We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame about the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shame about the restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

We spent 5 nights here. Our room was exceptionally nice: large, recently decorated and refurbished and with a good sized double bed. Everything was spotless. The downstairs lounge area behind reception was smart and spacious. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. What a shame the restaurant lets the place down. The food did not come up to the standard or 'promise' stated on the hotel's website. The omelette I had the first night was like rubber and the accompanying salad consisted of a lot of lettuce with a tiny amount of grated carrot and cucumber. We decided to give it a go another night. Hubby's soup was good, but the moussaka ...... not a sign of aubergine, just a bowl of flavoured mince. Do they need a better chef? We won't return. Looked at the Duke of Richmond Hotel around the corner. Seems much better value and Trip Advisor reviews come up trumps, especially concerning their restaurant. If you're planning to eat in town, do give Moore's Hotel a go - superb 3 course meal for £16.95. Also Christie's (we went there twice) - more expensive, but excellent and imaginative food and amazing staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddyCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    45
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
44
19
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire - England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

This review relates the their appartments

Situation – La Collinett is situated in a quiet residential area about ten minutes walk from the centre of St Peter Port. (Others have stated that it is further which it is if you walk the way that you have to drive along the one way system but if you simply turn left out of the property and walk through Candy Gardens it is a very pleasant ten minute stroll).

Apartments – There are about eight apartments six of which overlook the swimming pool and two of which are round a corner and overlook their own small lawn. I have now stayed here twice separated by three years and on each occasion the apartment was immaculately presented and spotlessly clean. They are simply (now luxuriously) furnished with most if not all of the furnishings, pictures etc coming from Ikea. The bathroom was spacious with a good powerful shower over the bath and lots of decent quality white towels. Each apartment has an allocated parking space and there is a central facility with a washing machine & dryer and outside washing lines.

Bar / Restaurant – While I have never actually used these they seem to be very well presented and busy which I always take as a good sign!

Gym / Pool – The pool is nice but looks a little dated. The one big let down is the Gym in that this is simply a room with a few pieces of gym equipment in it and is rather like hotel gyms were twenty years ago. The place is though only just round the corner from Guernsey’s main Sport Centre which has an excellent well equipped Gym. This can be used at a cost of £5.80 per time, with none locals not having to show any membership of a gym back home. They simply check that you are a gym users and then ask you to sign a disclaimer form.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonrwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,032 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 594 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

As someone who came to the island to visit the military museums i was pleased to find that this hotel has no less than 2 bunkers in the garden one of which is a museum.Whilst i had a pleasant stay at this hotel it is not one to which i would return.If you dont have a car then it is a 20 minute walk into town and a much longer and very tiring walk back particularly up the very steep hills.
The accomodation itself was clean and comfortable.The bed was very soft.The tv did not work and the stairs and floors are a bit creaky so you can hear everyone moving about.Breakfast is satisfactory.The evening meals didnt look inspiring,Lasagne and Chips etc.I think that with a place such as Guernsey it is all about picking exactly the right place for you.This for me was not as i have said,ideal

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey c.i
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

just stayed at the club@la collinette,staff were brilliant especially jesse,the rooms were comfortable my only disappointment were the showers, which all of my party of twelve said were very poor and unsafe as there was no thermostatic control on them and the pressure was poor.
the bar was brilliant but could have stayed open a bit later especially as there was still quite a few residents still drinking.
otherwise as a whole I would certainly recomend the hotel to my friends but hope they take note of my coments

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

We returned to Guernsey and The Clubhouse, La Collinette on the 8th December for 3 nights and once again felt immediately "at home".

The staff were, as always charming, helpful and very efficient. The hotel was warm and comfortable and as usual, there wasn't anything to do for us that was too much for Cyril, Veronika or any of the staff.

Once again a lovely stay in a lovely hotel! We shall return!

Alex

  • Liked — Exceptional service and comfortable homely feel.
  • Disliked — Nothing, I could not fault the Clubhouse in any way.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexPartingtonSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

We have stayed at La Collinette Hotel for the past 7 years in a self catering cottage on the complex. The cottage is always cleaned to a high standard and maintained like that throughout the stay. The Hotel has undergone lots of refurbishments over the last couple of years and this seems to be on-going. The staff (especially Veronia & Cyril) have always been very friendly, efficient and helpful. Looking forward to next years holiday!!!!

  • Liked — Efficient staff
  • Disliked — cold swimming pool
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LodoEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

Some very interesting reviews on this hotel, with a mixture of results. It seems the issues can be split between self catering and hotel.

Both myself and my family (2/2) like a quiet relaxing holiday, in clean, quiet, effecient surroundings. Thats exactly what we got. We booked a self catering cottage away from the swimming pool.

As stated elsewhere the staff gave us the keys, showed us to the door and away we went. No problems, no fuss, friendly effecient service. The apartment was spotless. Everything worked a treat (apart from the DVD player).
Kids play area nearby with small swings, etc. Hardly used, again very convenient and within sight of the cottage.

Swimming pool very clean. When we stayed it was fairly busy but by no means excessive. Again very relaxing. The jacuzzi was a nice touch.

Didn't try the the food, but seems ok by the other reports.

Regrets: Yes...wish we had booked 2 weeks instead of 1!!

Tips
A/ Bring your own DVD player if you can.
B/ Bring some field games. the hotel is 5 minutes walk from a perfect park and sports centre. Great for frisby etc.
C/Good shoes so you can walk into town (20 mins, all down hill)
D/Catch the bus back up!!!
E/The pool has a slide but it does need to be covered in water before you use it. It can smart a bit if the kids slide on dry plastic. Take a bucket to help cover it.
F/Go to Lacresse beach (North of Island). Gorgeous beach, Very child friendly, very shallow run into sea.
G/ Go to Vazon bay, sit on the stepped bay wall and take a disposable BBQ. Check out the German underground hospital as well.
H/Theres usually something going on in the island.Check out the tourist information for events etc before you book.

Hope this helps

  • Liked — Cleanliness and relaxing location
  • Disliked — DVD player not working.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWootten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grange Lodge Hotel
Grange Lodge Hotel
#12 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages

Property: La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages
Address: St. Jacques, St Peter Port, Guernsey, St Peter Port GY1 1SN (Formerly The Clubhouse @ La Collinette)
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#11 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Collinette Hotel, Cottages and Apartments is located in St Peter Port, just a short walk through colourful Candie Gardens, to the seafront and shops . Open throughout the year, La Collinette Hotel is truly your home from home in Guernsey, whether on business or on holiday. The hotel is modern, civilised and above all, extremely comfortable. Highly recommended, the warmest of welcomes awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhouse St Peter Port
Clubhouse Hotel St Peter Port
La Collinette Hotel Apartments & Cottages Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing