We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Amazing service”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and was very impressed by the high level of customer service. Right from the time of arrival, until the time we left, all the staff were really friendly, particularly Juan who was ever so helpful. Location of this hotel is great, away from the noise of St. Peter Port and a lovely walk through gardens into town.

We stayed in a room with a sea view and a balcony. The room was recently refurbished and it was really comfortable and quiet, which was really important to us. It was also meticulously cleaned each day. Had breakfast in room each day and it always turned up on time, and with extras when we asked for them. Bathrobes are the best I've ever seen in a hotel, really fluffy and quite heavy. Restaurant was good as well, we ate here one night, and again the service was outstanding, and the food was excellent.

The only thing I'd ask them to change would be the kitchen extractor fan - it makes a whining noise that spoils the tranquility in the bedrooms. Would definitely stay here again if coming to Guernsey. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Get a superior room with a balcony and sea view if you can as they are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear butterfly_caught

Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay at the hotel and for all of its kind comments therein, they have been relayed on to all the Team here and were much appreciated, especially by Juan!

I would, however, apologise for any inconvenience the noise from the extractor fan caused you, but am pleased to be able to advise you that we will soon be having baffles fitted to the ducting to silence the whining.

If we can ever be of service to you again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel and in the meantime, I would assure you of my best attention at all times.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    157
    33
    12
    10
See reviews for
116
445
50
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed in this beautiful hotel for three days and every moment was a great example of how a hotel should treat its guests. From the friendly voice on the phone when I confirmed my booking, through ALL the staff during my stay to the charming farewell when I left, I couldn't ask for more (and I often do!)

My room was very nicely decorated with a really comfy bed and all latest fixtures in bathroom. Loved the Faberge toiletries. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and prompt, helpful service. I had a superb meal in the Leopard restaurant - chef Jack conjured up a wonderful fresh fish dish) and cocktails at the bar were created with a big smile! The hotel decor is contemporary with a traditional twist and I loved the black & white tiling.

Everyone I met was really helpful and, having stayed at another Red Carnation hotel in London, I was pleased to see that their high standard of excellent customer service is very much in evidence here.

Room Tip: I had one at the front and it was quiet but maybe there are ones over the pool with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuirkyTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear QuirkyTraveller09

Thank you for your very comprehensive and excellent review of your recent stay at the hotel. Your comments have been relayed to all the Team here and were much appreciated, especially by Jack! It was a pleasure to meet you and have you stay with us and I am so glad we are meeting your expectations of a Red Carnation Hotel, after our refurbishment and re-opening earlier in the year.

You are quite right in expecting the rooms at the rear of the hotel to enjoy lovely views of the harbour and neighbouring islands of Herm and Sark and I would be pleased to personally arrange for you to stay in one of these rooms should you wish to come and stay with us again.

In the meantime, I would assure you of my best attention at alll times.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

From the time of our arrival, up until our departure the staff at this hotel were always smiling and the service was exceptional, in peticular the supervisor at breakfast named Olga, who knows all about real customer care, and went the extra mile every day,ensuring all guests were happy... What a great asset to this hotel, along with the Maitre'd David who excelled in the service he also gave during our stay...Our room was finished to a very high standard, spacious and kept very clean at all times...This Hotel is situated just a short walk to most restaurants, and local shops...The hotel offers all that one would expect service, professional staff and a real classy hotel.

Room Tip: Suites and high floors are really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Wendy S

Thank you for your comprehensive review of your recent stay with us. I have relayed your comments on to all those concerned, especially David and Olga and they were much appreciated.

I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to Guernsey and the facilities at the hotel and it was a pleasure to be of service to you.

Assuring you of my best attention at all times.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Had a wonderful evening with friends at the Leopard Bar & Restaurant recently. We started in the very chic bar where we sipped chilled Prosecco served in iced flutes and enjoyed complimentary cheese toasts before going through to the restaurant for a lovely dish of grilled fish with risotto which was beautifully presented and tasted divine. The newly refurbished bar, restaurant and sun terrace have a great atmosphere and the very charming and attentive staff create a very comfortable environment to enjoy drinks, a relaxed lunch/dinner or just an afternoon snack on the terrace. There is something special about the whole mix and I would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere with a touch of relaxed class.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoFr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear JoFr78

Thank you for your kind review of your evening in the Leopard Bar and and Restaurant, your comments seemed to capture the experience we want our patrons to enjoy and were much appreciated by all those concerned.

We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future and I would assure you of my best attention at all times.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The DOR's recent refurb is a terrific success, especially the new location of the restaurant. It's now a much more comfortable space in which to spend time, either relaxing in the bar with one of Orlando's neon coloured cocktail creations, or glass of fine wine, or enjoying a terrific meal in the restaurant next door, under David and team's attentive care.
The new bedrooms have received a great makeover, beds are über cosy and difficult to leave in the morning!
The restaurant's menu has also had an overhaul. Breakfast was always terrific with a wide range to chose from either the buffet or kitchen. Dinner options are great. The standard of food is really high, not totally reflected by the physical menu, the only item I would change. The good thing being that when your meal arrives, you are even more impressed.

But the best thing about the DOR is the staff - all terrific. From reception, to bar and restaurant and housekeeping. So professional and so very friendly. They just cannot do enough to help make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear nmacd

Thank you for your excellent review and for all of its kind comments therein, they have been relayed on to all those concerned, especially David and Orlando and were much appreciated.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am so glad you like the results of the refurbishment and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Assuring you of my best attention at all times.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This hotel has been restyled and the price put up!
The hotel could have been in Kent and not Guernsey.
Shame it did not have more of a local theme or feel.
Clean with good sea views.
I have stayed at sister hotel nearby OGH and this is another version.
My only criticism is that it's very over priced but nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leicboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Dear Lecboi

Thank you for your comments. While our rates have increased, this follows a multi-million pound refurbishment which has lead to us being upgraded from a three to a four-star hotel. In addition, we have virtually doubled the number of staff and invested heavily in their training and development, in order to make the Duke of Richmond one of the most comfortable and best run hotels on the island.

We have received many very positive comments about the changes that have been made and I am sorry that the style of decor is not to your liking.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

As a business, finding an exhibition place in Guernsey can be a challenge, but everything is made so easy for you if you talk to the Duke of Richmond hotel in St Peter Port. We have now exhibited 6 times in Guernsey, and the staff all know us well and understand our needs. For two days, we use the Richond suite to exhibit our instruments. The staff are always at hand to help us with details, refreshments, air conditioning, looking for more chairs and tables, and they do it all with no fuss and great discretion. The bedrooms have recently been refurbished, although they were already of a high standard, but they are even better now and will definitely provide you with peace and quiet for a good night sleep. The whole experience is thoroughly enjoyable, and we wish to thank Mr Hilario Pinto, Conference and Banqueting Manager, and Mr Stephen Purtill, General Manager in particular for their excellent service and very personable touch.
We strongly recommend the Duke of Richmond to anybody looking for special treatment in this beautiful island!

Cecile Liimon,
Cardiff Violins Ltd
029 20 22 77 61

Room Tip: You may like to ask for a view on the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecile L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Cecile L

Thank you for your comprehensive review of the hotel. It has always been a real pleasure to be of service to Cardiff Violins and to spend time catching up with you and your husband and the rest of your team when you are not busy working.

I am so glad you like the new improvements since your last visit and we look forward to hosting your very successful exhibitions for many years to come.

Assuring you of my best attention at all times.

Yours sincerely

Stephen Purtill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
791 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
643 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Property: The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing