We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice traditional hotel”
Review of Les Rocquettes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Les Rocquettes
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice traditional hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a very pleasant traditional hotel with clean and comfortable rooms, helpful and friendly staff and great breakfast. Could possibly do with a little updating but still very acceptable. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Les Rocquettes, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Joanne d

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. We will pass your kind remarks on to our staff. We are planning to continue upgrading some of our public areas and more of our bedrooms and bathrooms this winter, so we hope you will return and stay with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Karel Harris
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    138
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
80
177
30
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

First of all I would like to praise the hotel for its food ,service , and friendliness .We always try to be objective when we stay at any hotel ,be it at home or abroad, however like 68AR we also had a room overlooking the car park ,staying on Friday and Saturday night .Well here goes the downhill slope , during that weekend it was hot and muggy ,no fans in the room everyone staying were perspiring , a lot , a wedding reception was held and the noise was terrible , with no consideration for the hotel guests, , other young guests staying at the hotel , seemed not to know how to behave as on Sunday morning at 4am there was shouting and screaming from one of the rooms , The bar is open to all but could the hotel please ask whoever is leaving late at night to keep the noise down , We are not killjoys and the hotel is not cheap , so as a matter of course some consideration to the guests wouldn't go unnoticed .Having said this we enjoyed our stay and Gurnsey is full of history , We unfortunately will not stay here again .

Room Tip: Superior rooms on far side of car park may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Les Rocquettes, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear MarilynSouth

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very sorry to see that your stay was marred by the noise from the wedding party. The downside of this spell of wonderful weather is that people are congregating outside. We will certainly look into ensuring we have some fans in the rooms facing the function room and also do our best to minimise the noise from these guests.

Thank you for your kind words concerning the staff and the food.

We hope you may give us an opportunity to look after you on a future visit.

Yours sincerely
Karel Harris
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a super hotel.My wife and I with two friends stayed here for 7 days and found a very friendly reception.The staff are efficient and pleasant,always bright and ready to have a joke and were always jovial.In fact it's the staff that makes this hotel so special.In addition the food is great and the rooms are clean and spacious .

Room Tip: Take an Executive room with garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brilorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Les Rocquettes, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Brilorn

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are delighted that you and your friends had a great stay, and will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Les Rocquettes in the future.

Yours sincerely
Karel Harris
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Comfortable hotel although a slightly dated decor (people with mobility difficulties or elderly would find the shower over the bath a bit awkward to get in and out - a grab rail would be helpful). Staff very friendly and helpful, and food is good. A little busy outside as situated on a main road. The road into the town centre is fine going in (downhill) but coming back out of town it is a steady climb. Sadly, don't rely on the hotel group's courtesy mini bus stopping to pick you up in town - it sailed straight past us and another waiting couple, even though we stuck our hands out and were positioned where reception staff at sister hotel Moores in town said we should wait at the Liberation memorial. Other than the mini bus we can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: room at the back may be a little quieter in terms of road traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garfield847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Les Rocquettes, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Garfield847

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We were very pleased to see that on the whole you very much enjoyed your stay, and thank you for the helpful comments regarding the grab rail.

We are very sorry that the courtesy bus "whizzed past you" - we will check to see that our staff did not give the wrong directions for you to wait.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Les Rocquettes in the future.

Yours sincerely
Karel Harris
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have just stayed at this hotel and was given a superior room which was very large and comfortable. There was a well stocked tea tray and free wifi. There is an ironing board in the room but for some reason no iron as that has to be requested from reception... It then sat in my room for 3 days so it does seem a bit odd as to why they aren't in the room in the first place.

My room overlooked the car park and the hotel bar and every night is has been very noisy. I stayed from Tuesday to Thursday night so it wasn't even the weekend and there weren't any particular events at the hotel. I have hardly slept. On one night people were still in the car park and being loud at 3am. I am not a killjoy but PLEASE think about your residents in the hotel and try to limit the noise at a reasonable hour!

The food at the hotel was very good and the ingredients were excellent which was reflected in the taste.

The staff (most of them) were friendly and helpful but one or two could do with some help in that area.

All in all a good hotel but I'm afraid that I wouldn't stay here by choice again as the noise is just too much to bear, especially when you have to work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Les Rocquettes, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear 68AR

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very sorry to see that your stay was marred by noise outside, and we are looking at how we can minimise this and avoid disturbing our hotel residents.

We hope you may consider returning, and giving us another opportunity to look after you.

Yours sincerely
Karel Harris
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We are currently staying at this hotel , when we arrived we were allocated room 316, this room over looks a roof ! I asked if we could stay in a different room, the reception staff could not have been more helpful and up graded our room. Much better room so thank you. However when we arrived we found out there was a scooter weekend on, at this point we had no idea of the impact of this, since our arrival 36 hrs ago the place has been full of scooters, this meant limited parking for cars but that's okay. The noise both nights so far as been like a rawdy bar in magaluf, when I look from my balcony right now I can see about 30 drinkers all stood in the car park. We can't believe this is the image this hotel really intended, it feels intimating to sit down in the bar area. We don't know if this normal but our advice is ask at time of booking what events they have on. Hotel is okay but the evenings so far have been grim and we still have an evening to go

Room Tip: Ask to go into the updated part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Les Rocquettes, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Fredchloe

I am sorry to read from your review that you were disturbed by the "Scooter gathering". We do hold functions at the hotel, although not every day and with the fine weather those who smoke do tend to stand outside and chat. An area of the car park was reserved for the scooter display, but we do have additional car parking at the rear of the hotel so hopefully this did not present a problem. The hotel was almost full, otherwise our staff would have been able to allocate you a garden facing room.

I do hope you managed to enjoy your final day with us.

Yours sincerely
Karel Harris
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The staff of the hotel are eager to accommodate special requests from guests. When we arrived we discovered that our room faced out towards the bar entrance, (this would not have been a problem other than the fact that my husband is a light sleeper, and due to recent ill health, retires to bed early.) When we requested a room move the staff were very understanding and moved us the following morning to a room overlooking the garden. The location of the hotel is about 15-20 minutes walk to the centre of St Peter Port, and has a frequent bus service which stops outside the hotel. The Staff are attentive and cheerful , Alexandra (from Madeira) as Mike (from Bulgaria) both deserve special mention for their cheerful personalities.
We will be back !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aufwiedersehen93, Owner at Les Rocquettes, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Fiona C

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am very glad to see that our team looked after you, and were able to move you to a quieter room. We will be sure to pass on your kind remarks.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Les Rocquettes in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Karel Harris
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Rocquettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Rocquettes

Property: Les Rocquettes
Address: Les Rocquettes Hotel Les Gravees, St Peter Port
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#9 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Rocquettes 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Les Rocquettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Rocquettes Hotel St Peter Port
Les Rocquettes St Peter Port
Les Rocquettes Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing