We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected surprise”
Review of The Marton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Marton Hotel
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An unexpected surprise”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Recently returned from 4 nights at the Marton in Guernsey. Before we went, we looked at Trip Advisor to see what we were in for, and some of the reviews were very negative. We felt that we should judge this for ourselives. We found the staff extremely helpful on arrival, and attentive throughout our stay. The bedroom was very roomy with a beautiful view from the window over the lovely garden. Although there was a steep hill to climb up from St Peter Port, it was worth it to be so close and within walking distance to the town. The Guernsey yogurt on offer at breakfast is amazing (also available at the sister hotel "The Pandora").

Room Tip: Room over looking the garden was lovely to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nermal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    31
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the Marton for 7days,staff very friendly and helpful,room was a good size and bed comfy,breakfast was excellent, pleasant gardens to sit in after that steep climb from town. Very clean and good value for money,would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Have just got back from 7 days in Guernsey and a friend and I stayed at this guest house. It is a steep climb up from the harbour but it was good to be so close to the centre. The Marton is in need of a redecoration but we had a good sized room with comfortable beds and a small sitting area. The garden was lovely and we were able to sit out and enjoy the sunshine. Shame that the bar was now closed but we found a supermarket and bought our own drinks to enjoy in the sunshine. The staff were really friendly and the breakfasts were superb. Freshly cooked eggs or fish, plus cereals and the most wonderful yoghurt. A very good bed and breakfast hotel that I would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter especially on the nights when the dustmen come at 3am
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WNTMKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beverley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We spent two nights at the Marton Guest House. We felt it offered value for money. Very clean throughout, a good breakfast each morning, and friendly and helpful staff. A steep climb up the hill, but relatively close to all facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crawshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
machen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just returned from a weeks fishing in Guernsey and stayed at the Marton. Read some of the "not so good reviews" just before leaving home and was a little nervous of what to expect. Yes the decor is dated but we had 3 rooms between us and all 3 were comfortable clean and tidy, just the ticket. As we left early each day I cannot comment on the breakfasts but the dining room looked fine. The staff were very good especially Tania who ensured we had everything we needed. Would also like to add that we spent a little time in The Dorset Arms, a great pub just 1 minutes walk down the hill.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikemachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Our party of four have just returned from a weeks fishing trip in Guernsey and selected this hotel as it ticked all the boxes that we required.

Two of my colleagues shared a twin room and were very happy with this, one other preferred to have a twin for himself and he again was very pleased. I took a double bedroom for myself and didn't get of to the best of starts!

I was shown to a room on the top floor based in the roofline. The problem here was that as I got out of bed I banged my head on the slanted ceiling. Again it was impossible to stand in the bath at one end because of the afforementioned roof line!

I complained next morning to our receptionist TANYA who said she would look into it for me. This was where everything got better and better the longer I stayed. First of all she located me a new room, (Room 26) which whilst accepting that some parts looked dated it had a completely new bathroom suite recently installed. I was only paying £50 per night having negotiated no breakfast as the fishing required an early start. I have paid over a £100 a night to stay in accomodation far inferior to this.

With regard to the steep hill can I suggest consideration is given to using the taxi service on the Island. The most we ever paid was £7 to travel back from the far side of St Peter Port to the hotel for four people after 22.00hrs..

There is a superb pub The Dorset Arms situated 100 yards down the hill that always made us feel most welcome (unfortunately no food).

Everything was clean at the hotel and we were all agreed that the star of the show was Tanya who even helped us to find somewhere at their sister hotel (the Pandora) to keep our caught fish frozen.

If we go fishing again, very happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get room 26!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We arrived at the Marton around 10.30 am and were swiftly booked in by the receptionist who put our cases in a safe place while we went off to explore the island. We returned early afternoon and were shown to our spacious en-suite bedroom which overlooked the rear garden and was nicely decorated in neutral colours. There was adequate furniture (all in woodgrain) comprising of a wardrobe, chest of drawers, desk with a TV and a bedside cabinet. The beds were very comfortable with lovely co-ordinating bed linen. The bathroom had a bath with shower over, washbasin & WC. There were small hand soaps but no other toiletries. Both bath and hand towels were of good quality and changed during our stay.

The breakfast was very good. To start with one helped themselves to food from the buffet table which comprised of: choice of fruit juices, cereals, muesli, prunes, grapefruit and yogurt. The waitress came and took the orders from the main breakfast menu which comprised of: choice of free range eggs (boiled, fried, poached or scrambled) or mixed grill (bacon, egg, sausage, tomato and baked beans) or kippers or smoked haddock or ham, egg & tomato. All served at your table. This was followed by toast (white or brown) with marmalade and jams plus tea or coffee which was also brought to your table.

Although the Marton Hotel is on a fairly steep hill it is possible to catch the No.11 bus to the top of the hill (Colborne Road stop) and walk down instead of up! This service runs from Fort Grey on the west coast via the airport to St Peter Port and on to Pembroke Bay on the north east coast and visa versa. A single bus journey has recently gone up from £1 to £2 but one can purchase a day rover ticket for £4.50p, a two day ticket for £7.50p or a weekly for £19.00p. There were also family tickets available. Further details can be found on www.buses.gg

The Pandora Hotel (Sister Hotel) is a few hundred metres down the road and one can use their facilities which include drinks from the bar, bar food menu, 3 course evening dinner in the restaurant (£19.50p) and the use of their lovely walled garden which had several tables and chairs and sunbeds.

We thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay at the Marton and would definitely return again in the future. Guernsey is not a cheap place to stay and we felt this hotel was very good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandora Hotel
Pandora Hotel
#14 of 19 in St Peter Port
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marton Hotel

Property: The Marton Hotel
Address: The Marton Private Hotel Les Vardes, St Peter Port GY1 1BH
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Marton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marton Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing