We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just spent 7 nights at Moores and could not fault it. Location is superb but note there is no parking but then the bus terminus is less than 10 mins walk and buses go all over the island. Harbour is 2 to 3 mins walk. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, always had time to talk to you and made you feel they cared. Food was good but felt pricy however looking round St. Peter Port was no higher than elsewhere. Look out for earlybird meals which can be good at cheaper prices. Another plus at Moores was hotel wide wi fi, performance of this improved dramatically after a visit by IT engineer midway through our stay.. definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, General Manager at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Peter V

Thank you for your comprehensive review following your recent stay with us and for all of its kind comments therein which are much appreciated.

I am particularly pleased to learn that you not only found the very central location of the hotel so convenient, but that it was also complemented by our hospitality and good food. I am also be able to advise you that we are continuing to upgrade the wi-fi at the hotel, now that the redecoration of much of the public areas is finished.

I hope that we shall have the pleasure and privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the not too distant future and in the meantime, would thank you for your valued custom to date.

Assuring you of my best attention at all times.

For Moores Hotel
Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    167
    44
    13
    10
See reviews for
62
230
53
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This was my third visit to this fabulous hotel. I have been twice before with my mum, and this time my husband and I visited. I was welcomed back by staff that remembered me which was lovely. The hotel is well situated and I can't fault it. We did eat out some nights, just to sample some local restaurants, and also ate at the hotel. The food is fabulous, delicious, and very good value. Two or three courses with coffee and home made cookie. Three courses is about £20.00. The menu changes daily. Breakfasts are varied, continental, full english and some specials.
There were some very noisy party goers across the street on the Friday night. Weekends can be a bit noisy I gather if you are at the front of the hotel. Having said that I wouldn't stay anywhere else, I love the place.

Room Tip: We had room 315, a larger room with fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val9401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, General Manager at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Val9401

Thank you for your comprehensive review following your third visit to the hotel and once again for all of its kind comments therein, they are much appreciated by us all. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us again and I am so glad that you all enjoyed yourselves so much.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back for your fourth visit in the not too distant future and in the meantime I would thank you for your valued custom to date and assure you of my best attention at all times.

For Moores Hotel
Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed in the Moores hotel for a couple of days on business. Very comfortable stay, good food in the bar and breakfast. The location was exceptionally good, right in the centre of town, close to the harbour, shops ande restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, General Manager at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Nick H

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review following your recent stay with us and for all of its kind comments therein. You seemed to have summed up very concisely what we aspire to offer here at Moores and I am so glad that everything was to your liking.

I hope we shall have the pleasure and privilege of welcoming you to Moores again the near future and in the meantime I would thank you for your valued custom to date and assure you of my best attention at all times.

For Moores Hotel
Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We used our Tesco Vouchers to have a short break on Guernsey and found Moores Central a very welcoming hotel. Arriving at the airport before 8am could ppresent problems with the check-in, but the staff were so helpful. Room 104 was in the annex and very spacious. ( I do think the hotel should invest in some Nespresso coffee machines though).
We did eat in the Conservatory the first night as the menu looked good value. The food was okay but didn't have the 'X' Factor. Other evenings we tried the Library Bar on a busy night which did a great rib-eye steak, though it was a long wait between starter and main. Another night we had their carvery - great beef but nil points for soggy beans and unadventurous vegetables.
Breakfast was fine with a choice of a mild kipper, and decent bacon and sausages.
All staff were so welcoming and helpful.
Awful internet connection.
We always take our own pillows. The room was rather warm from the bathroom heater which we asked to be adjusted but still remained hot. A bit of noise outside but not excessive.
A good stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, General Manager at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear lambrays

Thank you for taking the time to write your comprehensive review following your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you found most things to your liking and in particular, that the staff were helpful and hospitable. I shall, however, investigate the situation with the wi-fi immediately and will relay on your comments about the food to kitchen.

In the meantime, I would thank you for your valued custom to date and assure you of my best attention at all times.

For Moores Hotel
Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed for two weeks at the De Havelet Hotel where the food was excellent, so we thought we would go the Conservatory for our last evening meal. We were given bread at the start of our meal, but only one small slice. At the De Havelet they keep coming until you say no! We had Twice Cooked Belly pork, which was fatty and had absolutely no crispness at all. I left quite a lot of it. The sweet was forgettable. When we paid, we felt it was not a patch on the De Havelet with none of its personal charm. We were asked if we had enjoyed our meal and were honest in our reply. The waiter/ man who took our card just said, "Oh sorry!" What is the point of asking, if nothing is done to address the complaint???? Will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Milly00

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was very sorry to read that your meal in the Conservatory was a disappointment particularly when you were so happy with the restaurant at our sister hotel, De Havelet. We will take your points on board concerning the bread, and also work with our restaurant brigade to ensure they know how to deal with situations such as yours.

I hope you will return to Guernsey, and when you do please give us another opportunity to look after you.

Yours sincerely
Karel Harris
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here last year for a couple of nights and although our stay was good and the food excellent the decor was looking very tired....but not any more!! The hotel has had a makeover with new carpets and wall coverings giving it a very nice fresh clean look. The food was as good as ever no complaints we will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, General Manager at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear ramblerWales

Thank you for your review following your recent repeat stay with us and for all of its kind comments therein. It was particularly pleasing to read that you had noticed the improvements we have made to the public areas décor and carpets since your previous visit last year, whilst still maintaining the excellent standard of food you so enjoyed.

I hope we shall have the pleasure and privilege of welcoming you back again in the not distant future and in the meantime, I would thank you for your valued custom to date and assure you of my best attention at all times.

For Moores Hotel
Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I have stayed at this wonderful hotel a couple of nights in March. If anyone wants to spend time in a hotel in Guernsey, I recommend Best Western Moores Central Hotel.
An excellent location right in the centre of town and just a couple of minutes walk from the bus terminus . We were made to feel so welcome by the cheerful smiles of every single member of staff.
Great food, great everything. Lovely experience !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardHowardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, General Manager at Best Western Moores Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear RichardHowardson

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us and for all of its kind words which are much appreciated.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am glad you found the very central location of the hotel to be convenient and that the staff were welcoming and hospitable and that you enjoyed the food, indeed the whole experience of your visit to Guernsey and Moores.

We hope to have the pleasure and privilege of welcoming you both back again in the not too distant future.

In the meantime, I would thank you for your valued custom to date and assure you of my best attention at all times.

For Moores Hotel
Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Rocquettes
Les Rocquettes
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Fregate Hotel
La Fregate Hotel
#9 of 19 in St Peter Port
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Moores Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Moores Central Hotel

Property: Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Address: Le Pollet, St Peter Port GY1 1WH
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#8 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Moores Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Stone Mansion, former residence of Lord de Saumarez, located in central part of town near the harbor & 5 mi to airport. The Best Western Moores Central Hotel enjoys an enviable position in the heart of picturesque St. Peter Port, Guernsey's capital, close to the colorful seafront as well as the financial and business centers. You will find the bedrooms, including three suites, all well-appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Moores Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Peter Port
St Peter Port Best Western
Best Western Moores Central Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing