We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Les Rocquettes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Rocquettes
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Great service, friendly, helpful. Nice rooms, plenty of space. Food excellent. Buffet breakfast and dinner with lots of choice. Lovely swimming pool with spa, sauna and gym. The large hill is compensated for by the free bus into town, although bus fares are very cheap so no problem.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerrimanLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
There are newer reviews for Les Rocquettes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2009

We had a great stay this summer on the idyllic island of Guernsey. Because we are with young children, I booked an appartment in this hotel so I could use their facilities with the added bonus of freedom and having a living room to stay in while the kids were in bed.
Unfortunately, their appartments (both of them) are right above the bar, which plays loud music from noon till midnight. Our evenings, which were supposed to be quiet and relaxing, ended up being stressful with the constant bass-sound underneath.
We were forced to go to bed at midnight (having young children, I quite like to go to bed earlier!) simply because the noise prevented us to sleep.
There is also a large outside sitting area right outside the front door of the appartments, which would be lovely to sit on, if the fumes of their kitchen wouldn't pollute the air (we're talking big time dark smelling fumes of burnt meat from early morning till late evening).

On the positive side: the reception girls are lovely and helpful. Their indoor swimming pool is great on a rainy day and the hotel looks really nice and clean, though their fitness room equipment looks very tired and old and in desperate need of maintenance.
The hotel rooms opposite our place looked really nice and we wished we had booked a normal hotel room there.
We had all the stuff we needed in the kitchen for everything we wished for, including a washer-dryer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights, quiet comfortable hotel. As a single lady travelling on business I also felt very safe in the hotel environment. Good choice at breakfast and bar meals good. Good location to walk into town etc. i would definately return

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I liked Les Rocquettes very much - I have stayed there several times & 2 things stand out - Magdalene, the delightful receptionist, and the chef's 'Guernsey tomato soup' - if you ask nicely he may even let you have some when it is not on the menu. The standard rooms are too basic for the price, but the rooms in the new block are very nice. Service in the dining room is a little on the formal side - but let's not hold this against the very nice staff. If you want a more informal atmosphere with fewer 'suits' try Le Chalet at Fermain Bay.

Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
2  Thank daveychadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Room was clean and basic, staff were friendly and helpful, though rushed off their feet! Breakfast buffet very good, and also bar food in the Oak bar. Didn't try the a la carte menu in the restaurant as a little fussy for our taste.
Slight down point is the long walk down to town, and uphill walk back! Taxi back from the harbour cost about £4, buses run fairly regularly until 6pm.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jools_Glos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Have been in Guernsey just for one night for work. Booked the trip through Condor breaks and this hotel was their recommendation. Ate in the bar and the portions were enormous. REally lovely freshly cooked food, the chef was more than hapy to do me a half portion salad as a starter, well priced and good atmosphere. Breakfast in teh morning was buffet style and served in main restuarant, good choice. The pool is excellent and the Gym well equipped. Staff are extremely polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Only 10 minute walk into St Peter Port. Only slight criticism is that teh bedroom was really hot amd there isnt any individual room thermostats but this complaint wasnt even worth mentioning just being extremly fussy !!! Especially liked free wifi throughout the hotel as this is a big bug bear in large chain hotels when they charge for this. Good choice of tea and coffee facilities in the room. Room was a good size overlooking garden with a balcony. Good value and would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Stayed here for one night. Extremely good value. Comfortable room, fantastic breakfast and very helpful staff. Ate in the bar in the evening - good atmosphere and quick service. No complaints. Especially liked the free newspapers and bus back into town in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SopsChannelIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
814 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
872 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.6 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Rocquettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Rocquettes

Address: Les Rocquettes Hotel Les Gravees, St Peter Port
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#5 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#9 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £87 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Rocquettes 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Les Rocquettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Rocquettes Hotel St Peter Port
Les Rocquettes St Peter Port
Les Rocquettes Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing