We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff”
Review of La Piette Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Piette Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here for a one night whilst attending a wedding out of town, the manager and staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful. Lovely views from the room and a great spot to wander down the seafront into town. I had breakfast and lunch here and both were faultless.

I'll definitely return on my next visit to Guernsey and look forward to the warm reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanHad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    47
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
37
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent a couple of nights at La Piette and couldn't recommend it highly enough. Our rooms were beautifully decorated, comfortable and spotless. Breakfasts were delicious, great restaurant and bar, lively atmosphere and all within a five minute walk to St. Peter Port. When we had a minor emergency to deal with the staff could not have been more helpful. Many thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Eaten here 3 times in last week and its been good each time...nicely presented,good service,helpful staff.bin end wines on bar at £10.95 great value.can be busy but staff will always try and get you in.nice views over the bay if you eat in the bar.the manager,tall with spectacles,was an excellent guy,so friendly and helpful to us and it appeared to everyone...a big asset to the hotel.also noticed the bar man,big muscular guy,possibly portuguese who never stops working serving ,cleaning,he never stops!!!!
Try it can't fault it myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stejancox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Although this hotel is right on the busy road out of St. Peter Port it's also a great location overlooking the harbour. The view, rooms and service more than offset any extra noise from the street. Reception was always very pleasant but our fondest remembrances will be of our evening waiter, Johnny, who gave us exemplary service and always with a smile and a delightful scottish accent. We felt we had become friends. The quality and variety of food was great. Breakfast was always a treat with very efficient and attentive staff. Easily accessible WiFi was a plus as was the in-room iron, ironing board, pant presser and large armoire. All in all a memorable experience for all 8 of our travelling companions. 4.5 would be a more accurate rating.

Room Tip: We loved room #1 but if you like absolute quiet in order to sleep then try another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spellbound069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxted
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed here on business and enjoyed the welcome, the rooms were clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and chatty, especially the bar staff, who made sure my glass wasn't empty,, well done on a great service. my only down fall was i had a room overlooking the back of the building, but not all rooms face to sea. the breakfast in the morning was really good, served hot with a smile.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Clement, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I did some consultancy work in Guernsey last weekend and spent Friday and Saturday nights at La Piette. I booked in early before going about my business on the Friday and as an old sailor, asked for a sea-facing room if possible. I got Room 1 - lovely view towards Herm to the East and St Peter Port Harbour to the South. The small harbour of La Salerie was just a few hundred yards ahead. I was warned about wind and traffic noise, but slept soundly both nights.

The hotel bars were buzzing on Friday evening and the management brought round a plate of cooked small bites to each table about 6pm - a lovely touch! I was with two others and we all ordered steaks of varying sizes and cooking requirements - we were all extremely pleased with the result.

On the Saturday and Sunday mornings, we all enjoyed a freshly cooked breakfast - I found their 'standard' breakfast quite sufficient - a real treat!

I thanked both the Manager (always around) and the Chef as he passed through, for what was a really enjoyable two nights stay over a working weekend.

I would definitely return and look forward to doing so - everyone was so helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview if a good sleeper - there is a busy road between the hotel and the sea wall and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancientmariner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Myself and my partner recently stayed at La Piette..The Hotel is run as a very much hands on establishment by the owner Mr Kelly, who has the support of a very friendly ,helpful, professional staff. The restaurant was excellent and the Hotel bar retained the feel of a good local pub, many local people use the bar as apart from the easygoing atmosphere, prices were not the normal hiked up ones that is usually the norm for many Hotels. Our room was excellent by the way. If you are heading for Guernsey for a long weekend or more? Then La Piette is well worth considering. We traveled from Poole to the Island via Condor Ferries as suggested by La Piette. two people and the small car cost less than £ 150 when we booked March 1st.

Mike Gale (Oxford)

Room Tip: One with sea views would be my first choice but any of the rooms , would I am sure be as pleasant as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
758 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
618 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Piette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Piette Hotel

Property: La Piette Hotel
Address: La Piette Hotel St. Georges Esplanade, St Peter Port GY1 2BQ
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Piette Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Piette Hotel in St. Peter Port Guernsey dates back to the 1700’s with many of its original architectural features remaining including a magnificent carved wooden fireplace, rumoured to have come from the town church in 1870.Over the years La Piette Hotel Guernsey has been extended and improved and there is now a mix of contemporary and original styles throughout.La Piette Hotel is the only seafront 3 star hotel in St. Peter Port Guernsey, providing stunning sea views of the neighbouring islands of Herm, Jethou and Sark and on clear days Alderney, Jersey and the French coast. Sunrise over the islands can be simply spectacular!La Piette Hotel is ideally situated for both business and pleasure: A five to ten minute stroll along the seafront will take you directly to the heart of St Peter Port, the islands capital with it’s picturesque harbours, quaint cobbled streets, restaurants, shopping and the financial centre. If you are visiting Guernsey on business, a short walk in the opposite direction is the Admiral Park business and commercial centre.Open all year round this Guernsey 3 star seafront hotel has a choice of bars and great restaurants and offers excellent value short breaks. The only seafront 3 star hotel in St Peter Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Piette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Piette Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing