We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food and prices.”
Review of La Perla

La Perla
Ranked #8 of 130 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and prices.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Tried this place after reading other Trip Advisor reviews. It was as good as they said! La Perla has two 3 course menus, one at £10, yes £10 and the other at £19. Both are fantastic value for money with plenty of choice on each. I had the £19 menu with crab cakes to start, Chicken stuffed with Brie for mains and a meringue for dessert, my wife had the £10 menu starting with soup, a spaghetti bol and sorbet to finish. All was mouthwateringly tasty and with 3 glasses of wine and an orange juice it came to £40!
Money notwithstanding this is a fantastic place and you must try it; you will not be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank JackMullion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    115
    28
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had a lovely unrushed evening at this restaurant. Food excellent. Service good and good value. 3 courses under £20. I had a lovely lobster bisque full of lobster meat as starter, followed by sirloin steak, then profiteroles. Nice bottle of rose wine, £52 for two of us!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retired160343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
“Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Excellent and outstanding in every respect, food quality superb, presentation very nice, service very good, staff attentive warm and welcoming, atmosphere lovely and brilliant value for money. We stayed in Guernsey for 6 days and ate here on 4 occasions as we couldn't resist it.
It was a perfect experience everytime and made our holiday special. Caroline & Martin - Stockport.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value and excellent quality”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Yes, like many others we tried this Italian restaurant for the 3 courses for £10 deal. Because we had read the reviews, we asked for a window table, and duly got one. This was essential for us at the height of summer.

We were told of a slight delay in a friendly and professional manner so were seated downstairs and given a drink. House wines about £14 per bottle and were very good.

We were shown to our window table and ordered food. Great portions and superb quality. Whitebait and spaghetti bolognese for 2 of us, prawn cocktail and lasagne for the others. Brilliant. No long wait, staff great, portions a plenty and also get new potatoes, chips and vegetables separate to every main course. We had to leave ours, there was just too much. Really good though. We then had sticky toffee pudding, tiramisu, chocolate pancake and profiteroles for our desserts. All brilliant. Coffees to finish and a total bill for 4 people.....£75! What value. So much so we went back the next night and did it again, also brilliant.

My only advice is that on the first floor (main eating area) it does get very hot in summer, so get as near to the windows as you can.

This is a must do restaurant if staying in Guernsey. Brilliant.

Helpful?
Thank Lowe2785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Awesome and at unbelievable prices.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Eat here twice in the last week. First time from the £10 menu. Yes, £10 for three excellent courses. No scrimping on portions, the crab salad was fresh, huge & magnificent. House wine £13.95 and drinkable. Great atmosphere, friendly staff a place with real buzz. Went back & really splashed out on the a la carte. £16.95 for fantastic, enormous lobster Thermidor. Can't understand how they make money. Eaten at other poncy, pretentious fish restaurants run by d list, wannabe celebrities where the bill has been ten times the price. They could learn much from here! Make sure you book, you may have to wait a bit but it's well with the wait!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dahtorq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Perla also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing