Looked just like a French pastiserie. Had one which was stunning. Service was great and decor sets the tone wonderfully. Walked out with a couple of baguettes for supper that were perfect.

Going to have to go back regularly to try all the other pastries!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRovingDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totland Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic value, setting and food.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We went one evening, but they were not open, so we returned the following day for lunch. It was out of this world, superb cuisine, lovely desserts.... charming restaurant set just outside of the main town on Guernsey. Good views of the islands and nearby parking at hand. Can definitely recommend and would go as far as to encourage anyone to call in, their coffee and cakes are also delicious! Excellent value, not expensive but fairly priced and top notch quality food. Will certainly return on my next visit over.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“it was OK”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

the setting was great and the room looked good food was great and staff excellent. Only issue I had was if we were eating in the hotel every night the menu was very short!! dont go the web site menu as the actual menu was much shorter.

But as we had flown in on the sat and did not want to go meal hunting in the town Victor Hugo for one night hit the spot

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 20yearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victor Hugo Restaurant also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Victor Hugo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing