We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cambridge Park, St. Helier not Dry Dayton near Cambridge.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St Peter Port
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This no doubt excellent hotel is not situated as per the local map on the right in a village near Cambridge but in St Peter Port on Guernsey. This is the type of detail that can make a difference in one's choice of hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank dhsYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We came for four nights with our dog, and the welcome and service we received was of the highest standard. There was not enough that the staff could do for us. The interior of the hotel and our room was just wonderful. We were going to eat at some local restaurants, but the food and service at the hotel restaurant was so good we spent every night there. We have stayed at many dog friendly hotels, but this one was by far the best. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again and using it as a base to explore further the beautiful island of Guernsey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Hugh G,

It was a real pleasure reading this fabulous review following your recent experience at the Duke of Richmond Hotel. I was delighted to share with my team that we succeeded in making your stay memorable and the Leopard Restaurant team were very pleased that you decided to dine with them every evening. Thank you for rating us highly as a dog friendly hotel, we do our best to ensure all our guests and their pets receive a warm welcome and feel comfortable throughout their stay.

We hope that all of you will decide to return to Guernsey very soon as we would love to see you with us for another enjoyable and relaxing stay!


Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Beautiful interior, fantastic food, clean surroundings & toilets, staff who can't do enough for guests, absolute luxury to stay at this hotel or even to visit for a meal or event. Slightly expensive but worth every penny for the quality of everything. Highly recommended!

The only disadvantage is the surrounding hills that have to be walked up & down to get into the town & back, it's ok for able bodied people but not for older people

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taskertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Taskertravel,

Thank you for taking time to post this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. I have passed on your very kind words to my team, who were delighted to learn that we met all of your expectations. I was glad to read that you were impressed with the hotel’s unique interiors, delicious food, cleanliness of your room and most of all our friendly and attentive staff.

We hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you to the Duke of Richmond Hotel next time you are on the island.

Yours sincerely,



Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Very good hotel, excellent customer service, nothing to much trouble. The reception staff referred to me by name for my whole stay (overnight). Breakfast very good and I felt comfortable in the restaurant on my own. Would return both for business and pleasure.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Anon72,

I would like to thank you for the lovely comments about your recent experience at The Duke of Richmond Hotel. I will be very pleased to share your kind comments about your stay with all of our team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Duke of Richmond again very soon.

Yours sincerely,


Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Just spent a four days break in this hotel, I found it to be be excellent in virtually every way. The staff were without exception very efficient and friendly, they attended promptly to any request and made guest feel that nothing was too much trouble. We ate dinner on three nights and found all the food to be very good with well prepared fresh ingridients and well presented. The hotel was very well furnished and comfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid room 207 which is close to large extractor fan and a little on the small side compared to othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Martin950,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for your very kind comments about the efficiency and friendliness of our service and the quality of the food in The Leopard Restaurant. Your feedback has been shared with all our team and you have made us all very happy!

I have noted your comments about the noise that you experienced in your room and our maintenance engineers are looking into this to ensure our guests are not being disturbed when the fan is on.

We hope that we will have another opportunity of welcoming you back to the Duke of Richmond Hotel next time you are on the island.


Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed with our children in August and thought it fabulous. The service is faultless and whilst the decor is wacky it's crazily luxuriously wacky - big thick towels, gorgeous linens, money has been spent on the tiny touches, making you feel pampered. The food in the restaurant compares easily to any of the restaurants you'll find in town, so worth staying in for. Don't bring your car though as there are only 5 spaces for all the guests. You won't want the parking stress!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Deputy General Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Marjorie063,

Thank you for finding time to post this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It is always wonderful to hear the reaction to the refurbishment of the hotel and I am pleased that it has left a lasting impression and that you found the service friendly and efficient, enjoyed dining with us and a lot of tiny noticeable touches that made all the difference to your stay with us.

The hotel offers five allocated parking spaces, but with the central location of the hotel and street parking available nearby the limited parking situation is successfully managed by our concierge team.

We hope that next time you are on the island we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again.

Yours sincerely,

Helen Lenkovska
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel amazing ! Should be 5 star. Great atmosphere. The interior and furnishings look fantastic.money well spent and us very different to ur average 4star hotel. I would love to stay here again and recommend u book this hotel if u want to make you guernsey experience one to remember. Hotel staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly and really go the extra mile. The walk into town is fine but the walk back is a bit of a killer up hill for 15mins!! The only thing I found strange was in the restaurant the waitress physically picked up the huge specials board and dragged it round the restaurant so u and her could read it?!? Not sure why this was ? Overall an amazing stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannie_1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeRichmond, Hotel Manager at The Duke of Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Shannie_1510,

It was a great pleasure to read this glowing review following your recent stay at the Duke of Richmond hotel and to know that you had an exceptional stay with us.

Comments like yours are very motivating for all our team and it is wonderful to know that even a brief stay at our hotel leaves such lasting and memorable impressions. Thank you for your comment regarding the “Specials” board, which I will be discussing with the team to see how this can be managed better.

We very much hope that you have now found your new home away from home with us here at the Duke of Richmond and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Yours sincerely,

Lukas Laubscher
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Peter Port
0.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
853 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
692 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
747 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bella Luce
Hotel Bella Luce
#2 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Richmond Hotel

Address: Duke of Richmond Hotel L'Hyvreuse, St Peter Port GY1 1UY
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > St Peter Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Peter Port
#2 Business Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Peter Port
#3 Family Hotel in St Peter Port
Price Range: £111 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duke of Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Richmond Hotel is perfectly located in the capital town of St. Peter Port Guernsey overlooking a quiet park, St. Peter Port marinas, the neighbouring Channel Islands and nearby finance and shopping areas.This comfortable purpose built modern four star hotel has an international reputation for high standards of guest comfort, service and cuisine. This quiet town hotel is the ideal base for both the business guest and Guernsey holiday visitor alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Duke of Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Richmond Hotel
Hotel Duke Of Richmond
The Duke Of Richmond Hotel Guernsey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing