We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and Tranquility: Not Always!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Kent,England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility: Not Always!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

Two factors influenced our choosing this Hotel: the photos of the lovely gardens in which the property is set; and its close proximity to St Peter Port. Upon arrival, first impressions of the Hotel were favourable. There is a small tinkling fountain in front of the entrance to Reception, the grounds looked well tended, and there is plenty of Car Parking space. The staff member who booked us in was helpful and smartly turned out, and the Public Rooms upon the ground floor are in good decorative order.
Our room was a Junior Suite overlooking the lake, which boasts an impressive jet fountain. Very restful to listen to upon a warm day: but it is only operational when the Hotel is hosting an event.
Our room and bathroom had been decorated fairly recently, with all mod cons. Flat screen TV, DVD player, Mini Bar/Fridge, and small safe which was free of charge to use. We had two comfortable easy chairs and a table, in front of the Patio Doors.
All grades of accommodation have these doors, and just the doors: there are no windows. Slightly inconvenient if one wants a small breath of fresh air, overnight. Facilities do not extend to in room air conditioning. But that is a minor gripe! What previous reviews have said about the dated bathrooms in standard rooms is correct( we peeked in several as they were being prepared for new arrivals) and the avocado is still very much in evidence!
Our bathroom had a white suite, with Power Shower over the bath, and ample shelf space.
I agree with previous comments regarding the evening meals.
The Victor Hugo a la carte Restaurant is closed until further notice, and guests must eat in Cafe Renoir: and, as its' name suggests, it was not created with the notion of catering for regular evening dining. Situated on the lower ground floor, the windows overlook the Childrens playground and Tennis Courts: hardly a picturesque view. The Set Menu does indeed become repetitive, and we too had to look to the a la Carte towards the end of our 6 night stay.(Supplement applies)
A word or two about the staff in Cafe Renoir:mostly language students, and some more customer orientated than others.
You make your Dinner booking for the next day as you go out, and supposedly pick the table of your choice: but it is not uncommon to turn up and find that you have been bumped off, in favour of another guest. The Restaurant Manager,(described as rude by a previous reviewer,) struck us as an oily individual, who showed favouritism: he fawned over some guests, whilst pointedly ignoring others.The layout of the Health Club isn't exactly ideal: showers close to the pool, but the lockers in another room, down a long corridor.And the Jacuzzi isn't in proper working order. Lovely warm water, but very little bubbles. A local gentleman member of the Club, told us that it had 'lost its' oomph', and had been like that for some time.
The Hotel has many good points, and it is an easy 15 minute drive into St Peter Port. Well situated for touring the rest of the island, and for using the capital as a stepping stone for trips to the islands of Herm and Sark: both to be recommended.
However, the Management's attitude to guests welfare is best illustrated by the note which we found had been pushed under our room door, upon our return from an outing,on our last day.We had left at 11 in the morning, and returned at 4 p.m. This missive advised us that the Hotel was hosting a Wedding Reception that night, and that regrettably some degee of noise would be experienced: until 12-45 am.The music belted out two floors directly beneath us, and was deafening.
We had to get up early next day to catch the Ferry to Poole, with a long drive home at the other end. Had the Hotel informed us earlier of the impending celebrations, we would have had the chance to seek alternative accommodation.
Surely a courtesy, as the Reception had obviously been booked with more than a few hours' notice?

  • Liked — Beautiful view of lake and fountain(When in operation)
  • Disliked — Attitude of Restaurant Manager
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freddie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    260
    90
    25
    16
See reviews for
124
292
25
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2008

Just returned from a four night break at this hotel. It was clean and comfortable but the food left a lot to be desired. We had booked half board at a cost of £20 pp per night. However we wished that we had stayed B&B.

We were given the Half Board menu with just 4 choices per course. We chose what looked to be the best on the menu but the main course was very unappetising. We did not enjoy the meal. The next night we were given the same menu, with the same four choices per course. We chose the fish dish which was very poor.
We complained to the restaurant manager and we were told to select from the A La Carte menu and pay the extra cost!

We then complained to the duty manager about the menu and once again we were told to order from the A La Carte menu at extra cost.
We pointed out that we had never been presented with the same menu day after day at any other hotel in which we stayed and asked for a refund of the remaining two nights meals so that we could eat out. This was refused.
So be advised if you enjoy nice food and want to stay at the hotel
have B&B and eat out.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandJustso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

This hotel is billed as the 'premier hotel' on Guernsey, however I can only assume this is due to the lack of competition! Don't get me wrong, it wasn't awful, its clean, has a lovely pool, fantastic bar and the food was good, but there were too many little things which disappointment me. Firstly, the rooms are a little tatty and the bathrooms desperately need modernisation. Secondly, the layout of the leisure area is all wrong, you have to shower, put on a robe then walk through the reception area to the changing room!

I emailed the hotel the day before our stay to confirm that they had internet access, before I packed my laptop! They confirmed that they did. However, this was unavailable for 4 out of the 5 days I was there. When I asked at reception I was simply told 'it doesn't work for us either, we can't even take bookings'. Not the helpful apology/reassurance of when the problem would be fixed that I would have liked.

My main issue however was the attitude of the staff. They were not rude as such, but all made it quite clear that they couldn't be bothered to help and were at times bordering on being rude, in particular the reception staff. The bar staff however could not have been more helpful and friendly.

If you pay full price for this hotel prepare to be not only disappointed but annoyed at the lack of value for money.

  • Liked — Spa/pool
  • Disliked — Unhelpful staff
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank culfordgrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

Just returned fron 3 night Gourmet Break. This does not deserve 4* rating. It needs modernising and refurbishing although it only opened in 1983. bathroom horrid avocado and old fashioned - not in a nice way shower curtain should've been binned.. Bed cover was torn etc. As we were half board had a seperate menu with only a choice of 4 things per course. Only 1 veg option and only red meat. The menu same every night so you had to go a la carte for something different. on the last night after complaining were offered another veg option and a chicken dish - which had to go back as it was pink. Staff friendly although restaurant manager was not that concerned by our complaint or those from other guests. Spa however was very good and pool was lovely as were the gardens. I wouldn't go back unless it had a major update.

  • Liked — Nice location
  • Disliked — Old fashioned and menu
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozzyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2008

We stayed at St Pierre Park in Guernsey for 4 nights at the beginning of April. The staff couldn't have been more friendly. The restaurant's were immaculate and a pleasure to dine in, the menu's were extensive. The buffet breakfast was outstanding. The room was spotless and there was a clean supply of towels and bed linen every day. The grounds were beautiful and a walk round the lake is a must. We had a room which had a patio door on to a terrace overlooking the children's play area, Sun chairs were also provided. We would recommend this Hotel and certainly have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PeggyluCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

Unusually for me I booked this via a newspaper offer. Have stayed in Guernsey many times in various hotels - all of them very average with the exception of The Clubhouse.
The St Pierre Park certainly exceeded my expectations. It is in a wonderful setting and with a fair wind and flat shoes within walking distance of St Peter Port. The hotel decor is dated but the friendly, relaxed atmosphere soons makes up for this. Check in was very smooth and we were shown to our inter-connecting rooms (2 children with us) both of which were of a good size and very clean (the rooms not the children). Agree that the advocado bathrooms have had their day and the rooms are tierd but comfortable non the less. Breakfast was the buffet kind although room service was available and the food was average hotel fayre with a decent choice. We ate diner in the Cafe Renoir retaurant on one evening and it was very good. The pool and spa facilities were clean and well organised. The thing that really makes this hotel is it's staff and service you often read that "nothing is too much trouble for our guests" when you know really it is but this was genuinely the case here we were made to feel very welcome and valued and the children were always acknowledged. We had a lovely, relaxing few family days on the lovely island of Guernsey.

  • Liked — The size of the rooms and having a balcony
  • Disliked — The advocado bathrooms!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonAnorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

I'd never been to Guernsey before so no expectations at all here. Was impressed on arrival at the hotel, rooms clean and tidy , not a fan of the bathroom colour scheme but that's a moot point really.

Breakfast was standard english buffet breakfast with a decent spread of good quality. I will mention the fact that I ended up with an upset stomach during the middle of my stay, however I will not put this down to any of the food served at the hotel as I ate at other restaurants in the town.

The one evening meal I ate at the hotel was for a party held for the sporting event I was attending - The starters and main courses were fairly average but the desserts were fantastic; the restaurant staff were all friendly and helpful and one waiter was particularly funny whenever he visited our table. On the whole, the party catering was very good.

The pool area was clean, didn't make use of the rest of the spa but did find a moment to hit the driving range - £2 for a bucket of 40 balls seemed reasonable to me.

In terms of value for money, I paid a discounted price for a room negotiated specifically for the sporting event I was taking part in and hence I feel that the hotel offered very good value for the price I paid.

All in all, an enjoyable stay and I hope to return for Easter next year.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Rohais, St Peter Port GY1 1FD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#11 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Pierre Park Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort is dedicated to providing our guests with warm and genuine hospitality. Located in 35 acres of stunning grounds just 1 mile from St Peter Port, it is the one of the most well equipped hotels in Guernsey for business events and conferences. The hotel also offers a variety of dining options, top spa treatments and one of only three golf courses on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Pierre Park
Guernsey Hotel Park Pierre St
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing