We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel shame about the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

What is the point in offering early bird restaurant deals between 6&7 if there are no tables available as they are all booked for 7 and later! At 6.15 the restaurant was empty!!!! Not great for customer service or relations!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have just returned from a superb stay at this hotel. The accommodation was very clean, the breakfasts were very good with a good deal of choice and the leisure facilities were once again excellent.
We ate in the bar one night and the restaurant for another. Both were very good.
The reception staff were very helpful and the bed was extremely comfortable.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaidstoneWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel lovely grounds rooms are great, beds the best I ever slept in.

Breakfast has everything you need, with waiter service for tea and coffee.

Would come back again for a longer stay.

Bus is just outside £1 a trip or taxi around £7...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Emmett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Arrived here late in the evening, very tired after a number of flights the same day. Reception were very courteous as was the concierge. I checked in and all appeared to go smoothly. My room was lovely. Huge bed, tea coffee facilities, hairdryer, water both still and sparkling in the room as well as the usual bathroom supplies. Found the room to be very comfortable and there was also a balcony that you could stand out on. This was a bit dangerous as there was a step down off the bedroom floor onto the balcony. I went to the bar for some food. It was very nice and service was very good. I paid and went to my room. I found the hotel quiet. Next morning I had breakfast which was a bit hap hazard. To find the butter it was in another area. It was difficult to know was it self service or not as I was not told this when I went in despite waiting to be seated. Tables were quite near to each other. It was a basic buffet breakfast nothing spectacular. I was disappointed with the breakfast as I thought with the price etc it would be a fresh cooked breakfast. I checked out and left again reception were very nice to deal with.

I guess the second issue I have is that I hadn't realised that I was on a dinner bed and breakfast package and was charged accordingly. Reception had not said and perhaps with all my flying that day it completely escaped me. Therefore I paid for a dinner in the bar that actually I could have had in the restaurant which was included on my rate so Im out of pocket.T trying to contact the hotel since has been impossible and there does not appear to be an email address either for it. I know on one hand I am saying that reception were very good but on another side they neglected to mention anything about dinner.

Definitely a mixed experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank holiday066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

When we booked the hotel we specifically asked for a quiet room. We were on the ground floor far left of the reception area. The first 4 days the very loud drilling noises, coming from directly underneath our room, which lasted from mid morning until about 4.30 - 5 pm prevented any chance of my partner and l having a conversation. In fairness the assistant manager did compensate us with a bottle of wine one evening after we complained. The last 2 nights we were kept awake until the early hours by parties who seemed oblivious to the fact that this was a 4 star hotel full of guests trying to sleep !! [ We had received a note from the hotel warning us of this but this did not make the noise any easier to contend with ] We booked dinner at the Pavillion Restaurant one evening. Although this is within the hotel building we were told that this is not run by the Hotel. Despite asking for a quiet table we were taken aback when soon after we were seated the waiter showed a couple with 3 small extremely badly behaved and very noisy children right next to us ! The children were allowed to run in and out of the restaurant screaming, shouting banging into my chair and generally making any chance of my partner and l enjoying our meal impossible. We eventually left the restaurant without finishing our meal. On the plus side the breakfasts were good with plenty of choice. Most of the staff were pleasant, especially the reception staff. The room was large and very clean the bed very comfortable.

Room Tip: Check whether parties are booked for during your visit and maybe a top floor room far left of recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ali h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Breakfast here was my highlight with so many options available.
Rooms we're comfy, however without air con, so we did make use of the patio doors.
Bar has a nice range of board games available to play.
About a 20 minute walk to the main port, but staff will happily arrange taxis for you - bear in mind there is often a wait for your taxi, so book this in advance.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank meryll83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

On the positive side, the room is clean and the breakfast is a great with a wide choice of options.

But, (you sensed it coming didn't you?) the noise? The room temperatures? The bed? At the best part of £150 a night, I did expect more from this hotel and came away very disappointed. As others have said, avoid ground floor rooms. The first room we were given was on the ground floor and the only source of fresh air on an average temp night, was a patio door which opened on to a "terrace" that served about five or six other rooms. We were greeted with a letter apologising in advance for the noise we were going to get that night due to two parties and they weren't exagerating. Nothing quite like the thundering bass on Pharrels song "Happy" at one in the morning... And the smell of your neighbours hAving a fag in the early hours on a hot night, with no fresh air or air conditioning, fabulous... ooh, and those rooms are also near the fag stop for staff so you can have some extra nicotine during the day too. Possibly great if you're a smoker, not so great when you are not.

Sound proofing is not included in the price and we had a week of hearing our neighbours in the bathroom, slamming doors, shouting in the corridor and so it goes on. Fortunately, there is a Waitrose quite close by that must do a roaring trade in ear plugs! So as long as you don't want to actually sleep in this hotel, you may enjoy it.

But, after a grovel and beg with the receptionist, we were eventually moved and in fairness the next room was better. Just. That's to say, our new neighbour wasn't experiencing bowel troubles that we had to listen to and we did have a sort of balcony. The room was clean, the bathroom spotless, and we felt safer leaving the balcony window open at night to aid breathing (always useful I find). But the noise again was LOUD and this time, the mattresses must have been borrowed from the Castle Cornet dungeons. Nowt like a spring poking you in the back when you cannot sleep from the noise of selfish hotel residents.

In summary then, I would like to have seen the rooms which earned the hotel a 4* rating and would recommend this hotel only to smoking heavy sleepers who come with a supply of ear plugs. But, it IS clean and breakfast was one of the best I have had in many hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for the room they give t o the hotel inspectors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lankykatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
855 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
747 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
571 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Farmhouse Hotel
The Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Saint Saviour
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Rohais, St Peter Port GY1 1FD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#11 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £88 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Pierre Park Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort is dedicated to providing our guests with warm and genuine hospitality. Located in 35 acres of stunning grounds just 1 mile from St Peter Port, it is the one of the most well equipped hotels in Guernsey for business events and conferences. The hotel also offers a variety of dining options, top spa treatments and one of only three golf courses on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Pierre Park
Guernsey Hotel Park Pierre St
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing