We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay and would return”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Marton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Marton Hotel
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay and would return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Spent a week at this hotel and we were quite happy with everything. Yes, it is situated on an incline 10 minutes or so walk back from the harbour, but the whole of St Peter Port ascends up from the town. The majority of hotels are well set back from the town centre, unless you are prepared to pay a hefty premium and overlook the promenade. Access is also not such a problem either as there is a bus stop 5 minutes plus walk up from the hotel at the start of Les Vardes. Coming from the airport , you catch a no 7a for £1 and easily walk down with your cases - just 20 minutes in total. Not that difficult to walk up either, when going out for day as the No7 goes all around the island coast from this stop. Yes, when finally travelling back to airport the incline is a more arduous drag in pulling your cases, but still only 10 minutes to bus stop. I was more unhappy with the hotel directly abutting the road on a corner, but little traffic and St. Peter Port is a town with much character where such is to be expected. However, it is an easy stroll down to bus terminus at bottom, whatever way.
Regards hotel itself, I would say pretty average. It was clean, the staff were efficient and we had a large comfortable room overlooking a garden at rear. The room was not 4*, but there was nothing to complain about with it. The bed was fine, the furnishings were ok and the bathroom was large and generally clean. In fact we much enjoyed our stay there. Each morning our room supply for making hot drinks was amply restocked. Perhaps the reception area and communal room was a little bland, but I was not paying the price to warrant more.
Breakfast was promptly from 8.00 am onwards , with usual choice of cereals, juice etc before being served with your normal b&b options. I stuck to the full breakfast as plentiful and not that greasy. Toast was good and I recommend their granary with your tea/coffee. The service at breakfast was particularly quick, polite and efficient.
The Marton has a sister hotel just down from it, and you can have an evening meal there at a reasonable price. Didn't try ourselves, since requested to advise of a morning on reception whether dinner for that evening, as we prefer freedom to decide at later time in day. Would recommend the Albion House Tavern with more limited choice of good food, but priced well.
There cottage pie with chips and peas is really good at £6.95 ( watch out for the 10% off food vouchers also ). Situated right on front, at bottom down from hotel. Gammon was also good at £1 extra.
So in summary would I recommend the Marton Hotel . Well Guernsey is a more expensive destination and St. Peter Port adds a premium. By staying a week we had a 30% reduction on the published tariff which brought it in line with Torquay prices. Therefore, value for money I consider we could not have done better and would certainly return if price remained so obviously competitive. However, yes the incline up may prove too much for someone a little less agile and remember the standard is actually for guest accommodation.

Room Tip: Room at rear overlooking garden is good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    30
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

Service is friendly and helpful. The rooms are very tired and quite frankly a disgrace. No attempt is made to (re)decorate them to a basic acceptable level. I also don't want to spend my holiday learning how ti flush a WC. It's disrespectful to guests to charge full prices for shabby rooms. I have added photo's.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Narvik06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Peter Port hotels

Europe
Level Contributor
269 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Currently staying her for 3 weeks (unfortunately the Best Western Havelet where I normally stay when visiting my daughter was full) and while the decor is dated and the premises needs to be refurbished, for Guernsey it is good value for a summer stay. It is very typical of UK bed and breakfast establishments. No doubt, if re-vamped and refurbished prices would increase accordingly! I asked for a single room, but have a twin room, with ensuite facilities, for one person at £40.00 per night which includes breakfast - either cooked or toast etc. The staff members are helpful and will toast my gluten free bread/rolls which I provide for myself for breakfast. While the shower does not work well in my room, there is a full-sized bath. There is a kettle and instant coffee/tea in the room as well as television and wifi.

The premises is a walk up-hill from St Peter Port and there is no public transport, so for some this might be an issue. While parking is on-street, it is not easy to find a space, but sometimes there is space available at their other premises Pandora Hotel, further down. There is a garden on 2 levels and a few tables and chairs are placed outside where one can sit and read/relax. There is a bar (closed and shuttered) and television room, both of which seem unused! In total there are about 30 rooms. It seems to be very popular with families and for French and German tourists.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eangelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

To get to the hotel you have to clime a steep hill! No public transport get near-by.
On the second day of our staying we could not enter our room. The key would not turn!
We went to reception and reported the problem. The person in charge come to verify the problem and promised immediate action the next day.

We managed somehow to open the door for that night and went to bed.

Next day, when we returned from our outing, we still could not open our door!
We again went to complain and were told the matter had been reported and they could do no more! Again, after 5 min, by pushing and twisting the key I managed to unlock the door once more.

When we come to the holel the following evening we found that we could just unlock the door.
There were sign that somebody had lubricated the meccanism, And that was all they had to do in the first place!!!! Why do you need two days to solve a simple issue like that?

The bathroom was clean, but....
There was one small towel rail which was not suitable to carry all the towels required by two people. So the kept falling on the floor.

There was only one glass(too clean your teeth) in the bathroom. Maybe the wanted us to share it!
There was no shampoo. But we had one tiny bar of soap each.

Every time someone in another room used the bathroom whe could hear the noise of water filling some cistern tank located somewere else, One night a group of people arrived later, and because they all wanted to have a shower, the noise lasted until 3am.

The beds are of poor quality. The matresses have springs that you can feal very well in your back. It ruines your sleep!

And finally, the coffee was not very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank f_cembrola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Marton in June and were very disapointed with it. The decor was tired the bathroom needed updating. There was a slightly damp smell about the hotel. There was a lounge and a nice garden area but it didn't appear to be used anymore. We were glad we were only there for 4 nights. On the plus side it was in a good location 10 minutes from the town but up a steep hill. The breakfasts were very good and the staff helpful especially the receptionist from Madeira. The Pandora down the road the sister hotel was much better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dial1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed at the guest house in April. We laughed when we saw the state of the very dated rooms as we are not used to this sub standard in Ireland. For the money you would get a decent three star hotel at home. In fact we would have killed our friend for booking it if it wasn't clean.

Think 70'/80's decor, tired bed linean, mismatched furniture, and avacado bathrooms.

The only good things about the guest house was that it was clean, the staff were pleasent and the breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANAH186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

First impressions of our double room were rather disappointing. The whole place is in need of refurbishment. Its "decor" is very tired. In fact our double room was a twin.
The shower wouldn't work unless the shower head was inches from the bottom of the bath. The toilet only half flused, although we were told the contents of the cystern were new. We resorted to filling the litter bin with water in order to flush the toilet.
When we came back on the second day our twin beds had been changed for a double which gave us a little more space in the bedroom.
The breakfast was excellent for what we were paying. The staff did all they could and must be resigned to people having similar complaints to our.
If only the quality of the building could match the helfulness of the staff who were either Latvian or east European.

Room Tip: The family room shown on the website is the only one worth staying in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngersNorthofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandora Hotel
Pandora Hotel
#15 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
1.0 mi away
La Piette Hotel
La Piette Hotel
#11 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marton Hotel

Property: The Marton Hotel
Address: The Marton Private Hotel Les Vardes, St Peter Port GY1 1BH
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Marton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marton Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing