We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian food ever!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Curry Room

The Curry Room
Ranked #57 of 123 Restaurants in St Peter Port
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Curry Room at The Governor's offers authentic Indian cuisine in relaxed and convivial surroundings. Now open lunchtimes and evenings, the restaurant has a unique atmosphere, adorned with pictures and memorabilia of the island's past Governors.All dishes on the Curry Room menu have been created from authentic Indian recipes with influences from every corner of India and our team are ready to welcome you to Guernsey's finest Indian restaurant.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Indian food ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Years ago I used to work in Indian restaurant and I know that Indian food can be a little too much for your stomach sometimes! But at OGH Curry room the food is amazing. Excellent service, great atmosphere, perfectly portioned plates - yummy, yummy, yummy.
Will go back for sure

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maija A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    14
    6
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little hot...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is the second time I've been to the wonderful Curry Room at the OGH. The room itself, which has had a couple of makeovers over the years, is a wonderful, intimate setting and the food is a big step up from the previously somewhat mis-named 'fine dining' restaurant.

The menu is narrow (three choices per course) but is changed frequently. The food is generally exquisite (five out of the six courses yesterday were right out of the top draw).

They offer a wine pairing with the food, which I took up as my dinner guest wasn't drinking. The best advice I ever read about wine and food pairing was that irrespective of matching acidity or body (or whatever else you're supposed to do), the most important thing is to make sure you actually like the wine being served. I wholeheartedly failed to follow this advice and ended up with a Beaujolais with my main course, but can't really blame the restaurant for that. The very slightly off dry Vouvray went well with the starter though and the Sauterne wannabe went well with the dessert. Other pairings were slightly more traditional (e.g. Southern Rhone with Lamb curry etc.)

The pre-dinner drink in the Crown Club was pleasant but scandalously priced (£12 for a mojito). I assume the pricing policy is aimed at weeding out the riff-raff, but I suspect that it will also weed out the non-idiots.

The downside, and it was a biggy, was that it was scorching hot in the restaurant to the extent that one woman spent the entire evening flapping a fan in her face.

Cost of dinner is £30 (or £50 with wine pairings).

Very good waiting staff too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quityourjibberjabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Lovely room Over looking garden great choice on menu. And wine

My favourite Sunday lunch with roast beef and Yorkshire pudds


Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank amdocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Step back in time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

You are guaranteed a treat when you dine in the Governor's Restaurant based within the Old Government House Hotel. The menu choices are excellent and the food is exquisite. Their wine list is extensive so arrive early to allow yourselves time to choose your wines. The staff are extremely attentive and knowledgeable. A real gastronomic delight.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Indian Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Ate at the Governors as staying in the OGH hotel. Had the mixed starters and the Lamb Shank. Really good food and intimate dining room.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tristate99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Curry Room also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
Guernsey, Channel Islands
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to The Curry Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing