We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

We have returned from the Duke after another really relaxing stay. The staff are extremely efficient at this hotel and thanks needs to be given to Mr Purtill and Miss Herbert, Manager and Senior Assistant Manager for their consistant attendance to detail. Nothing is too much for the staff and the newly refurbished rooms are excellent. I cannot believe this is only a three star hotel!!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank emh2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    146
    30
    11
    9
See reviews for
107
410
43
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a stay at the Duke of Richmond where we had a fantastic time. On arrival, we were offered a hot drink by the friendly reception staff, and shown to our refurbished room, 212. This was spacious, tastefully decorated and wonderfully comfortable, enjoying pleasant views of nearby Candie Gardens to the sea beyond. I loved the power shower and the underfloor heating in the en-suite bathroom, and it was particularly useful to have wifi facility to access the internet in the room, although there is also a well equipped business centre adjacent to the reception area downstairs.

We found the staff courteous, efficient and friendly, and the service first class. There is an atmospheric bar offering good value bar meals ( we had the Thai chicken curry and the fish of the day, which were both excellent). We also ate in the main restaurant, which despite its rather dated decor, was spotlessly clean and offered a wide choice of menu options. Breakfast offers a buffet of cereals, fruit and pastries, as well as the traditional "full English" , kippers and so on. At dinner we enjoyed wonderfully presented dishes, including tasty local fish, complemented by a good selection of wine. Superb.

It is a pleasant ten minute walk into the centre of St Peter Port, and the main shops and harbour, although quite a steep climb on the way back. It is a pity that the weather was not more clement, but the rain did not mar a very relaxing and enjoyable break. We will definitely return later in the year and would recommend this hotel to other discerning travellers.

  • Liked — The location, friendly professional service, excellent food and accommodation
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Berbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2008

General appearance in the public spaces and reception staff are good. However the rooms are very tired, with avocado green bathrooms and earlu 1980's tiling. refurbishment is well overdue. But it was clean. Bar was poorly stocked and staff not particularly friendly.

Restaurant was shocking! service appauling though the food that did arrived was good. However the overall experience was a huge disappointment. Staff did there best, but Management just want your money.

Hunt around! there is better for your money.

  • Liked — Staff Friendliness
  • Disliked — Management attitude to problems
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank blueplume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2008

Wow, fantastic hotel! We stayed at the Duke of Richmond for two nights last weekend and were really impressed. Greeted by the pleasant reception staff we were made to feel very welcome from the start. The room was huge, clean and modern with everything you'd expect of a 5* hotel and a bonus was the view out towards the coast. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and the food and service again was top notch.

A perfect location for exploring the charming town of St Peter Port this is a hotel not to be missed!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tickers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2008

We recently had the good fortune to stay overnight at The Duke - we are both resident in Guernsey and have visited the hotel many times, it was for this reason that we chose to stay there on the night of our wedding. We also booked in family members and friends, partly because the location was convenient and also because we were confident that they would enjoy the hotel as much as we always have. At the time of booking, the Manageress on duty was very helpful in showing us a selection of rooms (explaining that the hotel was currently undergoing a programme of refurbishment). From the rooms that we viewed, there were a number that had already been completed and were really very nice. We booked a standard room (this was all that was available), not expecting anything other than this, and on checking in we were very pleasantly surprised to find that we had been upgraded, into one of the newly refurbished seaview/balcony rooms. The room was beautifully finished, was very spacious, and had lovely views across to Herm (and other neighbouring islands), the bathroom was huge - and even had underfloor heating (a must at this time of year!). At the end of a long and very enjoyable day, the fluffy white bath robes were very much appreciated (thank you!). The following morning, we met with the rest of our guests and enjoyed breakfast together. Breakfast consisted of a good variety of cereals, juices, fruit, pastries and also the obligatory full English! Olga and her team were on top form (as we have come to expect over the years) - and we generally felt very looked after by everyone. We only stayed for one night, but some of our guests extended their time and thoroughly enjoyed their short stay (for some, the first time) in Guernsey.


Well done The Duke!!! We will happily continue to recommend you.

  • Liked — Room was very spacious with good natural daylight - and lovely views
  • Disliked — Getting up the following morning because the bed was so comfortable
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSDLFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2008

Stayed here for a single night between Old Government House (with work) and Le Fregate (romantic splurge), and Duke of Richmond was the worst of the hotels. However, it is also cheap so don't discount it. Rooms are dated (the decor suggestive of the 60s), breakfast was ok, and the location is adequate (although a 10 min uphill walk from the town centre). Staff were nice though, and the hotel is favoured by the older generations so if you are of pensionable age yourself, this might for a good bet.

In all, if you're on a budget, don't write this place off, but if you have the money and are willing to spend it, best stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Competitively priced
  • Disliked — Rooms are dated, and location isn't ideal.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bucko_globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2007

I stayed here for one night to attend a conference. The staff were friendly and helpful. The decor was pretty dated which is not that important for me but the rooms were a little shabby. The restaurant was good and food well cooked and nicely served. A four course meal for half board was very good value.

On the other hand, as I was having breakfast cleaning was in progress and I had to negotiate a trail of cabling attached to the hoover as I made it downstairs to the breakfast room. There was also a very strong smell of cleaning fluid which made eating breakfast not very pleasant. However, the worst problem was the plumbing. I could hear everything in someone else's bathroom in my room. Not very nice! I stayed on the second floor and one can only hope that not all the rooms suffer from this annoying problem.

This hotel is very nice in lots of ways and the staff are very nice too but I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gormenghast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Peter Port hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Moores Central Hotel
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Peter Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Property: The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing