We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Luxury and Rest”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed with our children in August and thought it fabulous. The service is faultless and whilst the decor is wacky it's crazily luxuriously wacky - big thick towels, gorgeous linens, money has been spent on the tiny touches, making you feel pampered. The food in the restaurant compares easily to any of the restaurants you'll find in town, so worth staying in for. Don't bring your car though as there are only 5 spaces for all the guests. You won't want the parking stress!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Marjorie063,

Thank you for finding time to post this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is always wonderful to hear the reaction to the refurbishment of the hotel and I am pleased that it has left a lasting impression and that you found the service friendly and efficient, enjoyed dining with us and a lot of tiny noticeable touches that made all the difference to your stay with us.

The hotel offers five allocated parking spaces, but with the central location of the hotel and street parking available nearby the limited parking situation is successfully managed by our concierge team.

We hope that next time you are on the island we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    157
    33
    12
    10
See reviews for
116
445
50
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel amazing ! Should be 5 star. Great atmosphere. The interior and furnishings look fantastic.money well spent and us very different to ur average 4star hotel. I would love to stay here again and recommend u book this hotel if u want to make you guernsey experience one to remember. Hotel staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly and really go the extra mile. The walk into town is fine but the walk back is a bit of a killer up hill for 15mins!! The only thing I found strange was in the restaurant the waitress physically picked up the huge specials board and dragged it round the restaurant so u and her could read it?!? Not sure why this was ? Overall an amazing stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannie_1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Shannie_1510,

It was a great pleasure to read this glowing review following your recent stay at the Duke of Richmond hotel and to know that you had an exceptional stay with us.

Comments like yours are very motivating for all our team and it is wonderful to know that even a brief stay at our hotel leaves such lasting and memorable impressions. Thank you for your comment regarding the “Specials” board, which I will be discussing with the team to see how this can be managed better.

We very much hope that you have now found your new home away from home with us here at the Duke of Richmond and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

My husband booked us into this hotel for a 4 night stay and what a fantastic choice. First impressions are the quirky decor but delve beneath the surface and you find incredibly helpful and friendly staff, exceptional cleanliness and beautiful food. There are also lots of really nice little touches such as sun protection creams and chilled juices available beside the outdoor pool. The breakfast was probably the best I have experienced in a hotel. A vast array of good quality foods on the buffet and a good selection available to order. The fresh fruit, yogurts and pastries were so varied and delicious that we didn't even bother with anything cooked. The banana smoothie was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Gill P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Duke of Richmond Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that our staff were able to ensure that you left having had a memorable experience. It will give me enormous pleasure to share your comments with the team who will all be thrilled that their efforts have been so appreciated.

We hope that, now that you have found your new home-away from home in Guernsey, we will have pleasure of welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond Hotel next time you are on the island.

Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We recently spent 3 nights at the Duke of Richmond and have no complaints, staff and service were great. Check in was quick and friendly, we had a large room (for us and my 10 year old) which was nicely decorated in a boutique style and very comfortable with plenty of space. There is a small pool which my son braved and a sun terrace. We had breakfast in the restaurant each morning which was very nice with plenty to chose from and the hot breakfast choices cooked separately. The only one niggle I can think of is that there is very limited parking space if you have a car. The hotel is not far from the centre of St Peter Port with a pleasant walk through the park.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JaneFarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear JaneFarrington,

Thank you for taking time to post this fabulous review on TripAdvisor. The whole team were delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It is wonderful that you found your room very comfortable and spacious, and that you enjoyed breakfast. Parking is an issue at The Duke of Richmond, a common issue for most central hotels in St Peter Port, however our concierge are delighted to advise on the nearest available street parking in addition to the hotel owned spaces but are also happy to help you park your car.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to Guernsey and The Duke of Richmond Hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here before on business and it was good, but coming back with the family wasn't. Parking is very difficult and the various stairs and smallish rooms made it a nightmare with a baby.

If you don't have those handicaps then it's quite a good place to stay in St Peter Port. Decor is great and it's pretty handy for town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me97ppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Me97ppp,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Duke of Richmond Hotel once again, this time for your holiday. Whilst I was disappointed to learn that you found it difficult to negotiate the stairs and secure parking nearby, I was very pleased that we met your expectations in terms of cleanliness, service and décor.

Our hotel guest rooms vary in size and some standard rooms, which are smaller than the others, are normally offered for short stays and won’t be an ideal choice for families. The room categories, recommended by us for family stays are some of our king/twins and superior rooms that not only provide a lot of extra space, but are also located near the main lift to minimise use of the stairs.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Duke of Richmond again very soon and our Reservations team will be pleased to discuss your requirements with you so we can ensure that you have a comfortable and relaxing visit when you next return to Guernsey.


Yours sincerely,



Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley Wintney, Hook, Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked to stay at this hotel for four nights in a Junior Suite. We enjoyed the hotel and its amenities. Our room was superb with a lovely terrace. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom luxurious. The hotel staff are friendly and on the whole well trained. What is there not to love? You are asked on the critique to say why you cannot give a score of ten for the hotel.
1 .I am disappointed that in the restaurant at evening dinner a guest sat close to us wearing shorts, a scruffy sweatshirt and slip on shoes with no socks - hardly smart casual. 2. We do not approve of the pet policy. We love animals but would rather see designated bedrooms where pets can be accommodated and the public rooms being off limits. 3. Smoking is a problem in Guernsey which can in no way be described as a smoke free island and chain smoking on an adjacent terrace meant we had to close our patio doors. I have a propensity to asthma and dog hair and cigarette smoke can be an issue for me. We did not allow these matters to affect the enjoyment we had in such a beautiful place but it will affect our decision on whether to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineT39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear ChristineT39,

I would like to thank you for finding time to share your recent experience at the Duke of Richmond hotel with other travellers. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the comfort and elegant settings of our Junior Suite and also that you found our staff friendly and efficient.

I was sorry to learn that you felt disappointed at some of our guests’ dress code when you were dining in our Leopard Restaurant. We respectfully advise our guests that casual dress is required in our restaurant and public areas, however, on this occasion one of our guest failed to follow this policy. With regards to the pets staying in the hotel, being pet friendly we allow our small guests to access all the bedrooms, however we provide separate bedding for cats and dogs with rooms thoroughly serviced after their stay.

Guernsey has adopted non- smoking policy around the island and whilst smoking is strictly prohibited inside guest rooms, some rooms with the balconies and access to the terrace can be used by smokers, but we are pleased to notice that the request for those rooms allowing smoking outside has been getting less and less frequent over the recent years.

We hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you to the Duke of Richmond hotel and would like to ask you to contact me directly at the hotel next time you are planning your visit to Guernsey.


Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

In almost every respect this was one of the best hotels we have experienced in over 30 years travelling. All one would expect from a 4* hotel with particularly good staff - very friendly and most obliging. In the light of this the well appointed room was a disappointment- one of the smallest doubles and ensuite we have ever stayed in. One wardrobe door only opened a fraction, only just enough room to walk round the bed and it was impossible to stand centrally in front of and use the washbasin without burning ones arm on the heated towel rail. Would recommend the hotel but not the standard classic double room.

Room Tip: Check how much floor space around bed and view from room before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Alison C,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at the Duke of Richmond Hotel with other travellers. We were very pleased to read that overall, you enjoyed your stay and considered our hotel to be one of the best you have ever stayed at.

I am sorry that you found the classic room you were allocated on the small side but I have asked our reservations team to make a note in your guest profile so that, should you decide to return to The Duke of Richmond, we are able to suggest a more suitable size room category for you. I would like to thank you for your comments about our friendly and attentive staff and I know that they will all be thrilled to read your kind comments.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Duke of Richmond hotel next time you are in Guernsey.


Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
792 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
643 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Moores Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Property: The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing