We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Abbey Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbey Court Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Second trip to Guernsey, playing in badminton Tournament. Abbey Court is a great hotel at a great price. The rooms are clean and well equipped, lots of choice at breakfast, love the full english. Lots of room in dining area, some large rooms with comfy sofas, free wifi. Staff are professional, polite and helpful. Town is 10 minute walk away, good central location. All in all a great choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alang2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

If I will go to Guernsey again this is the place I'm going to stay again. Very professional and great staff, very friendly and helpful. Internet was fast both ways, no problem with VPN etc. Downstairs there is something like a Club room, actually two, one with HUGE TV and a nice table and another room which is like a library. They also have a couple of Mac's there to work at - I believe for free. The location is a bit off the city center, but then again its worth the extra 15 min walk. Very good value for money. I paid about 50 GBP per night with decent breakfast. In fact aside from what they have on the tables for breakfast they can also cook you something from menu for free. Garden looked interesting too. In the evening you can order beer/drinks and I believe food too. Very homely and nice hotel all together.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreakWentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Abbey Court Hotel, This is a lovely 2 star experience, cheap, Clean and Functional .
We had a lovely room very spacious and presentable with plenty of clean linen and towels and everything we needed and the Breakfast is excellant, we really couldn't fault this place and the staff were really lovely too !
We will definately be going back and recommend to people .
Their checkout isn't till 12pm either which is nice if you are not in a hurry .
Abbey Court deserve more than the 2 stars on their front plaque.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The hotel is just out of the centre of St Peter Port but reachable by bus and has a car park. The rooms are purely functional with the minimum of everything you need. Just. Ours was painted white with white linen and towels, pine furniture and an old style tv. The free wifi only worked downstairs in the lobby and guest rooms but only just. It froze and stopped very regularly and was therefore very frustrating. The man on reception was friendly and polite and there was no need to complain. The breakfast offered a normal bed and breakfast type menu but there is a minimum selection of cereal etc and no fresh fruit. It's ok if you just want to sleep and go. It's not a case of you get what you pay for as we paid the same price for another hotel on the other side of the island the next night and it was leaps ahead.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolinexxW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I had intended to use this Hotel as a quick overnight stay as I had an early flight the next morning after a season of work. I had booked a single but was upgraded to beautifully spacious, spotlessly clean room. Huge bed, very, very comfortable, bedding was clean crisp white linen, great pillows x 4. The room was warm on arrival, so was a nice welcome as it was freezing outside. The guy behind recption carried my heavy suitcase up two flights of stairs, this was great as a previous Hotel on Guernsey I had to carry up 3 flights!
The photos on the web don't do it justice, I really thought it was going to be a typical 'take us how you find us' Hotel. The shower room was again spotlessly clean, really hot shower, etc.
Wi-Fi available in the rooms and not just in public areas, though would have appreciated pin for wi-fi to be in guest room folder, but gave me a good excuse to go down to the bar! Nice lounge area downstairs and 2 Tv's opposite ends next to the bar area, huge sofas to sit on, great area for lads to drink and watch a bit of the footie!
I didn't try the breakfast as I had to leave early for my flight, but looking at the menu in the guest folder I think it would have been good, as there were a lot of options. There is another Hotel on the island that myself and other colleagues have used purley for these overnight connections, but with poor quality service, I would recommend this one, I felt better looked after, and will use again should I return.
Small points being there was plenty of tea, coffee milk and sugar, good crockery. I didn't find any notepads or pencil, not a problem, but would have been handy to jot down notes for planning journey ahead.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troubadour04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Booked in here recently, room was clean and bright, good location for town and parking available. So all fine, functional and good at £60 a night but distinctly disappointing for the price I was charged. Friends stayed in better for less!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarylT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in St. Peters Port, about 12 minutes walk from the seaside. It is a typical, white English house. The overall experience is very nice. The hotel is cheaper as many in the area, the staff is very friendly and helpful and wifi is free. When i arrived the eeception was not manned but a sign indicated one shoul dial a number. I though well this kind of things never work but 10 seconds after I rang somebody showed up and check in was. Ery efficient. The hotel doesn't do dinner but you can eat in a nearby restaurant ad write the bill to your room. The breakdast ist delicious, eggs, pancakes etc are made to order.
The bus 4 from and to the airport stops 100m from the hotel which is very convenient. There are multiple buses going to town from the same station.
The room itself was average equipped with a comfy bed, a wardrobe, a mirror and a lounge chair.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FabTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
2.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#5 of 6 in Castel
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
896 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grange Lodge Hotel
Grange Lodge Hotel
#12 of 19 in St Peter Port
187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Address: Abbey Court Les Gravees, St Peter Port GY1 1RL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £62 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This very attractive top-value family owned and operated hotel, in a quieter area on the outskirts of town, is only 15 minutes walk down to the shopping centre. A former Regency period residence, adapted sympathetically, the Abbey Court provides a relaxed, friendly and informal base and is ideally placed for St Peter Port's many attractions and has the added benefit of being very well served the the Islands excellent bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing