We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel if not a bit tired looking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Stayed on business and hotel is fine for a night or 2. Its location is around a 15 min walk up hill from the centre of St Peter Port. The hotel has obviosuly been around for some time and it does feel that way inside. There is a nice bar but rooms are tired looking although were clean and had all the facilities that you might need. Staff were friendly and breakfast was ok

Not best hotel around but certainly not worst.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seveGuernsey, Owner at La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Reviews are always an interesting thing, especially when one is dealing with a business client. Whilst we are very keen to receive reviews, sometimes I wonder if the guest sending it takes into account the whole picture......the hotel corporate rate for December is just £55.00 per night and that includes a good Full English Breakfast. Business clients may also, perhaps forget, we are in the middle of a global financial crisis and whilst it may not be affecting the finance industry in Guernsey, hotels are having to cope with massive increases in costs - eg 29% increase in electricity in the last 3 years! That said, all the bedrooms at La Collinette are being refurbished this winter, as cash flow allows. Sadly, we don't have the resources of a big, cash rich company behind us and who would borrow money at a time like this! Our staff are the jewel in our crown and we look forwards to the New Year feeling happy with our efforts to please in the year past, but resolute we will be doing even better in 2013!........ Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was a last minute booking and we didn't know what to expect, except from the reviews on Trip Advisor which were all quite average. When we arrived on Guernsey, the Clubhouse was known to the harbour staff and they showed us a route to the Hotel through all the nightmares of the one way system around St. Peters Port.

On arrival we were greeted pleasantly at the reception and shown to our two bedroom apartment. Expecting a rather drab flat we were stunned by this beautiful apartment with it's own Lounge, Kitchen and Terrace, all clean and lovingly maintained to a high standard. To match the standard of the rooms we were first treated to Breakfast which was simple but delicious with a full cooked English at a reasonable price. Dinner followed, which was well cooked and tasty and served by the main event which was Cyril our Host. Cyril was generous and funny and made a pleasant stay into a sensational break.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seveGuernsey, Owner at La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. The staff all try hard to make sure our guests have a good time. Sometimes people expect 3 star hotels to be 4/5 star but at half the price! The team will be very pleased to read your review and you are so right about Cyril. He really is a star and I'm a very lucky guy to have him running the hotel for me. Next time you are coming to "the rock", please let us know and we will be sure to look after you again! Thank you. Andrew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed for 4 days in the hotel with my son and we had a brilliant time. Cyril , and all his staff made us very welcome . Big thank you to Veronica , Elza and Agnes especially . The food in the hotel is really good and well priced , with the restaurant and bar nicely decorated to create a nice relaxed atmosphere, especially the bar area where you can have good banter with the locals. Would deffinetly recommend this hotel and will be staying here again .Great value for money

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seveGuernsey, Owner at La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thank you for your review which we appreciate very much. Having some locals in the bar at the hotel can be a double edged sword sometimes, as occasionally guests can find them a little intimidating. Clearly, you didn't and it just goes to show that they are are good bunch if you get to know them! I have passed your kind words on to the staff. Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back to La Collinette with your son soon! Best wishes, Andrew Chambers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed for a week in 'luxury' apartments. Photos on website give a very more upmarket impression than reality.

Overall property Location is good, walk from st peter port is up hill - wouldn't suit elderly but we had no issues with two children 3 and 6.

Apartment is a very good size and didn't feel cramped at all. Lounge and dining area had quality furniture in keeping with luxury claim. Oddly this was all carpeted which was an odd choice for eating area - a hard flooring surface would be more hygienic but perhaps noise is the concern.

Kitchen was a throwback to early 90s when built but was never luxury but was basic and clean.

Bedrooms had tatty curtains needing new hangers and melamine furniture both dated and damaged . Both these units and carpets need refurbishment.

Lastly our master bed had a strong and unpleasant musty smell. I'd guess the room wasn't heated in the winter but might have other cause. All the windows were open on arrival which I suspect indicated management were aware. We put airfreshers in the room all day but this didn't mask it and was unpleasant to sleep in. We had unpacked and it appeared other units were occupied in peak season so didn't ask to move.

Pool area was poor - tiles missing from the walls, a short slide but with a crack at the bottom on which someone will eventually injure themselves - looked like a bit of fiberglass patching had been tried in the past. Needs to spend some money and just replace it. There was algae growing on the walls of the pool - rub this with a finger and it broke up so not a lot of cleaning going on. Pool was used by a dive school on several of the days we stayed which would be annoying if that coincided with your own plans to use it.

Hotel interior looks smart but only saw for checking/out.

There is WiFi in the hotel but not the apartments - would be easily addressed with a plug in repeater as the signal reached half the rooms from the hotel.

No hairdryer provided which was annoying - every hotel has these. Available to hire but seems like nickle and diming.

The wartime bunkers open Thurs an sat pm and are worth a visit for a fascinating piece of history.

Overall has potential but needs a but more aggressive program of maintenance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordGadget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seveGuernsey, Owner at La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Response to LORD GADGET......naturally, we are very sorry to hear that you stayed and suffered for an entire week in our self catering apartment without telling us that you had a problem. It is always a shame when guests don't tell us they are unhappy and, I really wonder why someone of your obvious intelligence would "suffer in silence" for such a long time, especially when the hotel and reception is so close at hand. Furthermore, there are always staff around going in and out of the self catering apartments cleaning and changing linen - they changed yours after 3 nights of your stay - so it is a real shame you didn't tell someone how unhappy you were. We state on many occasions in our welcome info....." It's your holiday, so PLEASE tell us if you are unhappy or have a problem".
We have night storage heaters in every bedroom and 2 in the lounges. Your accommodation has been continuously occupied since the 5th of February and the heating is totally at the disposal of guests to utilise as they require and it's FREE of charge. There has been no mystery smell in the double bedroom of your accommodation before or since your reservation, so it's a complete mystery to us. We provide hair dryers in the hotel but not in self catering. Most ladies I know always bring their favourite hair dryer with them! But we have had too many stolen from self catering, so we state in the Welcome info, "Guests can borrow one FREE from reception". We do NOT hire out hair dryers as you have stated.
Wifi is FREE in the hotel and you can use the Internet through the phone provided in the self catering accommodation. This is pointed out in our Welcome Info. As you quite correctly point out the FREE wifi does reach some parts of the apartments as well, although we do not advertise that fact.
Donkey Divers used the pool twice for about 2 hours during your stay - about 20 minutes in the water. Most guests actually find what they are doing very interesting and in fact, from time to time, Steve has actually given interested guests "a little go" for themselves, which is of course exciting for someone who hasn't tried sub aqua before. But we are very sorry if your felt inconvenienced by this.
So Lord Gadget, we have failed you and your family and I am very sorry about that. We all hope very much that the next holiday you have is an enjoyable one. BUT,if there is a problem, please tell your hosts about it rather than "suffering in silence".
Proprietors hate it when guests tell them of a problem AFTER they have left, or as you have done, post it for the world to see on Tripadvisor. It's very frustrating, as you may well have been writing to say how marvellously helpful and kind my staff are and that they bent over backwards to make your holiday a pleasant, enjoyable and memorable occasion. They really are a lovely team and I'm very lucky to have them....they read all our reviews and feel a little hurt by the lack of feedback from you during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We went to St Peter Port for a concert and had an excellent weekend at this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

All the staff- especially Anna - were very helpful and friendly and we would stay here again.
The food was very good and we all enjoyed what we had.

The only down side is that it is at the top of a hill but the taxi fare is very reasonable and I think there is a bus that stops nearby.,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wicked81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seveGuernsey, Owner at La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review. Anna was especially pleased that you mentioned her in person but, I should say that all our staff were very pleased to hear your review, especially at such a busy time of year as it gives them all a little boost - just when needed! With reference to the hill....there's not much I can do about that! But it does mean the hotel is a lot quieter at night time than the ones in town and, as you say, there is a great taxi and bus service in Guernsey which is very inexpensive. The walk to the town and picturesque St Peter Port harbour, through beautiful Candie Garden, past Victor Hugo' s monument is lovely at any time of the year. The flowers and views are great and the Guernsey Museum is fascinating. Talking about the view, views across Guernsey to the north and west coasts from the first floor bedrooms are pretty good too! So location wise, I think we will stay put and not try to move the hotel furher east just yet!! Thanks again, we hope to meet you again soon and best wishes from Anna and all the staff at La Collinette Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We had a great stay in the self catering apartments which are part of the hotel in the hotel grounds. The apartment was very well equipped & well proportioned. The cleanliness of the apartment was a key feature. A small balcony faced west and over looked the gardens, play area and pool. The pool was an enormous hit with the children, again very clean although a little work is over due on the patio area around the pool. Towels and bedding were changed by the maids half way through the week. Cleaners were available every day if requested.

The location of the hotel and apartments is excellent just 15 mins walk down hill to the centre of St. Peter Port. There is a Waitrose supermarket within 5 mins drive so very easy to self cater. Also there is a corner shop 2 mins walk way which stocked everything you could want. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. Overall all an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Flat 7 on the first floor in the self catering block has a view towards the pool and away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BathKaren10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seveGuernsey, Owner at La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Thank you for your review of the self-catering at La Collinette Hotel. We appreciate your kind words and hope very much we can be of service to you and your family again in the future. If you wish to make a reservation before the end of 2012, you will be quoted the same price as you paid this year. Our staff are always told about reviews whether negative or positive so we can learn from our guests. I can assure you, all the staff are very grateful to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Very much appreciated, thank you and hope to see you and your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Arrived at the hotel at 10pm and night and checked in with colleague. The receptionist mixed up our rooms but this wasn't really a problem. Room was large and clean. Shower was really awkward with a curved arch in it and a window with only a net curtain so that anyone outside could clearly see me showering! The telephone message light was flashing so I checked with reception and you have to deactivate the message feature before it stops... and that is just silly! Breakfast was ok with a good choice of hot and cold food... but a cooked breakfast took over 15 minutes to arrive...and there were only 8 people in the restaurant at the time. On checking out, the hotel advised me that they didn't take Amex. Nothing really wrong with the hotel but lots of "little" things that made the stay not a good one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seveGuernsey, Owner at La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Thank you very much for your review which of course is very disappointing to us,as we feel it may be that you got off to an unfortunate start when first, one of your colleagues was a "no show" and we had to ask what had happened to him. Furthermore, with regard to the mix up of your bedroom with your colleague, I understand from my receptionist that she actually pointed this out to you, before you went to your bedrooms, so you could both have resolved the matter, if you'd wanted to. With the regard to the bathroom, it has, what some would say, is a rather pleasant corner bath with a large shower incorporated over it. The window to which you refer has heavily frosted glass in it and most definitely, no one can see through it. The telephone system is an Alcatel Advanced Reflexes Sytem, which the manufacturer has sold in millions all over the world. The system merely requires that the guest initialises the voicemail system, so messages can be individually left automatically on your voicemail, if you happen to be away from your bedroom when a call comes in for you. This is a service we provide at no charge and it is most often appreciated by guests. With reference to Amex, I am very sorry to say that we do not accept this card, nor do we advertise that we do. The majority of hotels I am aware of, do not take Amex either and the reason for this is because it is so expensive for a merchant, as we are called, to service Amex. Extra, additional costs would have to be passed on to the client and as such we try very hard to avoid additional, unnecessary charges for our guests. As we prefer not to offer a cooked breakfast buffet, we prepare all the meals freshly to order and would agree this takes a little more time than an "all you can eat style" breakfast buffet, which is sadly rather commonplace in today's world. I would repeat, on behalf of Anna who checked you in and all of the staff at La Collinette, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and would ask that perhaps, the next time you come to Guernsey, whether you are travelling alone or with your partner, you give us the opportunity to be of service to you again. We will provide you with excellent accommodation and also, ensure that you receive extremely good value for money for your stay. If there is anything further we can do, please just contact us and let us know as we really do want you to have pleasant memories of La Collinette Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
885 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
695 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grange Lodge Hotel
Grange Lodge Hotel
#12 of 19 in St Peter Port
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages

Address: St. Jacques, St Peter Port, Guernsey, St Peter Port GY1 1SN (Formerly The Clubhouse @ La Collinette)
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £93 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Collinette Hotel, Cottages and Apartments is located in St Peter Port, just a short walk through colourful Candie Gardens, to the seafront and shops . Open throughout the year, La Collinette Hotel is truly your home from home in Guernsey, whether on business or on holiday. The hotel is modern, civilised and above all, extremely comfortable. Highly recommended, the warmest of welcomes awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhouse St Peter Port
Clubhouse Hotel St Peter Port
La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing