We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Reservation !!”
Review of Les Rocquettes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Les Rocquettes
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire - England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One Reservation !!”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I visited this hotel for a week in June 2013 with my wife and we stayed in one of their two self-catering apartments.

The hotel is situated in a pleasant residential area on the very outskirts of St Peter Port. It has plenty of car parking, all the public areas are well presented and while I did not eat there both the restaurant and bar area always seemed fully of residents and locals (which I would always take to be a good sign) with the food looking delicious.

The hotel has a small pool and gym and while this only has a small free weights area and about 15 pieces of equipment this was all quality equipment (e.g. concept rowers) and the place never seemed to get fully. You also got a large clean towel every time you used the place.

There always seemed to be plenty of staff around and they seemed to be universally helpful, as an example I wanted to print out my boarding pass and while there was no public computer to do this on the staff of the front desk were only to please to assist!

In relation to the self-catering apartment with was spacious, clean, had plentiful hot water and had more towels than you could ever use.

BUT I HAVE ONE RESERVATION about the place that might stop me from going there again, in that the APARTMENT was VERY DATED and seemed completely out of character with the rest of the hotel. It was actually quite a let down after checking in and seeing how nice the hotel looked to approach the apartment and go in. This was also not helped as it is reached by an outside staircase that is round the back of the hotel and the rear of any hotel does not look beautiful!

I cannot comment on what the hotel rooms are like but would hope they are better than the apartment. I would want to check this if I was ever to stay in one of them.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonrwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    138
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
80
177
30
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed at Les Rocquettes Hotel for one night on a business trip to Guernsey as I needed to be close to St' Peter Port. Found it to be a very good choice. Room was lovely and VERY clean!!! The whole hotel is in an excellent condition to be honest. ALL the staff I had dealings with, were wonderful. Made very good use of the Gym, Spa, Pool/Jacuzzi area. Parking was free. Breakfast and supper was excellent. No sea views, but as I was not there for the beach, it didn't bother me. When compared to other similar 3 star hotels, it was approx £10 more, but this is justified by the extras that are on offered here...

Room Tip: Take along your swimming gear as indoor pool is excellent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

A superb family owned hotel set back from the road in pleasant landscaped grounds, We had a superior double room on the first floor of the newly built wing with a balcony overlooking the gardens. Stunning indoor pool with sauna and steam room and small gym.
Excellent choice of menu every evening for dinner during our 8 day break in Guernsey. Favourite mouth watering dishes served included Fillet of beef, and Fresh Crab which provided much fun in the restaurant as the crab comes whole in the shell with tools provided to get to the meat a task our German guests found difficult.
The pleasant walk from the hotel to St Peter Port takes 20 minutes downhill but longer coming back, The hotel provides complementary bus to town each morning and the local bus service has a stop outside the hotel. Bedroom spotlessly clean, trouser press and fridge included and little noise at night ensuring good nights sleep.
All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful and gave speedy and efficient service.
Service in the restaurant got a little slower later in the week with the kitchen working overtime on other functions being held within the hotel.
There is no entertainment provided in the evening although the Oak Bar was lively and busy.
this suited us as after a busy day exploring the islands it was relaxing to quietly spent evenings with a pint of ale and a good book.
All in all a relaxing and enjoyable week spent on this tranquil isle.

Room Tip: Worth the extra to book a room in the new block with a balcony facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vuepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed during the bank holiday weekend. We had booked 3 rooms and were given all facing the garden which was lovely. Breakfast was all we could ask for and we had ordered room service on one of the nights which was excellent. The service here is 5 star. Surprised its just a 3 star hotel. Would definitely sty again.

Room Tip: Ask for garden facing room. The view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soumya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have just spent three nights half board at this superb hotel. We had a balcony room, large and very well furnished. The bathroom and facilities are among some of the best we have encountered in many years. A lovely calm restaurant with very good choice and service, the dinners were extremely well presented and the food excellent. We found the staff most helpful at all levels. There is a large indoor pool and saunas etc.. for guests' use with towels provided and plenty of places to sit and relax. There is a beautiful wooden open staircase leading to the bedrooms and this is enhanced by a pool of water and small fountains playing. On the landings were large settees and chairs for having a rest and there are plenty of magazines and books around. Really, there is nothing we could find that was disappointing to us and we would like to return. Jean and John Ruddy, Dronfield.

Room Tip: We recommend the balcony rooms. The balconies themselves are quite large with ample space to move ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruddy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Rooms were nice and clean. Disappointed with the food at the hotel, 3 out 5 meals came out cold, when sent back the food came back very quickly and still not hot and was also tough. Very disappointing as the food for the attached Oak pub is normally excellent. Health sweet was not cleaned thoroughly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M4S_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Les Rocquettes, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear M4S-13

I was sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed with the meals served to you at Les Rocquettes, and can only apologise. As you quite rightly say the food at the hotel and in the Oak is generally highly praised and the hotel is a very popular choice for islanders eating out. I was also surprised to read your comments that the Health Suite was not thoughly cleaned. The pool and gym are normally sparkling and the changing areas are cleaned and checked regularly too. We restrict the number of Health Club members so that the hotel guests can always avail themselves of the facilities but perhaps whilst you were staying there were many guests and members using the Health Suite and the changing rooms etc then became untidy.

I hope this will not deter you from returning to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely
Karel Harris
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Stayed here on business - Presentable, attractive Hotel with slightly limited parking. Staff very helpful, bar food and restaurant food an acceptable standard but dated, rooms cosy and reasonably well kept. The Hotel though, seems to try and appeal to all people and maybe as a business destination I wasn't too disgruntled but I couldn't help thinking how my family would have reacted if we'd booked this hotel for a holiday break. The first night, a Monday there was a folk singer in the bar and even with the doors shut, her wailing through a magic box that made her sound like several wailing women was unfortunately audible in the far reaches of the empty restaurant where we took refuge from her singing. No escape!! The second night was pub quiz night so the bar unlike Monday was packed making it even more hotel resident unfriendly The music in the restaurant that night suited me - Jazz but irritated my companion. Again no escape from the noise of the pub quiz as it mingled with the background jazz in the restaurant. The third night we'd had enough and walked down the hill into St Peter Port. The bar showed constant football on a couple of large televisions which appears to suit 95% of blokes but not their wives (or me)! Somehow Rocquettes fails to charm and falls short of its potential by trying to appeal to everyone. I wouldn't use Rocquettes as a holiday hotel and for that matter wouldn't use it again for business, looking for something altogether more restful and relaxing - a hotel more like a hotel and not a sports bar pub!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold_Worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Les Rocquettes, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Harold_Worth
I was pleased to see from your review that you found the hotel presentable, and the rooms cosy and the food reasonably to your liking. I am sorry to see that your stay was spoiled by the music and the quiz which were held in the bar and function room. As it happens, the young lady singer whose vocals did not appeal to you, is the daughter of some long standing hotel guests and she performs in the UK fronting a band and as a soloist. Although her performance was not to your taste as a result of her singing that evening she was invited to perform at next year's Sark Folk Festival. That was a one off performance - very occasionally we host Jazz or Acoustic bands and generally they are popular with our hotel guests as well as our local customers. With regard to the pub quiz we run these for 6 weeks on one evening a week in the winter into spring. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the football but as you quite rightly say it pleases many of the gentlemen in the bar, and many of our business guests are pleased to dine in a bar that buzzes with life and atmosphere. There are many quiet corners at Les Rocquettes - the Mulberry lounge where you can enjoy a quiet drink or coffee and the spacious Atrium which links the old and new wing. Perhaps on a future stay in Guernsey you might like to try our sister hotel, Best Western Hotel de Havelet which has a choice of two good restaurants and a charming old world bar.
Sincerely yours
Karel Harris
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Rocquettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Rocquettes

Property: Les Rocquettes
Address: Les Rocquettes Hotel Les Gravees, St Peter Port
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#9 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Rocquettes 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Les Rocquettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Rocquettes Hotel St Peter Port
Les Rocquettes St Peter Port
Les Rocquettes Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing