We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

First Impressions.
The Hotel enjoys an ideal position in the center of St. Peter Port, making it ideally located for a stay in the town. This hotel is only minutes from the picturesque marina and seafront and is ideally situated for some retail therapy or a visit to one of the many delightful restaurants in St. Peter Port.

The Rooms, Facilities.
The rooms are basic and compact but they are clean and equipped with all the basics you would expect such as a TV and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel also has a small health suite with jacuzzi, sauna and a fitness suite. The Conservatory Restaurant is very popular and the authentic Austrian Patisserie which creates and serves the finest cakes.
Staff & Service.
The majority of staff were polite and helpful throughout my stay.
Overall.
This is a well-established Hotel in the town center. It is a little basic, however, it does have all the facilities you require for a short stay on the island and in the town of St Peter’s Port. It is ideally situated and close to the port if you arrive by ferry.
Hotel - 5/10
Service- 6/10
The Food- 6/10
Value for Money - 8 /10.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehungrybutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear the hungrybutcher

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review following your recent stay here at Moores Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to experience the various facilities and amenities the hotel has to offer.

We continue apace with our on-going bedroom refurbishment, together with planned improvements to our food and beverage outlets and pride ourselves on being able to offer value for money food and accommodation in an ideal location in the heart of St Peter Port.

We very much hope to have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

For Moores Hotel

Mrs Karel Harris
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    170
    48
    13
    11
See reviews for
66
239
54
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

had the most excellent dinning experience on new years eve in the conservatory restaurant first class 5 course menu well cooked and presented by efficient and friendly staff and the overnight accomodation was also excellent. have had many meals here in the past all first class and would recomend moores to any body looking foe an excellent night out and good value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hah8joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear hah8joe

Thank you taking the time and trouble to post a review. We are very glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable evening on New Year's Eve and have passed your comments on to all the staff concerned, and particularly Chef.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Moores very soon.

Mrs Karel Harris
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

must thank Steven Purtil and all the staff for a really good Christmas we had with them.
Their hard work in making us welcome and comfortable is very enjoyable and much appreciated.
Would certainly visit Moores again.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at rear of Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Thank you for an excellent xmas break we just in your hotel.
The food was excellent & all your staff could not do enough for us.
We will be telling all our friends what a terrifc stay we have had.
Thank you once again,
PENNY & JOHN HAYES

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNNY38GRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Had Christmas lunch in Library Bar, efficient staff, good food at a excellent price. Our usual lunch venues were all fully booked, and managed to squeeze into here and much surprised, very good, would certainly go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyWorldWhitstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Dear MyworldWhitstable
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas meal in the Library Bar. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us to improve our service, and its lovely also for our staff to know they are doing well. We hope you will come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Checked out 'trip advisor' first to see what others had experienced, which seemed mixed.
Stayed at Moores Hotel from Friday to Monday, ALL the staff from the person on the front desk to the cleaning staff where always very polite and most helpful. The room was comfortable with TV, coffee and tea facilities, fridge, lovely bathroom with everything you require, with towels and coffee,milk and tea replaced every day. Sunday Carvery in the Library bar was fantastic (noticed a lot of locals go for Sunday Lunch). Thank you Moores for a fantastic weekend!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Dear Sandra J
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that all the staff looked after you well. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at this lovely hotel in perfect location. Over the years, I have probably stayed here some 7 or 8 times, though I only go over to Guernsey every few years. I recommend paying a little extra for a suite, but overall this hotel is really good value. Ignore the other silly remarks about decor and out of date rooms, and accept that is only a 3 star hotel - 3 going 4 in my opinion. As for parking, there is a 10 Hour car park by the Harbour, only a short walk away, and a pass for an extra hour and a half in the mornings is available from reception. Food in the Library Bar is excellent, as is the kitchen staff. Breakfast is also good. The only negative / warning I have, is to beware of the Italian lady who serves in the Rendezvous Bar - £2.40 for a pint of blackcurrant, made with tap water!! and she seemed proud of it. Other than this, drinks are reasonably priced, as is the food.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
644 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
505 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Moores Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Moores Central Hotel

Property: Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Address: Le Pollet, St Peter Port GY1 1WH
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#8 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Moores Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Stone Mansion, former residence of Lord de Saumarez, located in central part of town near the harbor & 5 mi to airport. The Best Western Moores Central Hotel enjoys an enviable position in the heart of picturesque St. Peter Port, Guernsey's capital, close to the colorful seafront as well as the financial and business centers. You will find the bedrooms, including three suites, all well-appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Moores Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Moores Central Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing