We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, what a holiday should be about” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great stay, what a holiday should be about”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

Some very interesting reviews on this hotel, with a mixture of results. It seems the issues can be split between self catering and hotel.

Both myself and my family (2/2) like a quiet relaxing holiday, in clean, quiet, effecient surroundings. Thats exactly what we got. We booked a self catering cottage away from the swimming pool.

As stated elsewhere the staff gave us the keys, showed us to the door and away we went. No problems, no fuss, friendly effecient service. The apartment was spotless. Everything worked a treat (apart from the DVD player).
Kids play area nearby with small swings, etc. Hardly used, again very convenient and within sight of the cottage.

Swimming pool very clean. When we stayed it was fairly busy but by no means excessive. Again very relaxing. The jacuzzi was a nice touch.

Didn't try the the food, but seems ok by the other reports.

Regrets: Yes...wish we had booked 2 weeks instead of 1!!

Tips
A/ Bring your own DVD player if you can.
B/ Bring some field games. the hotel is 5 minutes walk from a perfect park and sports centre. Great for frisby etc.
C/Good shoes so you can walk into town (20 mins, all down hill)
D/Catch the bus back up!!!
E/The pool has a slide but it does need to be covered in water before you use it. It can smart a bit if the kids slide on dry plastic. Take a bucket to help cover it.
F/Go to Lacresse beach (North of Island). Gorgeous beach, Very child friendly, very shallow run into sea.
G/ Go to Vazon bay, sit on the stepped bay wall and take a disposable BBQ. Check out the German underground hospital as well.
H/Theres usually something going on in the island.Check out the tourist information for events etc before you book.

Hope this helps

  • Liked — Cleanliness and relaxing location
  • Disliked — DVD player not working.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWootten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    45
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
44
19
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK in the middle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

Holiday was just ok. Staff were polite but lacked any conversation; girl showed us to our Cottage and effectively said 'there it is'! Gym - most stuff was broken. Beds - the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on - all four of us had back ache after 3 days! Couldn't help but feel that this hotel / apartment was all about money. £4 ($8) to borrow a DVD, you have to be kidding. Sky news on TV but no Ch5. And rest were pretty ghosty. The cottage was clean. But don't cross Andrew the owner - especially if you are Doctor. His welcome booklet takes a sideswipe at the medical profession who mis-diagnosed his mothers illness. Sad I know, but in a hotel welcome book? I think not. Wouldn't stay again unfortunately.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — bed
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NativeNewYorker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

I have just stayed here for a couple of nights on business. My room was clean and comfortable and the staff (mainly Latvian!) were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were very tasty and they also have a good bar. I did not eat in the hotel as I was being entertained but the other residents told me the Kashmara restaurant is very good. There is also a lovely outdoor pool.

My only small gripe is that the water pressure is not very good for someone who likes a shower. Apart from that this is a very pleasant hotel, but be aware that it is a 20 minute walk into town and the hills are quite steep.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank andyjansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2008

I will base this review on what I believe is the very inaccurate description presented on the hotel's website:

"high quality pillows and sheets" - these were actually some of the worst I have ever encountered, and made the bed very uncomfortable

"satellite tv" - not in my room. I could get the four terrestrial channels, and at least one of those had a far from clear picture

"complimentary apples" - again, not in my room

"dvd" - yes, but very old and wouldn't play any DVDs I took with me. The DVD rental library is expensive and dated

"good sized baths and 'proper' showers" - had the water pressure been any lower I would have been attempting to shower in a mist

Moving around the upper floors is also so noisy that you are unlikely to experience any peace in your room if there are any other guests.

The only redeeming features are the very friendly restaurant and bar staff, and very tasty a la carte. I would prefer to return to a room in a different hotel afterwards though.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AetherUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2008

I think we stayed in the same room as ksmith38a - as I was about to write an identical review! Stayed in the hotel for 4 nights over Easter...and ok, every room in the hotel is differently decorated...however the carpet in our room was like a front door mat, so my wife found even walking around in socks to be uncomfortable! Some of the rooms towards the back also looked small...ALL of the staff are from Eastern Europe and are friendly, although create some language barriers. The restaurant and bar is very nice - Moroccan themed - although the menu is now a traditional British menu which was also disappointing after the hotel website suggested differently. The breakfasts though were very good, and they provide a children's food menu (if you warn them at least 24 hours in advance).

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The room - drafty, cold, uncomfortable bed, industrial carpet
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

I absolutely love this hotel, and I am currently writing this review from my hotel room at La Collinette.

It is not the world's most modern place, but it is comfortable and clean. I stay here regularly, and the staff go out of their way to be helpful. For example, when I arrive after room service has finished, the receptionist will always make me something to eat, last time I got a pile of toast and cheese and jam, and it was so welcome.

The wifi access isn't perfect but it's there at least, the speed could be a bit better, but when away from home you have to work with what you have. There are dvd players in every room, which, for a low room rate, is fabby. It's usually the highest rated hotels that provide these. The swap library is a great idea.

I love the homely touches in this hotel, and the helpfulness of the staff, and I can't rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pauliejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2008

I stay in Guernsey a lot on business. This is one of the better hotels at a very good price.

The rooms are homely rather than luxurious. The bathroom is basic and the shower annoying (old fashioned run the bath then pull the switch and hope the water temperature remains the same)

The breakfast is very good. Staff are super friendly.

An easy stroll to town.

Good cheerful hotel with a nice bar.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank cornish007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grange Lodge Hotel
Grange Lodge Hotel
#12 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages

Property: La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages
Address: St. Jacques, St Peter Port, Guernsey, St Peter Port GY1 1SN (Formerly The Clubhouse @ La Collinette)
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Collinette Hotel, Cottages and Apartments is located in St Peter Port, just a short walk through colourful Candie Gardens, to the seafront and shops . Open throughout the year, La Collinette Hotel is truly your home from home in Guernsey, whether on business or on holiday. The hotel is modern, civilised and above all, extremely comfortable. Highly recommended, the warmest of welcomes awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhouse St Peter Port
Clubhouse Hotel St Peter Port
La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing