We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We only stayed the one night but thouroughly enjoyed it. The bedroom was fab with such a comfortable bed plus lovely views from the balcony. We dined in the restaurant and chose seafood starters and mains from the specials board, and all the dishes were excellent. Service was spot on in all departments.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cigarmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Cigarmuncher,

Thank you for posting a review after your recent visit to The Duke of Richmond hotel. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and will be delighted to share your positive comments with the whole team. Thank you for choosing to stay at The Duke of Richmond hotel and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

We travel a lot but have never been compelled to write a review, until now. We hosted a celebration in the ballroom at the Duke of Richmond on Saturday, with many visiting family and friends also staying at the hotel for the weekend. From the time of our first enquiry until the last guest departed the total experience was great. No request or question was too difficult, the staff, facilities, food and overall ambiance simply perfect. Well recommended, whether for a large function, meal, holiday or simply their afternoon tea!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Wayne B,

Thank you for finding time to write such a fantastic account of your recent celebration at the Duke of Richmond Hotel. It was our pleasure to make sure you and your guests thoroughly enjoyed our hospitality, delicious food, ambiance of afternoon teas and most of all attentive service from our thoughtful and friendly team.

We look forward to welcoming your family and friends to our hotel and hope next time you will also take away with you warm memories about your stay at the Duke !

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just back after a couple of nights at the Duke of Richmond - it is lovely - the room was very well appointed and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. The food and service were excellent. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful but must single out Pauline of Reception who went out of her way to be helpful and addressing guests by their name - making everyone feel as though she was taking an interest in them personally. Will certainly recommend and would love to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scouting-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Dear Scouting-13,

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience about your recent stay at the Duke of Richmond Hotel. We are delighted to hear that our staff, Pauline in particular, have made you feel welcome and ensured your stay was thoroughly enjoyable, service flawless and interest in our guests’ comfort genuine. Our friendly, professional team are without any doubt our greatest asset, one of the main reasons why so many of our first-time guests have chosen the Duke to be their home away from home for their next visit to Guernsey!

We hope we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to the Duke of Richmond Hotel in not too distant future.


Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My husband as a surprise for my birthday and wedding anniversary booked this hotel for a long weekend, we were impressed on our arrival on the attention to detail afforded not only to us but to our lovable pet dog Ebony. The room was fantastic, decor beautiful, . We ate in the restaurant on our first night there, and the quality of service, and the above excellent food was of such a high standard that we ate there for the duration of our stay and could find no fault with anything. I would also like to say that the Hotel Manager Lukas Laubscher and all of his staff went over and above the call of duty to make this stay the most enjoyable we have ever had.We have no hesitation in recommending this home from home hotel to anybody with our without well behaved pets. We are already planning our return trip in August

Room Tip: Speak to Pauline Head of Reception tell her what you want and she will deliever everything you asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula8193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Dear Paula8193,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your recent visit to The Duke of Richmond Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and it was our pleasure to welcome your family for the weekend. Thank you also for your wonderful comments about the service from our restaurant and bar team and your excellent comments on the food so lovingly prepared by our chefs. It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with the whole team.

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Duke of Richmond Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to “your home away from home” in August.

Kind regards,
Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I can honestly say I've never seen a hotel with more mirrors or mirrored surfaces than the Duke of Richmond !
It's a good job that the place is spotlessly clean ... not a sticky fingerprint or a speck of dust to be seen anywhere !
Although the decor is sumptuous and of good quality , some might feel it has just a little too much 'bling'!
Our room was sumptuous and comfortable with a lovely contemporary bathroom which looked as though it had never been used before.
Staff are exceptionally smart and professional and fall over themselves to help guests.
Breakfast was bountiful and delicious and served with efficiency and a smile.
I would most definitely return to the Duke of Richmond.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Paulbl1,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at the Duke of Richmond Hotel. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and found our staff professional and attentive, our rooms and public areas impeccably clean, breakfasts generous and varied. It will give me great pleasure to share these excellent comments with our team.

Being a part of Red Carnation Hotels Collection, the Duke of Richmond Hotel benefits greatly from having a dedicated team of designers, who have succeeded in making our hotel unique in its decor, elegantly combining traditions with the modern trends. Now our guests can choose from a variety of individually designed bedrooms to suit any taste !

We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Duke of Richmond Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Kind regards,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

W e live in Guernsey,and the Duke of Richmond has just been done up, so wanted to go for lunch for a long time , been today for lunch at the Leopard 's Bar...lovely staff, very welcoming, lovely food, lovely decor, the ladies toilets are beautiful, couldn't fault it..just annoyed they charged us 10 per cent service charge bit naughty...but on the whole love it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bluebellGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear BluebellGuernsey,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent lunch in our Leopard Restaurant. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and decor of the hotel and that you found our staff welcoming. It will give me great pleasure to share your kind words with them. Thank you also for your comment regarding the service charge. As this is a discretionary charge we are always happy to remove this if requested to do so.

Thank you for choosing The Duke of Richmond Hotel and we look forward very much to welcoming you back again soon.

For the Duke of Richmond Hotel
Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Just had an overnight stay package New Years Eve. When you arrive at the hotel your made to feel so welcome the staff can't do enough for you. Room was spotlessly clean. Room was very large with the most amazing bed must be an emperor size! Very comfortable. Deco was lovely. Room was nice and quite over looking outside eating area. Bathroom smellies were nice. Bath towel was on the small side though. The New Years eve evening itself was fantastic the band were brilliant and had everyone dancing all night. The food a starter of cajun fish and meats main (we had the steak) was really good. staff were around the whole evening looking after us. A great start to 2013.

Room Tip: We had 317 it was a very large room and the bed was enormous and so comfortable thinking about havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellyglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear Kellyglobetrotter,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond hotel. Receiving such great comments spurs us on to do even better. I will be delighted to share your excellent feedback with our team.

It is our standard at Red Carnation Hotels to provide high quality bath towels in all of our hotels and I will discuss your comments with our Executive Housekeeper. In any case please be sure to request a bath sheet on your next visit and we will be delighted to provide you with one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond in the future.

Kind regards,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
853 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
692 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
747 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £111 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing