We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We booked this hotel due to its central location. I would guess it's actually the most centrally located of all the hotels in St Peter Port. It's a lovely old building, circa 1760 and very traditional decor inside. Very welcoming feel to it. Our bedroom was a twin (never get doubles in hotels as they are all standard 4'6" and we can't sleep in a matchbox). The bedroom was great. An iron and ironing board - WHY can't more hotels provide this? It's so useful. Lots of storage, and a full length mirror - hoorah! Again, so useful and so rarely found. The hairdryer was in the bedroom next to the mirror where it should be and not in the bathroom as one so often finds. The bathroom had a cabinet where you could PUT things - again, a rarity. Another of my hotel irritations is no hook behind the bathroom door - no problem here - the hook was there. This must all have been designed by a woman. Full marks.

We ate at the Conservatory Restaurant on the first night as they had a special offer on a seafood dinner. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is also a carvery in the Library Bar on Sundays which is excellent value. The breakfast is also very good with a full choice of continental and cooked.

We were only in Guernsey for 3 days on a mini break and this hotel was perfect for us. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lousally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    160
    42
    12
    10
See reviews for
55
209
52
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

I was pleasantly surprised when my mother and I checked in to the Moores Hotel in Guernsey. It is situated only feet from the front street that runs along the harbour. This was convenient in catching ferries to other islands, taking the bus to other parts of the island, and shopping along the pedestrian high street. The hotel itself has excellent restaurants, pub, and health club. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. The hotel staff bent over backwards in helping us locate attractions and helping us with such things as the free in-room internet service......I'll definitely stay here again on my next visit. If you visit, sign up in advance for their free 3 hour tour of the island - excellent guide and overview of the whole island......Also, if you are there on the weekend, request a room in the back if you go to bed early since the hotel is situated on a pedestrian walkthrough.....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfnsand2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss Kiwi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

The hotel is in a fabulous location, right in the middle of St Peter Port. Staff service was also very good. Sadly however, the family room that we booked was in desperate need of a makeover. While it is a decent size (one double bed and one single) the bathroom door had a hole in it and the laminate on the floor was warped and turning up. The heat adjuster on the shower was dangerously difficult to turn down (not great for kids). We were also rather surprised to find a hotel that still had sheets/blankets/beadspreads rather than duvets. Come on Moores, this is 2011 and frankly unwashed blankets and bedspreads are disgusting.

The family rooms are located away from the main building and it may be that the rooms in the main part are fine.

The restaurant on the first floor has just been renovated, but it still appears rather old fashioned. The pub downstairs was very cosy though and the food was decent pub fare (including a carvery).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissKiwiThalwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Ideally located in the heart of St. Peter Port, I have to say I had a pleasant stay here. Staff was most helpful, first to check me in, then provide a couple numbers I could call for a car rental, where I was luckily able to find an automatic at the last minute from Avis.

For its price, the room itself was spacious enough (standard I would say), and I was happy that they would wash my clothes within 24 hours when the regular turn-around time is 48 hours. Of course, I had to pay an express 50% surcharge fee, but overall the service was top-notch, with staff available around the clock (ring at door late at night when it's past 12-1AM).

Breakfast was exceptionally good, I was happy to savour a real continental breakfast again (warm food like eggs, beans, sausages) when for the last 2 weeks in France their idea of continental breakfast is restricted to cold food. The eggs were particularly good, something about them which stood out from all the eggs I ate before, very creamy. On a sidenote, the Guernsey butter is absolutely delicious :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank somadjinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel could be (and in the opinion of several previous reviewers already is) one of the best hotels to stay in Guernsey. Centrally situated in easy walking distance of restaurants, shops and town centre amenities should be a big plus - but for the same reason we were unable to sleep well, even with the windows closed, due to revellers in the street outside until well into the early hours.

Our room was an excellent size with comfortable double bed and tea making facilities, but both bedroom and bathroom, although very clean, could do with a makeover. Wifi was free and excellent throughout the hotel, and restaurant food and service, both at breakfast and in the evening was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foodieflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

As the name implies, this hotel is very central - an ideal location. The shops, busses and ferries are all nearby.
My wife and I stayed in a 'Class A' room which is more spacious than a standard room and also has air conditioning.
We also opted for half board which proved to be an excellent decision - all the meals were first class.
The staff were very smartly dressed, friendly and informative, and the service was faultless.
Our beds were very comfortable, much better than many other hotel beds in which we have tried to sleep!
The rooms at the front of the hotel are not as peaceful than the rear bedrooms at weekends because of the boisterous pub-goers, so take ear plugs!
Twice a week the hotel offers free guided tours of the island in it's own mini bus - very interesting (and fun).
Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we can happily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room on the 3rd floor in the summer unless it has air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aljen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

This hotel must be one of the most convenient in Guernsey; it really is centrally placed in St Peter Port, so that one rarely feels the need for a car. An easy walk to the bus station and even shorter to the ferries to the other islands.
We tried to book a table in the town at a Michelin recommended restaurant at very short notice - and they were fully booked. On asking for their alternative recommendation, they suggested Moores Hotel - so we went back and dined splendidly.

Room Tip: Front rooms have some view, rear ones very little
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StanOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Piette Hotel
La Piette Hotel
#11 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
Address: Le Pollet, St Peter Port GY1 1WH
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#8 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Stone Mansion, former residence of Lord de Saumarez, located in central part of town near the harbor & 5 mi to airport. The Best Western Moores Central Hotel enjoys an enviable position in the heart of picturesque St. Peter Port, Guernsey's capital, close to the colorful seafront as well as the financial and business centers. You will find the bedrooms, including three suites, all well-appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing