We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced for what you get.”
Review of Abbey Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbey Court Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

There is nothing wrong with this hotel it's just expensive for what you get. I paid £112 per night and I have had better for £70. Having said that this is St Peter Port and all the hotels are expensive. The rooms are spread over what appears to be a couple of buildings and extensions all on different levels.
The room I had was quite small but big enough. The bathroom was also on the small side. Both were scrupulously clean, the bed was big and very comfortable. There was adequate storage and tea & coffee making facilities along with a small flat screen tv. The bathrooms biggest problem was there was no where to put anything other than a very small glass shelf above the basin. Ended up leaving my wash bag on the toilet cistern but had to move it every time I wanted to flush the loo. The shower was controlled by the bath taps which was a very arduous task getting the temperature right before pulling the knob to direct the water to the shower. Again there was no where in the shower to put anything like soap or shampoo.
Breakfast was ok without being very exciting. The full English was one bacon, one sausage, 1/2 tomato, 1/2 round fried bread a spoon full of mushrooms and beans. When you're paying £112 per night could they not stretch to another rasher of bacon and a whole tomato and the other half slice of fried bread. Tip, if you want a quick breaky get down early as the crowd seem to arrive just before 9 and it then takes a while especially if everyone wants omelettes. There was the usual boxed cereals, yogurts and fruit juices on offer along with help yourselves to toast and preserves. There was also a bowl of fruit. The hotel doesn't serve dinner. There was a small bar where you usually had to phone a member of staff to get served at and they never seemed to have any change. There was also a large screen tv room and a couple of well equipped computer and internet stations in the lounge. On the plus side good WiFi was available throughout the hotel including the rooms. There is parking at the front of the hotel for around 10 cars, only one night did I see the parking completely full. It's about a 15 minute walk into town. ( coming back this is all uphill) there is a well served bus route with bus stop 100 yards down the road though if you don't fancy the walk.
I had really good nights sleep during my stay as internally the hotel was very quiet although there was quite a bit of early morning traffic noise especially with the windows open in mid summer.

Room Tip: There is quite a bit of traffic noise quite early in the morning if you have a front facing room. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuffolkClaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

stayed here for three nights recently and have nothing but praise for the service and hospitality, rooms are comfortably furnished, bright and clean and located an easy 10 minutes walk to the Harbour and a 15 minutes back uphill, Satellite TV and WiFi in all rooms making this choice of stay very good value for money, varied and full breakfast menu to start the day (the only comment is that the young girls serving should show you to a suitable table when busy and maybe smile a bit more)

Room Tip: choose Victoria Road if going to the Harbour as it leads you direct into The Old Quarter and is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Griff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a lovely very enjoyable two night stay at this hotel. It was so convenient, the service was lovely and very friendly. The rooms very clean with plenty of tea and coffee, good breakfast, nice outdoor area, bar with a good wine selection. But best of all we left some valuable items in the room and the staff did everything to get it to us before we left the island. We can't thank them enough and definitely recommend this hotel and will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in room 7 with my Mum. Staff great, lovely room , very clean. Breakfast perfect, all cooked to order. Staff even printed our boarding passes for us. Easy walk down to the sea front and only £4.50 for a taxi back to Abbey court. Fit people would be fine with the walk back up the hill but bit too long for my mum. Thank you for a lovely stay .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatalieJJonesScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived off the ferry for a 2 night stay & walked to the hotel which is up hill from town in a nice neighborhood off a very busy street. We had a large family room on the second floor, although we'd booked a twin. There was another bedroom with 2 singles & decorated for children off the main room. The room was furnished in very used light pine & wicker, the bed was firm with good white linens, 2 pillows & a duvet, decent carpet and large windows with drapes to darken. Ask reception for sheets or non-down pillows. The bath was completely tiled & very clean with the strongest/best shower ever! The room was very quiet except for doors slamming - why can't people close the doors & not let them bang shut out of courtesy for others? The wifi was excellent in our room & TV, tea/coffee service. We had very good breakfasts with a good side board & help yourself coffee, boxed cereals, 2 juices, pastry, whole fruit, toast, yogurt. We ordered full English one morning & large omelets on the other. There is a breakfast menu to choose from. There are a couple of restaurants within minutes of the hotel if you don't want to walk/drive into town where there are really a lot. There is a large lounge with a couple of free computers, a small bar & dining area. There was a parking area in front. There isn't an elevator but the stairway is very wide & straight. We never saw anyone in reception & had to use a phone to call them. The young receptionist seemed detached & English is not her native language. I don't think a staff person ever spoke to us while we were there. Although we had a good stay with no complaints, the hotel lacks charm & had a cold atmosphere. But was a very good value for everything we received, would give it 4+ stars & do recommend it for a lengthy stay.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the back were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Abbey Court Hotel for a week in May as we hiked the coastal path around Guernsey. It proved to be an ideal base for our holiday. Our room was spacious and very comfortable; breakfast offered lots of choices, was always delicious and the service was fast, friendly and efficient. Our room and the hotel was clean, bright and welcoming. There was complimentary wifi and a computer for guests to use in the lounge. We often chatted for a few minutes with Ian who was a wealth of information about the island. The hotel was about a fifteen minute walk from the seafront; it was a quiet location and there was parking available at the front. Tea, coffee and cookies were available in the room as was a small television. I would highly recommend Abbey Court.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyCanadianHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Nice Hotel.Quick to book in/leave.Good breakfast to set you up for the day.Healthy walk into St Peter Port.Even heathier on the way back up the hill.Good to be near the nightlife of the Town.Parking no dramas.Enjoyed my stay and would go back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scotslad12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.6 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
865 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wayside Cheer Hotel
Wayside Cheer Hotel
#4 of 6 in Castel
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
885 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court Hotel

Address: Abbey Court Les Gravees, St Peter Port GY1 1RL
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £62 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This very attractive top-value family owned and operated hotel, in a quieter area on the outskirts of town, is only 15 minutes walk down to the shopping centre. A former Regency period residence, adapted sympathetically, the Abbey Court provides a relaxed, friendly and informal base and is ideally placed for St Peter Port's many attractions and has the added benefit of being very well served the the Islands excellent bus service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abbey Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing