We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shame about the Restaurant”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Generally, the Hotel was very good, we asked for a quiet room, and after getting used to the Air Conditioning Unit outside, its wasn't too bad, although we had to keep the balcony door shut or it would have been too noisy!. Long walk into town, and even longer back, as the first part is a very steep hill! Beakfast was very good, with plenty of choice. We ate once in the Restaurant on the Early Bird Deal and with the discount it was a reasonable price, with very nice food. The second time we ate there, there must have been a different chef.. The starter was 3 very small scallops ( The previous time we had 4 large scallops ) and the main course was and extremely small and dry piece of pork, 3 new potatoes and about half a dozen green beans. We decided not to try the desert! Very very disappointing and expensive...Didn't eat there again- most guests must have known, as both times the restaurant was practically empty!
However, the Hotel itself was fine, rooms good, beds very comfortable, grounds very quiet, staff generally friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supersue1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    277
    97
    25
    17
See reviews for
130
312
26
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We have recently returned from Guernsey, the Hotel itself is on the outskirts of St Peter Port, definately not walking distance, even for the fit and able.

Unfortunately it is right on a very busy road and we were unlucky to be allocated a room right next to the road, which for us was extremely noisy. One of the reasons we choose this hotel was becasue it was not in the centre of St Peter Port where we thought it would be noisy.

On Arrival - we were dealt with efficiently, but not with any warmth. In fact the whole time we were there - we didn't feel particularly welcome.

The bar staff were always extremely courteous, but again, not particularly engaging.

We ate in the hotel one evening at the bar, which was OK, but the tables are to low for comfortable eating.

Our room - although noisy was very nice, very clean and well kept.

Overall - would we go back - possibly not, having stayed in Jersey at the Pomme D'or, where the staff were amazing and extremely welcoming, we now feel very let down by our experience here.

Room Tip: Not near the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed in the Alderney suite for one night for my birthday and loved it. We didn't really leave the room as we obviously specifically came for what the suite had to offer, more specifically the garden and jacuzzi. The staff who brought our (numerous) room service orders were really friendly and professional. The room was very comfortably kitted out. I think the decor is a tad out of date though and it was a little weird for me to see that there weren't really any toiletry supplies (there was a note saying we should contact reception for this). I also didn't think the food was great (both dinner and breakfast). However, the overall experience of our night in the suite was fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SA-Girl-Gsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walenstadt, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

What is the point in offering early bird restaurant deals between 6&7 if there are no tables available as they are all booked for 7 and later! At 6.15 the restaurant was empty!!!! Not great for customer service or relations!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have just returned from a superb stay at this hotel. The accommodation was very clean, the breakfasts were very good with a good deal of choice and the leisure facilities were once again excellent.
We ate in the bar one night and the restaurant for another. Both were very good.
The reception staff were very helpful and the bed was extremely comfortable.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidstoneWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel lovely grounds rooms are great, beds the best I ever slept in.

Breakfast has everything you need, with waiter service for tea and coffee.

Would come back again for a longer stay.

Bus is just outside £1 a trip or taxi around £7...

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emmett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Arrived here late in the evening, very tired after a number of flights the same day. Reception were very courteous as was the concierge. I checked in and all appeared to go smoothly. My room was lovely. Huge bed, tea coffee facilities, hairdryer, water both still and sparkling in the room as well as the usual bathroom supplies. Found the room to be very comfortable and there was also a balcony that you could stand out on. This was a bit dangerous as there was a step down off the bedroom floor onto the balcony. I went to the bar for some food. It was very nice and service was very good. I paid and went to my room. I found the hotel quiet. Next morning I had breakfast which was a bit hap hazard. To find the butter it was in another area. It was difficult to know was it self service or not as I was not told this when I went in despite waiting to be seated. Tables were quite near to each other. It was a basic buffet breakfast nothing spectacular. I was disappointed with the breakfast as I thought with the price etc it would be a fresh cooked breakfast. I checked out and left again reception were very nice to deal with.

I guess the second issue I have is that I hadn't realised that I was on a dinner bed and breakfast package and was charged accordingly. Reception had not said and perhaps with all my flying that day it completely escaped me. Therefore I paid for a dinner in the bar that actually I could have had in the restaurant which was included on my rate so Im out of pocket.T trying to contact the hotel since has been impossible and there does not appear to be an email address either for it. I know on one hand I am saying that reception were very good but on another side they neglected to mention anything about dinner.

Definitely a mixed experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holiday066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
1.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
843 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Rohais, St Peter Port GY1 1FD
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#10 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#11 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Pierre Park Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort is dedicated to providing our guests with warm and genuine hospitality. Located in 35 acres of stunning grounds just 1 mile from St Peter Port, it is the one of the most well equipped hotels in Guernsey for business events and conferences. The hotel also offers a variety of dining options, top spa treatments and one of only three golf courses on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Pierre Park
Guernsey Hotel Park Pierre St
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing