We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

What a wonderful place. First impressions were a bit of the 'wow' factor but we soon settled in.
The staff are absolutely amazing and the food was to die for ! Nice informal atmsophere and the staff were so friendly. The hotel refurbishment is wonderful. As frequent visitors to Guernsey we will certainly be returning with a few friends to this lovely hotel as soon as we can. Great location and fabulous cocktails ! Well done.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caztal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Caztal

Thank you for your review of yesterday and for all of its kind comments therein, they have been relayed on to the management and staff of the hotel and were much appreciated.

It was a pleasure to meet you have you stay with us and we are always particularly enjoy welcoming back visitors from the “other island” as we understand their need to occasionally get away from it and look forward to seeing you again soon.

If we can ever be of service to you again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

With kind regards

Stephen Purtill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

We usually only holiday at informal 3* hotels that have good Trip Advisor reviews for cleanliness and comfort. When we arrived at this hotel, we were met by the concierge who whisked our cases away and gave us a guided tour of the hotel facilities, showed us to our room and delivered our cases a few minutes later. Seems that the hotel has only just reopened after a major refit and is now upgraded to a rather nice/superior 4*. Not only that, the new owners, Red Carnation, own a small number of hotels around the world many of which I have heard of by their excellent upmarket reputation. At first, we found this a bit overpowering and daunting – we like to sloth out when we take our holiday breaks - but we soon relaxed into the ambience of this rather good hotel.

The hotel is situated near Candie Gardens and the Guernsey Museum and Art Gallery in a mainly residential area and an easy stroll down to the Port area. It is a bit of a stiff walk uphill back to the hotel and will not be that easy for anyone with mobility problems. For the business traveller, the hotel is a short walk to the main business areas. There were a number of business travellers at the hotel as well as holiday guests.

The standard of decor in the public areas is outstanding and that includes the new terrace and pool areas which we were assured are sun traps although the weather did not allow us to test these facilities.

I suspect that refurbishment of the rooms is ongoing although we were not disturbed by any noise. In fact, the hotel was very quiet with no noise or disturbances. Our room was clean, comfortable and well furnished with a good view across the bay with Herm on the horizon. Number of channels on the TV was limited and the reception on some channels a bit fuzzy even after I retuned it but who watches the telly on holiday? The room was cleaned daily with tea/water/coffee facilities replaced as were the bathroom toiletries. Bathroom facilities were all new and worked although the bath in our room was a bit narrow with a shower over. There is no grab handle to help steady oneself when stepping in and out of the shower although a rubber non slip mat was provided which helped. The step up into the bath and the false ceiling in the bathroom means that exceptionally tall people may not quite fit under the shower.

The friendly staff at this hotel were brilliant and made our stay. They are professionals who know exactly what they are doing and why they are doing it. Nothing was too much trouble. We were a bit surprised at the large number of staff on duty at any one time relative to the number of guests but I guess that this is part of the Red Carnation philosophy of providing the best possible service. The staff included a small number of younger staff, some of whom had trouble with their English, but there was always a more senior member of staff on hand to help out. These younger staff members are getting the best possible training in the hotel trade from the best professionals and proper training of young employees, so often lacking these days, is something that I like to see.

Breakfast was superb. Everything that one would expect from a better 4* hotel – and more. We don’t usually dine at hotels as eating out at different restaurants every night is part of our holiday break. However, the inclement weather meant that we had to eat in. The bar area and restaurant, although most comfortable, is very much stiff and formal silver service and I never really liked this when I was working and had to attend business dinners including entertaining clients. Dress code is ‘smart casual’ (whatever that means) as a minimum. However, staff were relaxed and friendly, the drinks were good and the service exceptional. But special mention must be made of the food. The standard of presentation was very good indeed and the food cooked to absolute perfection. Compliments to the Chef and kitchen staff are well deserved. But the best bit: The cost of the food was not that different to many of the restaurants in town and was much better than the town restaurants that we tried. We noticed that many of the diners seemed to be locals rather than hotel guests – they obviously recognise a good deal! As did we. We wished that we had eaten there every night.

We loved this hotel and would have no hesitation booking this hotel again when we get round to visiting the many bits of Guernsey that we missed this time.

This hotel has very limited car parking and I would suggest anyone travelling by car speak to the hotel regarding local car parking. However, I would question whether a car is needed when staying in this town. Buses travel to all parts of the island. They are frequent and the fare is a flat £1 every time that you get on a bus regardless of how far you want to go. Best deal is the 7/7A bus that does a circular route around the island coast. Great for getting your bearings on the first day - and only a quid! Pick up from the main bus terminus, a short walk from the Information Centre and just before the entrance road to Castle Cornet.

Guernsey is a lovely island. Plenty of museums if the weather is not good and plenty to do if the weather is good. Tourist Tip 1: Spend a day walking around Herm – a lovely clean island with no litter, two pubs, one hotel, no made up roads, no cars and incredible beaches and views. Dogs must be kept on leads and are not allowed on the beaches during the summer. Watch the ferry times and pick up point when returning which depends on the tide. Tourist Tip 2: Visit the Information Centre and pick up the bus timetable and the Walking Map of Guernsey. Unlike the other maps and guides, the Walking Map doesn’t only show the footpaths and best walks, it also shows the main roads, attractions and bus routes. Because of the weather, we didn’t do most of what we wanted to do but we did manage to walk the path from St Peter Port (the foot path starts next to the Aquarium) to St Martin’s Point – beautiful! A camera is a must and binoculars are recommended. Most paths have cut backs to access the main roads and bus routes at regular points.

Room Tip: Request a bay/Herm view -the higher up the better. A small number of roooms have small balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MatureSoccerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Mature Soccer Fan

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your very comprehensive review and for all of its kind comments therein, they have been relayed to the management and staff of the hotel and were much appreciated.

You seemed to have covered just about everything regarding your visit to Guernsey and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are very glad you enjoyed your break on this wonderful island and your stay at the hotel.

I hope you enjoy the remainder of Euro 2012 and if we can ever be of service to you again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

With kind regards

Stephen Purtill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have just returned from spending a wonderful 4 nights at the hotel. We never saw the hotel before the renovations but found it to be lovely with super friendly staff. Food and service was great and we would return again!
Distance to town is about a 10 minute walk and if raining the hotel provide umbrellas.
It was a pity that the weather was not great as we would have enjoyed the pool and outside area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Rachalle H

Thank you for your review of yesterday and for all of its kind comments therein, I have relayed them on to the management and staff of the hotel and they are much appreciated. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and am so glad you enjoyed your visit to Guernsey despite the weather and I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon so you can experience the hotel's new pool facilities.

In the meantime, if we can ever be of service to you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

With kind regards

Stephen Purtill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Duke of Richmond Hotel Opened its dinning room for the first time after an extensive renovation programme. to The Rangers Football club for their Presentation Dinner on Saturday May 26th 2012. The Hotel looks amazing and the function was a wonderful experience. . Manager Hilario was on hand all the way through the planning stages and he made it all seem very easy. The food was excellant and served hot, The staff were brilliant and helpful in every way.
Thank you Hilario and your Staff for a wonderful night.
Lorraine Ellis Treasurer Rangers Football Club.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Miss Ellis

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review so promptly after your dinner at the hotel on Saturday. It was a pleasure to cater for you and the Rangers Football Club and I am so gald you all enjoyed your evening with us. I will be sure to relay your thanks and appreciation on to all those concerned, especially Hilario Pinto, the hotel's conference and banqueting manager, and if we can ever be of service to you again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

With kind regards

Stephen Purtill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We returned as a family this Christmas and, as usual, had a good time. The hotel is one of the cleanest I have ever stayed at. Repeat visitors over many years, summer and Christmas time. Staff are friendly, helpful and can not do enough for their guests - we know many of them by name now, so staff retention says a lot about the good management. Rooms are large, well equipped and staff come around to replenish the excellent hospitality tray late afternoon. Centrally located near Candie Park in St Peterport - 10 mins walk to town. Food is good and plentiful. Our rooms were inter-connecting and near the lift which, with a disabled mother, was very helpful. Excellent value & the number of repeat guests says it all.

Room Tip: Many rooms have view of St Peterport harbour so suggest talking to reception booking if you would li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I spent Christmas 2011 at the Duke of Richmond again. Several other guests had come back for their fourth or fifth visit. As ever, the staff from the manager, Stephen Purtill, downwards went to great trouble to ensure everyone had a great time. The fact that many of the staff have been there for many years shows they are happy, and happy staff result in good service and happy customers. I hope that the take-over by the Red Carnation Group gives this great team many opportunities to show how good a hotel can be. My concern is that the new owners will raise the price with few extra benefits.

Wheel-chair accessibility is good between the better bedrooms, the dining room and bar. However access from the lobby to the lift need a ramp to be put in place, while the residents' lounge can only be reached by climbing about six steps.

Room Tip: 115 and 117 have a connecting door which can be unlocked. 117 has a walk-in shower and a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jmcc150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Finding your room was an adventure in itself, the hotel is old & in places it does show. The room was comfortable & quite large. The restaurant was very good, the food & service excellent. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
865 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
695 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
749 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £111 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing