We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a noisy experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

When we booked the hotel we specifically asked for a quiet room. We were on the ground floor far left of the reception area. The first 4 days the very loud drilling noises, coming from directly underneath our room, which lasted from mid morning until about 4.30 - 5 pm prevented any chance of my partner and l having a conversation. In fairness the assistant manager did compensate us with a bottle of wine one evening after we complained. The last 2 nights we were kept awake until the early hours by parties who seemed oblivious to the fact that this was a 4 star hotel full of guests trying to sleep !! [ We had received a note from the hotel warning us of this but this did not make the noise any easier to contend with ] We booked dinner at the Pavillion Restaurant one evening. Although this is within the hotel building we were told that this is not run by the Hotel. Despite asking for a quiet table we were taken aback when soon after we were seated the waiter showed a couple with 3 small extremely badly behaved and very noisy children right next to us ! The children were allowed to run in and out of the restaurant screaming, shouting banging into my chair and generally making any chance of my partner and l enjoying our meal impossible. We eventually left the restaurant without finishing our meal. On the plus side the breakfasts were good with plenty of choice. Most of the staff were pleasant, especially the reception staff. The room was large and very clean the bed very comfortable.

Room Tip: Check whether parties are booked for during your visit and maybe a top floor room far left of recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ali h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Breakfast here was my highlight with so many options available.
Rooms we're comfy, however without air con, so we did make use of the patio doors.
Bar has a nice range of board games available to play.
About a 20 minute walk to the main port, but staff will happily arrange taxis for you - bear in mind there is often a wait for your taxi, so book this in advance.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank meryll83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

On the positive side, the room is clean and the breakfast is a great with a wide choice of options.

But, (you sensed it coming didn't you?) the noise? The room temperatures? The bed? At the best part of £150 a night, I did expect more from this hotel and came away very disappointed. As others have said, avoid ground floor rooms. The first room we were given was on the ground floor and the only source of fresh air on an average temp night, was a patio door which opened on to a "terrace" that served about five or six other rooms. We were greeted with a letter apologising in advance for the noise we were going to get that night due to two parties and they weren't exagerating. Nothing quite like the thundering bass on Pharrels song "Happy" at one in the morning... And the smell of your neighbours hAving a fag in the early hours on a hot night, with no fresh air or air conditioning, fabulous... ooh, and those rooms are also near the fag stop for staff so you can have some extra nicotine during the day too. Possibly great if you're a smoker, not so great when you are not.

Sound proofing is not included in the price and we had a week of hearing our neighbours in the bathroom, slamming doors, shouting in the corridor and so it goes on. Fortunately, there is a Waitrose quite close by that must do a roaring trade in ear plugs! So as long as you don't want to actually sleep in this hotel, you may enjoy it.

But, after a grovel and beg with the receptionist, we were eventually moved and in fairness the next room was better. Just. That's to say, our new neighbour wasn't experiencing bowel troubles that we had to listen to and we did have a sort of balcony. The room was clean, the bathroom spotless, and we felt safer leaving the balcony window open at night to aid breathing (always useful I find). But the noise again was LOUD and this time, the mattresses must have been borrowed from the Castle Cornet dungeons. Nowt like a spring poking you in the back when you cannot sleep from the noise of selfish hotel residents.

In summary then, I would like to have seen the rooms which earned the hotel a 4* rating and would recommend this hotel only to smoking heavy sleepers who come with a supply of ear plugs. But, it IS clean and breakfast was one of the best I have had in many hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for the room they give t o the hotel inspectors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lankykatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at St Pierre Park, we stayed for 5 nights and found all members of staff to be helpful and welcoming. The hotel is in a good location for getting around the island. We did walk into St Peters Port - it took us around 30mins but there is a bus stop within a few minutes walk of the hotel with regular buses in the day to St Peters Port and we used this mainly, we also hired a car during our stay which hotel reception helped to arrange. Our rooms were standard rooms on the third floor, extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had the patio doors open at night as it was hot and the rooms had no air conditioning. Breakfast is buffet style with hot and cold choices. We also used the pool and gym and found these facilities to be very good. The grounds of the hotel are spacious and relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A slightly disappointing stay at St Pierre Park given its reputation as one of the best hotels on the island - although it has four stars it feels as though the place could do with a thorough sprucing up. Our room was on the small size with no aircon or fridge. Nice enough balcony however. We were on the third floor and could still clearly hear the noise of the generator outside the groundfloor rooms clearly even with the window closed - I can only assume this would have been fairly distracting for guests on the lower levels.

This is a large hotel and breakfast was a correspondingly busy affair - that said, it didn't seem to be staffed accordingly with orders requiring an age both be taken and delivered, and various items running out on the buffet. In general the staff were a mixed bag - a few were extremely helpful, but a larger number seemed very inexperienced. Checking in and out were annoying protracted affairs.

On the plus side, the hotel is in a lovely setting and sitting on the terrace overlooking the lake was a charming view. The hotel is well located for a 20 minute or so walk into St Peter Port and the residents' bar was decent enough.

Overall this felt like a missed opportunity for what could be a first rate hotel but one that has been overtaken by better options elsewhere on the island.

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms are very close to the electricity generator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pentargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just back from a 3 day stay at this hotel, a member of Hand Picked Hotels Group (my favourite chain!) and absolutely lived up to the standard.

No, these are NOT the top most plush 4* hotels in the world but - they are clean, tidy, superbly run, well appointed, staff absolutely first class and always very friendly and relaxed.

We stayed in one of their Junior Suites (the Jethou) - nice large room and living area with a private sun terrace with rattan loungers, seats and a very nice jacuzzi! Perfect!

One thing worth noting - the price of the food in the bar and room service. TBH I was very surprised at how (for a hotel with this rating) just how reasonable it was! Lots of main courses for around £9-£10 and all nicely done. Breakfast was fantastic - massive selection of just about everything you could want and the lady who was the manager there was very helpful and even remembered our name after one day - nicely done!!! They also do a Sunday buffet (salads, roasts, seafood, cold meats, desert selection etc) for around a bargain £17.95 - if it is anything like their sister hotel on Jersey, L'Horizon, used to do GO THERE as i'm sure it will be brilliant!

The hotel is about 1.5 miles outside St Peter Port (nice and quiet surroundings) - the staff reckon a 20-25 minute walk - suspect this is closer to 45 minutes and up and down hill. BUT take the excellent local bus service - 4 services an hour right through the day and evening to and from town - the bus stop is right outside the hotel entrance - flat rate of £1 per journey no matter if you are going right around the island or just to the next stop!

My only comments which are not really negative but would just add some 'finishing touches' - can you please put some hooks on the back of the bathroom doors and also, a small coffee table in front of the sofas in the suites would be very useful.

All staff friendly and excellent - Anderson and Nicky were very friendly and nothing too much trouble, Tom the Concierge who has been there over 30 years was a fine chap and a font of knowledge about the island and a special thank you to the lovely black haired lady on reception (who had 'trainee' on her badge and whose name I have sadly forgotten) on reception - excellent service throughout, thank you. Thanks too to Euan for ferrying us to the airport following a 'taxi ordering malfunction'!

As always, my acid test - would i stay again - absolutely yes, and will be.

Jerry Baxter

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite for the outside furniture and private Jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Babbamonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Top 4 star hotel just outside St Peter Port very good valve for money. Staff are top notch and very helpful. The only downside is a lower floor room at the back near the lake as there is no air con if you have the patio doors open in hot weather the mozzies make a vist. One of the best breakfast,s ever.

Room Tip: Have a 2nd or 3rd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
880 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
739 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
619 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Rohais, St Peter Port GY1 1FD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#11 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £89 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Pierre Park Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort is dedicated to providing our guests with warm and genuine hospitality. Located in 35 acres of stunning grounds just 1 mile from St Peter Port, it is the one of the most well equipped hotels in Guernsey for business events and conferences. The hotel also offers a variety of dining options, top spa treatments and one of only three golf courses on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Pierre Park
Guernsey Hotel Park Pierre St
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing